We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement, but on a less busy night it could have better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kacy's Restaurant

Kacy's Restaurant
Cnr Bauer St & Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland, Australia
0741301100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Bargara
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kacy's Restaurant is located on Bargara Beach in the heart of town; our focus is on popular food Australians like to eat every day. All ingredients are prepared by hand using fresh Queensland produce where possible. Kacys’ has an extensive wine cellar with over 2500 bottles a great range of draught and bottle beer’s we take particular care in presenting great draught beer chilled to perfection. The location and ambience of Kacys has to be experienced as working here is a delight. We look forward too seeing you soon.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs improvement, but on a less busy night it could have better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table, but then they had to find one for us. Got a table for the 3 of us next to a large function table. It seemed very cramped, where we were seated, looking around the entire restaurant is a little tight. Waitress was young and inexperienced. We she came out to take our order, we were not ready. (The menu is huge) She seemed offended in some way. Had to call her back to take our drinks order, which she took with some seeming reluctance. Took ages for the drinks order to come out, a bottled cider and a bottle of wine should have been the easiest drinks order that they had all night. Finally we had to wave the waitress over again, to make an order. Obnoxiously loud function table party arrived and interrupted our conversation on several occasions, several other tables had their conversation halted by this mob of loud talking gray haired folk with aparent hearing loss. Dirty looks by all, followed... The staff did nothing. Food was very nice, good size and worth the asking price. Heaps of menu items like I said, so you won't have problem finding something to suit everyone. Outside tables not being used, which probably added to the cramped internal dining area.
3 3/4 stars, easily a 4 if We had chosen a quiter night and had a waitress with a clue about how to wait in a busy restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    31
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bargara
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Once again let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently booked dinner for two, this time we did have to wait to be seated, which was good. We were seated In the main section of the restuarant, given the menu,s and I said to my partner is it me, are you hot in here, he remarked that it was hot, uncomfortable really. I asked the waitress if she could move us, she said that she wasn't hot, so just deal with it basically.
We than decided to have room service, as staying in the establishment which we organized with the same waitress.
The meals arrived an hour later, which I can deal with, but had forgot our entree, this was delivered overlooked.
No lemon for the seafood, no salt and pepper so called again for this to be sent up to the room, it's just not good enough, for the prices, they charge.
Meals were just average, and have decided that this restuarant is not receiving any more of my money, shame really because it has a lovely aspect overlooking the beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“VERY NICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

we had our 40th wedding aneverssary at Kacys,
we had the hole family there, and we had a ball, the food was so beautiful set up.
some times
we needed more cutlery, , the staff need to be on there toes, when you have 4 dishes of different foods.
all in all very good, thank you for a lovely night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food is always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great food, extensive menu, the service was excellent as always, I had the seafood pie which is really a delicious mornay with a herb crust, it was really delicious. It was a perfect Bargara winters day and stunning with the sea view in the sun, good value restaurant !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband proposed to me here many years ago, but our return was a disappointment.

The biggest issue with Kacy's is the extensive menu. There must be at least 60 dishes on the menu. we always worry with this much choice, because we believe that you cant possibly perfect that many dishes and have them prepared freshly.

On arrival we had to wait for our reserved table to be set, and needed to wait in the entry (we would have been happy to wait at the bar).

it was a moderately busy night. When seated we waited a further 15 mins before being asked for our drink order (maybe I'm picky, but I don't mind waiting in a restaurant, as long as i can enjoy a cold drink).

When our entrée arrived, it turned out my husband had received the wrong dish. We had ordered him the 'Spiced calamari with Asian salad', but the the kitchen had prepared the spicy calamari (similar name but quite different entrée - no salad), it took us a moment to realise the mistake, but then we decided it didn't matter, and just accepted the dish. The food itself was good, but not what he had ordered. my chilli prawns were good, not exceptional, but acceptable.

When our main arrived, my husbands medium-rare steak was more like med-well done. my eggplant stack was larger than I had expected (its an entree) but was a little lacking in flavour. Nobody came to ask how our meals were.

The staff were friendly, but at these prices I would expect more 'service'. at 9.45 we were told that if we wanted desserts, we would need to order them now. when we declined the waiter walked to the kitchen door and shouted that it was ok to pack up the kitchen. It felt like we were being kicked out...

We enjoy the lunch menu at Kacy's but this was our first, and likely last, evening meal at Kacy's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kacys, Guest Relations Manager at Kacy's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear AustraliaMaxie,

Kacy's regrets that we did not meet your expectations, especially when it was such a special occasion.
Freshness and consistent quality of our dishes is the exact reason for having such a large menu selection, the reasons being we have multiple choices for all ingredients that we prepare this ensures rapid turnover of all prepared food, that is labelled and dated by the chef that prepares the food.
Kacy's is without doubt unrivalled as far as eating out goes in the greater Bundaberg region so anyone reading this review come and try for yourself and make up your own mind.

Kind regards
Annabell Pia
Customer service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kacy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kacy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kacy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.