We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kacy's Restaurant

Kacy's Restaurant
Cnr Bauer St & Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland, Australia
0741301100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Bargara
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kacy's Restaurant is located on Bargara Beach in the heart of town; our focus is on popular food Australians like to eat every day. All ingredients are prepared by hand using fresh Queensland produce where possible. Kacys’ has an extensive wine cellar with over 2500 bottles a great range of draught and bottle beer’s we take particular care in presenting great draught beer chilled to perfection. The location and ambience of Kacys has to be experienced as working here is a delight. We look forward too seeing you soon.
brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 NEW

The main was very good but what did it for me was the dessert- strawberry wontons and ice cream ..ohhh so good

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    31
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Cannot praise this restaurant enough. Fantastic food service and atmosphere. Are here both nights of our stay. Recommend booking as very popular due to its great food. Will be back and recommend.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This restaurant has a big reputation in town. The food is not bad and it supposedly has one of the best cellars around but at the end of the experience, the bill always hots you hard.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very Good But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

An extensive menu, an impressive wine list and a sufficient number of cocktails ($15). The atmosphere is wonderful and the staff fantastic.

The food is very good but not outstanding. I guess we are all price sensitive and some of the dishes fall just that little bit short. At $34-$39 you do expect a bit more razzle dazzle. In saying that the Duck is wonderful, as are most of the chicken dishes and the pasta. The fish sauces are lovely but the specialised seafood dishes is certainly on the expensive side. Stay away from the Prawn and Scallop Hot Pot – 4 prawns and 5 scallops – this was rather a very expensive entre’ and not a main meal.

One cocktail, 2 beers, and two main meals with one side = $110.

We certainly enjoyed ourselves and returned 4 or 5 times over a two week holiday. We recommend Kacy’s but be prepared for the cost.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over-rated but good for a regional restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I heard this was the best restaurant here. Perhaps it is but anyone from the city etc will be disappointed in the food standard.

Ordered Oysters Mornay - The waitress said oh that's not very low card with all that cheese, "as I said I didnt't eat gluten or carbs" Cheese was a protein last time I checked. However service was very friendly.

Main course - Barramundi Atlantis. Described as floured barramundi, grilled to perfection topped with prawn, local scallops and half a bug. I asked for no flour which was gratefully accommodated. It did come topped with just 1 prawn. I questioned this and was told it maybe went by weight and asked "was it a large prawn" Small meal for $40 with no sides and very salty sauce. The waitress came back and said it was only supposed to have 1 prawn. Lovely girl and great service but not what I was expecting from so called "best restaurant'

The wine was ok but at $9 a glass (served in really cheap glasses) I think it was over priced.

Next time I will opt for a more local place.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kacy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kacy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kacy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.