We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beachside location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bargara Beach Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bargara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Save
You added Bargara Beach Caravan Park to your Saves list
25 Fred Courtice Avenue | Nielson Park, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely beachside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a rented Apollo motorhome. Our motorhome was late by 6 hours and we were unable to make it to the caravan park before closing time. We phoned ahead and were given the access information to get in.

We nearly didn't book this caravan park due to negative feedback left previously, however, we had no problem at all with the management or staff and were very happy with the service and our stay.

The park is a lovely, well maintaned park. Lots of grass, trees and birds. The toilet blocks are old but very clean. We would definitely stay again.

The beachside cafe precinct at Bargara was lovely. Salt Restaurant for breakfast is a must!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    16
    6
    10
See reviews for
36
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We camped at Bargara beach park and had a lovely relaxed time.The bathrooms are old but spacious and clean.The baby bath and change table is great.Got the site we asked for when I made the booking,staff we very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I had booked ahead and stayed for three nights for the May day weekend this year. Great park with great views but we were disappointed to be given the only site of a lovely grassed park with no grass. We were also given a site where we backed onto another van (have never been so close to another van - needed to put up the side flap for privacy). We assumed they must have been heavily booked but there were spare blocks everywhere. Our only complaint is why pack everyone in little clusters? The fellow adjacent had a van each side, two backing onto him and then heaps of spaces all around. He was telling us he used to own a park and they used to fill up every other site, then fill the inbetween ones. Our only other complaint was the same as someone else said - wrong time for cleaning of the toilet facilities. My husband wondered if it was a way they hoped to move people on prior to 10 am. Otherwise great spot and we will come again, we we have been more than once already.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Manager at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Beth L

Thank you for your important feedback. We are sorry that you were a little disappointed with the site you were given both in terms of the amount of grass on it and the position in the park.

We rely on our guests to communicate with us if they are disappointed or received something that they had not expected. We would appreciate it, if you have any concerns, to speak to us straight away, so that we can rectify them to ensure you are totally happy. We would have moved you at your convenience to a more suitable site had we have known of you displeasure.

In relation to your question about the cleaning of the Amenities. We commence cleaning at 7.30am, shutting down 1 of the 4 different blocks as we go. We place signs on the doors notifying guests of the other open amenities which are less than a 15 second walk away. We finish cleaning the amenities around 12.30pm. We take pride in the cleanliness of our facilities.

We look forward to seeing you again soon Beth L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I come from Germany to visit Mother in this park. I arrive in campervan with my partner after 10pm on the 6th of December 2011. The office and gate was closed. We sleep outside of park because tired from travel.

Next day Mother asks management to allow me to bring van in to clean and get packed ready for trip in Australia. Manager refused. Mother tried to let me in with her gate key, manager run out screaming and shouting and blocking the path. The manager said I was to sign form for temporary admittance, when I go to office she say not available any more.

After our 8 weeks travelling we have to bring all luggage from outside of park to Mothers manufactured residence, making many trips back and forth. It would have been so easy for us to go straight to her residence.

My Mother has lived in this caravan park for seven years and I visit two times. This very bad treatment ruined our holiday. The attitude of the management was very bad and gives overseas travellers the wrong opinion of Australia and Bargara.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Owner at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We welcome factual feedback from guests that stay at Bargara Beach Caravan Park and we treat all feedback as a very valuable tool to try to better our business so that other guests experiences are pleasant and they have an enjoyable time.

We do not, however, welcome feedback from people that did not stay at Bargara Beach Caravan Park or fabricate stories for their own political gain.

Our management team is highly professional and their customer service skills applauded by all previous employers. Our staff have also been trained to a very high level of customer service and as Owners are very confident in their ability.

I welcome you Swimless, to contact me personally, via our contact details on our website, to discuss your issues, as your comments do not relate to our tourism business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Nice park, well maintained with basic facilities, but suitable for grey nomads. Recommend - powered sites 1 – 14 are at the front of the park, odd numbers face the sea, even numbers have plenty of grass area and trees in front. Most sites have concrete slabs. $ 32 per night 2A, a bit expensive given the basic nature of the park. Stay six nights and get 7th free.
Facilities : The combined toilets and showers block were clean, but old and in need of total renovation. There is a small out-door camp kitchen and laundry. Without a satellite dish TV reception is poor, there is good telephone and internet coverage (Telstra), water pressure is good and dump point. Few annual cabins, but at the back of the park.
Likes : Directly opposite the beach with lovely walking paths along the Esplanade.
Dislikes : Facilities blocks are old.
Local Information : Short walk to shops. Close to golf and bowling clubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes QLD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I just noticed someone make a comment similar to one I am making. The manager Jody tried to overcharge and when we wouldn't pay more, she kicked me, my Husband, sister, brother-in-law, and our two children between us (13 months and 3 years) out after telling us they had watched us setting up all afternoon. They threatened to call the cops if we weren't out within an hour. I told her it took us all afternoon to set up, we weren't unreasonable and wanted to work something out, that we had little children and no-where else to go (at 4pm Good Friday), offered more money, and they said "too bad, the decision has been made and you must leave or we'll call the cops". I called the cops myself and they said they wouldn't get involved because we were there legally and were FULLY PAID in advance. Nevertheless we left because they were so rude it would have ruined our holiday. The AWESOME people at ELLIOTT HEADS HOLIDAY PARK took us in 5 minutes before closing, with only our name, and allowed us to fix them up the next day, letting us set up and finally start to relax.

