We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, apartment - shame about cleanliness” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Resort

Save Saved
You added The Point Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19-25 The Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland QLD 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, apartment - shame about cleanliness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with out 8 month old for 2 nights. We had originally stayed here when it first opened and loved the place so happy to give it another go. The layout of the apartment & location is fantastic. Great view of the ocean and if you are on the ground floor - you open you're little court yard gate and can walk right out to the beach but if you have to lock the door you still need to go around the front anyway so a key for the security screens out the front would be helpful.
Check in after hours was easy enough - they text you with a safe code and yours keys and info are left inside however, the reception was not open when we checked out and we had no information about how to check out, where to leave keys?!
Kitchen is big and opens over the lounge & dining areas so all very open which is nice. You can cook while looking at the ocean.
Now the big issues I have - they ask you to keep the place clean when you check out so I don't think they clean it very well after you leave because every pot, pan, glass & kitchen utensil was dirty so I had to rewash them before I used them.
The floors were sticky and in the grout between the tiles on the floor is dark dirty stains. With a 8 month old crawling baby this was very disappointing so I had to actually head down to the convenience store to buy a mop, bucket & disinfectant to clean the floors myself. I really think they need to have the grout and tiles professionally cleaned and sealed property to prevent this happening.
The air-conditioners are smelly and had mildew build up on the vents - they are also hard to operate as is the washing machine. A simple instruction note beside each would be helpful so you know what you're doing before you use them.There are also limited information on local places and hotel information - a better welcome pack in the room would be appreciated for people who don't know the area.
The bathrooms are a bit stinky from the drains and overall lack of any windows for fresh air. We had to leave all the windows in the place open to get the musty smell out while we were there so got a big hot at times but would prefer that over smelly air-con and musty rooms.
To be honest I won't be staying here again. We head up here alot to visit family and I would much rather stay at a place I know is clean and maybe not in such a great spot then staying at a place that hasn't been cleaned and smells dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    4
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice 2-bed apartment, easy basement parking. Late-night check-in was fine, with a code they had earlier sent by text. Not serviced daily. Bit of a musty smell, I think the a/c needed servicing. Cleared up when we opened up and let the ocean breeze in. Nice place, would stay again.

Room Tip: the ocean views are lovely and worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2013 in 2 bedroom apartment on 2nd floor. Spontaneous getaway. When we arrived, the carpets were all wet/damp which was not so pleasant. Spacious room. Simple sea view. Convenient location in simple town. Air con was difficult to control and unable to be turned off?

We had a prepaid booking through HotelClub. Was asked to sign a preauthorisation on a security deposit -which we did. When we got home we noticed it was taken from our credit card. Never refunded. Now 6 weeks later and a few phone calls, still no refund. Just a reply that they know about the account concern and the accounts manager will 'get back to us'.

Diappointment.

Room Tip: Not much to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointBlueResorts, General Manager at The Point Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Point Resort. However i think you may have confused us with another property. We have not had any bookings from HotelClub over this period and further more we do not take pre-authorisations on credit cards. Guests who have pre paid their accommodation online are asked for a credit card to have on file and a copy of their licence, standard operating procedures found in most resorts and also generally a requirement from the booking agent.

Might I ask that you remove this review from our page as I am confident that you have not stayed at our property.

Kind regards

Christine Owens
Resort Manager
The Point Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January 2013 in a three bedroom apartment on the fourth floor.
The room was spacious, clean and will appointed.
Sea views but the windows where dirty. The main couch in front on the tv unit was quite stained.
The staff were very helpful on our arrival.
An easy walk to the golf club and main street restaurants and pub.
I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointBlueResorts, General Manager at The Point Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review on The Point Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Resort and we really are lucky that we have such a great position here in Bargara.

We appreciate your feedback on the windows, being in a beach front location and because of all the wind and salt spray the windows can get really affected by salt spray. The body corporate have a regular schedule to get the external windows cleaned, but due to the availability of contractors the works have been delayed.

We have recenlty just completed a full audit on each of the apartments at the Resort and are working with our owners to updgrade any soft furnishings that may require replacing. Guest feedback is always invalueable in assisting in supporting recommendations for upgrades.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Point Resort.

Kind regards

Christine Owens
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

An appartment hotel with pleanty of potential to improve. We were six adults staying in a 3 bedroom north facing sea view apartment. It is a spacious apartment and a great kitchen. Our problems included very bad overall clean to the apartment, a non working air conditioner and an extremely squeeky bedroom fan. ( A pedestal fan was later supplied). The swiming pool was a little green when we stayed and wasn't overly inviting. The location was great and it was a short stroll south to the golf club for some cheap drinks and a great view or a short walk north to the centre of Bargara.

Room Tip: Ask fo a sea view room to avoid the heat from afternoon sun in the back rooms. Only one undercover c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool for a very reasonable price. The apartment was very modern, luxurious and just fabulous with a spa bath and separate shower and toilet. It was very well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Everything was spotlessly clean. The pool area was very nice and quiet when we were there. Unfortunately the BBQs did not work. The managers were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the wireless did not work for the whole length of our stay. We had a sunset apartment and enjoyed beautiful sunsets from the balcony. No need to pay extra for ocean view. There is a covered parking garage for the car.
The apartment building is right at waterfront and only about 5 minutes walk to the beaches or to the lovely town of Bargara.
This was the best place of our trip in Australia and we would definitively come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed over the New Years period and had a wonderful experience. Even on New Year's Eve the place was quiet and relaxed. The kids loved the pool and spa and found the resort well maintained and the staff informal and relaxed. I was surprised to read some of the recent comments about the property being disgusting and filthy. I also read a lady say, amongst other things, that there we no pool times. They pool times are on the wall at the pool for all too see. I wonder if these people had in fact stayed here.....the comments are a little extreme and not true.

We have been staying for the last five years and are locals and it has a good reputation and we will be back again. The place caters for holiday units and they are fully self contained. You get a welcome pack and what they call a starter pack upon arrival. The welcome pack must be something new and was a nice surprise.

Thanks for a great Christmas and New Years break. See you again hopefully soon.

Room Tip: This is a great place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Resort

Address: 19-25 The Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland QLD 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Resort Bargara Beach located right on the waters edge comprises of luxury 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments that have been architecturally designed for the Queensland climate. This is to create the ultimate beachside experience. The contemporary apartments include facilities to help you relax and unwind in your home away from home. The apartments either have a stunning view of the glistening waters of the Coral Sea, the spectacular sunsets over the hinterland or your own patio garden. The magnificent facilities set within extensive landscaped tropical gardens include a resort pool with sloped wading area, spa, barbecue area and mini putt putt golf course. Bargara Beach is located on the Coral Coast at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef and offers extensive local amenities including an 18 hole championship golf course and the extensively landscaped foreshore offering shaded seating, pagodas and barbeques. The township of Bargara offers many restaurants, cafes and a large Bistro and Hotel complex with alfresco dining. Bargara is ideally situated for a stopover on your drive north from Brisbane. With an average of 8 hours sunshine a day, Bargara offers close to a perfect temperate climate. Temperatures average within a 5 degree range of the perfect 25 degrees celsius all year. It is possible to spot migrating whales from the ocean facing balconies and just to the north there is the world famous Mon Repos Turtle Rookery where turtles come every year to lay thousands of eggs on the protected coastline. The reefs off Bargara Beach on the southern fringe of the Great Barrier Reef are rated in Australia's top ten shore diving sites and provide endless opportunities for snorkeling and diving enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Resort Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.