We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to escape for a weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banjos Bushland Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vacy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjos Bushland Retreat
Save
You added Banjos Bushland Retreat to your Saves list
Moonabung Mountain Range, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vacy
Sydney
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“What a great place to escape for a weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Superb accommodation set amongst the trees high on a mountaintop with stunning views and sunsets. Wake up to kangaroos grazing just outside. Watch the native birdlife - kookaburras, lorrikeets and if you are lucky the black cockatoo. All this in luxurious surroundings. Family friendly with plenty to do from walks to spa and billiards or a game of tennis. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narrandera, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We found Banjo's after a very favourable review by SMH and were impressed with the facilities upon arrival. We have 3 children aged 6,3 & 18 months.

The setup of the house (we stayed in Clancy's 3 bedroom) were pretty much complete. Can't think of a thing extra we needed in the kitchen or bedrooms. Plenty of heating - just make sure you stock the wood fire with plenty of wood as it burns quickly! Being so large (the house is huge) we found even when the weather outside wasn't great (it was August so we were under no illusions) there was heaps of room for the kids to run wild!

The location is lovely and (very) secluded - if you are into bushwalking, this is your spot! We took the kids to the lagoon for a picnic - great... excellent rec room & we basically played non stop on the tennis court (no room to escape if you're 18mths!).

A few words of advice: take your food with you from the start - the drive up is not to be done at night & very limited take away in the immediate facility (we thought we;d be right for the first night but ended up dining on toast as weren't overly prepared!).. A trip to Maitland is about 1/2 hr away which is where we had to stock up on day 2 & this probably took up our first full morning.

Also, take your swimmers as there is a jacuzzi which without our togs we weren't keen to embrace but would have if we had thought about it before setting off.

We had a lovely time at Banjo's and the kids loved it. It could only have been bettered if i'd taken my togs to enjoy the jacuzzi - highly recommended especially if you have kids (or family) who love adventures and the outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Our trip was with another couple and child. We were looking for somewhere a bit different that would be child friendly. This didn't really live upto our expectation but I will be fair with the review. Let's start with location. Beautiful. It's 3 hours with no traffic from Sydney (1 hour 15 minutes from Cessnock) The last 20 minutes is a steep climb in the car which you would not want to do in the dark. We stayed in Brumbies lodge which had spectacular views. Accomodation was clean, well presented and well equipped with kitchen equipment and tea and coffee. The spa, sauna and table tennis table are a few minutes walk away from the lodges in a separate building. The playground and kids golf are ok..nothing special. Their web page says it is 5 star. We have stayed at lots of 5 star and I do not believe this is. The lodges interior, general decor and facilities are dated. Think dark greens leather sofa, florals and cream and gold bathrooms. Only one extra tv in one of the bedrooms (IE that is 2 tvs in total in the lodge) Many 'Hunter' lodges now come with welcome baskets, wine, ipod docking systems and spas on the verandahs. The kookaburras have been overfed by visitors and were very aggressive on our trip. Our children and my husband were bitten as the kookaburras 'swooped' while we looked out on the verandah. A BBQ was impossible. We were also incredibly cold during our visit. It is a big lodge with high ceilings with a log fire in the central living area. It took hours to heat up to a reasonable standard. The bedroom oil heaters were not working but the air con/heater compensated and we had lovely electric blankets which were a blessing. Overall, I think this place would be great in warmer weather (glass windows all around that open onto verandahs) with a big party of people who bring everything with them and just want to enjoy the scenery, bush walk and each others company.
If you are just looking for a nice place to stay with another couple with kids and see some wildlife..go closer to Cessnock. There are some nice lodges off LOVEDALE and GRETA that do the trick at half the cost.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

WOW! Stunning accommodation set amongst the trees & surrounded by native wild-life. Excellent attention to detail and very child friendly, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banjos Bushland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjos Bushland Retreat

Address: Moonabung Mountain Range, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vacy
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Banjos Bushland Retreat Vacy/Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banjos Bushland Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.