Room Tip: Camping grounds have no allocated spaces so everyone ends up on top of each other and terribly disor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Manager at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Angela G. We appreciate all feedback and comments as this helps us to improve our popular caravan park and improve the experience our guests have when they visit us. That is why we check Trip Advisors comments regularly, so we can continue to improve and invest in Bargara Beach Caravan Park.

We felt very disappointed to read your commentary Angela. Most concerning, we feel your comments are not a factual account of what happened. Therefore, I would like to provide context to all future guests of our caravan park. I would also like to invite you, Angela and your husband to contact me directly to discuss your concerns.

As with all booking procedures, we are required to ask the number of people travelling in your party to ensure we can cater for your needs as well as providing a safe place for our guests. We are a very busy tourist park, and for a range of insurance and safety reasons we need to know exactly how many people are on site and where they are located.

We asked you directly on 4 occasions the number of persons in your group: at the time you placed your reservation, when you confirmed the booking, on check-in and prior to asking you to leave. On each of these occasions you informed us of just 2 adults, which you paid for. When we noticed 4 tents and a large marquee on your site, encroaching onto other paid guests sites, we believed there were more than 2 adults planning on staying on the site. Our management spoke to your husband and offered a spare site for your friends, so you could spread out, but he declined the offer. It was later when we noticed 6 adults and children on one site. Having been asked on numerous occasions, as well as given ample opportunity to do the right thing and settle your account, you opted to be dishonest and fraudulent, which is why we refunded your monies paid and asked you to leave.

Your actions impacted on those camping around you. You had too many people on your site both in terms of its location and what you had paid for. Caravan parks are about enjoyment for all, shared spaces and community – it is not fair for others in the camping community when you do the wrong thing, especially at busy times like Easter.

We pride ourselves on being fair and equitable with all of our guests. As a team we try to do everything we can to ensure our customer’s experiences are pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable. When one groups actions impact on other, we take this very serious as everyone deserves their hard earned break.

Your actions also impacted directly on us Angela. When you choose to stay at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, you choose to do so under the terms and conditions set out to out on our website, when you book and when you check in. This includes paying for all people who are staying on your site. We have to run our business safely and to a profit so we can continue to invest in Bargara Beach Caravan Park, so many more people can continue to come and enjoy their stay in the park and the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

wish i'd read the reviews before going. The manager is extremely arogant and overcharges everyone. We were overcharged and threatened with eviction, within 5 minutes of arrival. She has absolutely zero customer service skills and no manners. The other staff are all lovely, and were not at all suprised by my opinion of the manager. My tip would be to book for only two people on a site, then pay for extras day by day. That way you are less likely to be overcharged by her ridiculous fees. The location is good, but we will definately not go back while Jody is the manager. Such a shame that one person can ruin a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Pay minimum site fees on booking (ie two people only) - there is no chance of any refunds or amendin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Manager at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We appreciate your feedback Family of 5 and are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay. We would like to address your comments specifically, as we feel it does not truly reflect on what occurred during your check-in.

When you clarified the number of people in your party you confirmed 2 adults and 2 children, the same as when you made your initial reservation and subsequent booking. At some point you omitted your 3rd, school aged, child and despite our staff politely asking you to pay for your additional child, preferred to dispute why you should. Our accommodation is reasonably priced and we want to be fair with all of our customers and only expect the same in return.

We have insurance and safety considerations which we take very seriously. Knowing how many people are on site and where they are located is a very important part of our risk and emergency management planning.

We ask all of our guests to provide the correct details so that we understand the exact number of people staying within the caravan park and for the exact duration. The site fees are very clear for all to understand and are listed on our website and on other supplier sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bargara Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bargara Beach Caravan Park

Address: 25 Fred Courtice Avenue | Nielson Park, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Bargara Beach along the Coral Coast this tropical holiday park is the perfect place offering everything you need and every accommodation option, for the perfect getaway.Bargara Beach Caravan Park is a four star AAA Tourism rated tourist park with the best affordable beachside accommodation on offer in South East Queensland at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef. With cool ocean breezes and stunning views this is the ideal destination to relax and unwind.You can choose from 1 or 2 bedroom cabins or a number of powered and unpowered sites which offer shade or sun, grassed or concrete slabs and are suitable for all sized caravans, RV's and tents.Located only minutes from bustling cafes and restaurants, golf courses, fishing and surfing spots this holiday destination caters for every type of tourist.A few minutes drive is the world famous Mon Repos, the largest Loggerhead Turtle nesting site on Australia's east coast. The coastal fringe offers fantastic dive sites and access to Lady Elliot and Lady Musgrave islands where you can explore some of the world heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bargara Beach Caravan Park Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bargara Beach Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.