We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kacy's Restaurant

Kacy's Restaurant
Cnr Bauer St & Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland, Australia
0741301100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 15 restaurants in Bargara
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kacy's Restaurant is located on Bargara Beach in the heart of town; our focus is on popular food Australians like to eat every day. All ingredients are prepared by hand using fresh Queensland produce where possible. Kacys’ has an extensive wine cellar with over 2500 bottles a great range of draught and bottle beer’s we take particular care in presenting great draught beer chilled to perfection. The location and ambience of Kacys has to be experienced as working here is a delight. We look forward too seeing you soon.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“horrible place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend and it is the worst place I have ever been they were racist and unkind to the fact we are a gay couple we had no waiter come up to us and take our order we waited but they just kept going to everyone around us it was unbelievable how the staff could do that and then when I wrote them on facebook they delete it and said to me I just have a attitude problem it is no way to treat a customer who felt uncomfortable staying at the hotel because of your staff you should be trying to fix the problem and talk about it instead of saying its my attitude.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kacys, Public Relations Manager at Kacy's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Our highest apologies that you missed out on our delicious SELF SERVE Breakfast!
We have a big A3 sign located at the entrance, another one on the till and it is clearly stated on every single menu on the tables, "Please Order At The Register".
We hope that everyone agrees that we can't be called racist purely because you felt unfairly treated but did not approach any of the waitresses. You assumed straight away that it is because of your colour or orientation.
That sounds like you had a lot of bad experiences in your past, which we sincerely regret deeply. We have a great multicultural team here at Kacy's and we wouldn't want it any other way.

Sincerely Annabel Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    35
    37
    27
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Best place for dinner in Bargara”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The restaurant is set across the road from the beach and has a nice ambience. Service was good and the menu is extensive. We ordered steaks with side dishes as the steak is only served with mashed potato. My steak was over cooked. Desserts were good and they make their cakes in house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tin Can Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced and under serviced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We dined here recently on a Friday night. We were given menus (which are way too big!) and then we didn't see a waiter for 20 minutes. I'd seen the prices on the menu outside the restaurant before entering but I don't mind paying well for great food and service. We got none! After we finally got to give our orders to a waiter, we had to wait over an hour for our meals. We were very disappointed in them, but were so hungry by that stage, we ate them! The meals were small and very ordinary.....the seafood quality was very poor. The meals sounded way better on the menu!!! We left hungry and won't be returning. We ran into some people we know who were also dining there and they had the same experience....over priced and under serviced!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We turned up on a Friday evening without a reservation and were warmly welcomed by a lovely hostess who escorted us to a table. The service was quick and efficient but we were certainly not pushed through our meals. The drinks arrived quickly and all meals arrived at the right time. All our meals were absolutely unbelievable and I would highly recommend this restaurant to couples and families. Absolutely loved this evening and well worth what we paid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good food but don't be in a hurry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Has always been a favourite of ours, but the menu is too large! We have our menu sorted by the time we arrive....service can be slow but the food is great

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kacy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kacy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kacy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.