We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is the key!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Poplar Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Poplar Hill
Save
You added Inn on Poplar Hill to your Saves list
278 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Virginia
1 review
“Breakfast is the key!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

This was our first experience together at a B&B although we each had had this experience some years ago in our "other life", that is, before we were married to each other. For my husband, breakfast is the key to a good hotel, and certainly that would be a selling point in this case.
Victoria and Marty were excellent hosts. We had interesting conversations with them several times during our stay. It is obvious they love being B&B hosts!
We were given a choice one morning of mushroom-and-gouda omelets or whole-grain French toast. This was served with crisp link sausage. Yummy! This was preceded by fresh apricot bread (served hot) and cantaloupe with blackberries. The coffee was excellent (my husband said) and for me, the tea drinker, I had my choice of about a dozen different teas. The second morning we were given a banana-nut muffin, crispy on the outside, and not overwhelmingly banana (for which I was very glad), followed by fresh (!) pineapple with honey-lime sauce. Then we had a choice of blackberry pancakes or eggs any style. These came with crisp bacon (5 strips for the two of us). Needless to say, my husband was a happy camper, or should I say a happy B&Ber!
This Inn was built in 1891 and belonged to the granddaughter of Thomas Jefferson. While it has been used many different ways through the years, Victoria and Marty have furnished it with period furniture yet modern conveniences (such as king and queen sized beds and delightful bathrooms), made the front porch inviting with rocking chairs, swing, and even cats to pet! We loved our weekend there and will certainly return!

  • Liked — the casual friendliness of the hosts
  • Disliked — the bath facilities for our particular bedroom, but other bedrooms which we will request next time have different facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
107
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
teolives
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

We had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers, Victoria and Marty, were not only knowledgeable about the area and incredibly hospitable, but were also some of the warmest folks you would ever meet. Their breakfasts were terrific, but the conversation they provided during the breakfasts was even better.

The house is a large, restored Victorian (built around 1891) and has many amenities, including a game room with a pool table, a Wii, a piano, and a large television with plenty of movies. We loved our room with its canopy bed and period decor. The property's 28 acres are beautifully maintained with walking paths, a pond, and exquisite trees, flowers, and landscaping.

The inn's location is convenient to downtown Orange (restaurants and shopping), and Montpelier (James Madison's home).

We plan to visit again very soon.

  • Liked — Beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Bed was small - we are used to bigger beds at home
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedesboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

My wife and I at the last minute needed a place to stay for a few days to celebrate our 28 wedding day. WELL, we bid on the package on eBay and transaction went smooth, the trip which was about 4 hours was well worth it. We were pampered by Marty and Victoria owners of the Inn at Poplar Hill. The breakfast for the two days were a culinaries delight, the room (the rose room) was cozy, and right at home. The special treatment in the mornings with coffee, tea, jucie out side our room was terrific.
There is much to see in the orange area, and the dinning is great too. I give our stay at the Inn at Poplar Hill a 12 from 1 to 10.

  • Liked — was just like being home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

Our stay at the Inn included fantastic meals, welcoming innkeepers, and a fun Murder Mystery Dinner! It was a great weekend in a beautiful setting.

  • Liked — fantastic meals
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

We looked around online a lot for a B&B. We finally decided upon The Inn on Poplar Hill. We were extremely glad with our decision. It had everything that we wanted and the location was great for the Wine tasting we wished to do. The grounds were beautiful, and we were even able to do some fishing. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and we loved our Mr. Steam or steam shower. The breakfasts in a word...hmmmm. Our Hosts Marty and Victoria were very gracious and did everything they could to make our stay better. We would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Liked — Mr. Steam and Jaccuzzi
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We were looking for a romantic birthday getaway, I chose this Bed and Breakfast because it was close to home and close to Montpieler. We had a private romantic dinner by the fireplace and a gormet breakfast...The food was superb, best food I had ever tasted!!!! The room was perfect with a spa shower and whirlpool tub, and relaxing king side bed. There was plenty to do from walking trails around the pond to a game room with pool table and wii with different sports to play. The weekend was absolutely perfect, this is a place we will definatly be visiting again!!

  • Liked — The relaxing environment with superb food!!
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to stay for a couple of days --some kind of "romantic getaway" for her birthday. I ended up choosing The Inn on Poplar Hill, in Orange, VA, for a couple of reasons. First, it was barely a two hour drive from where we live, which was very convenient. Second, its location seemed to be perfect -- numerous wineries, Monticello, Montpelier, University of Virginia, Lake Anna, among other things, are just a short, very scenic drive away. Finally, I had checked the Inn's website, and I thought the rooms looked great. However, I realize now that these things are not what made our trip "the best bed and breakfast experience we've ever had". What made our trip so special was the commitment to excellence that our hosts, Victoria and Marty, displayed throughout our stay. From the first phone call conversation, when I booked our stay, to "the last hug goodbye", Marty and Victoria's dedication to make our experience at their bed and breakfast as pleasant as possible was just above and beyond our expectations. We will never forget Victoria and Marty's warm hospitality, our friendly conversations with them, the 5 star breakfasts in front of the fireplace, the precious recommendations and pieces of advice as we planned our days, the amazing coziness of our bedroom, the steam shower :-), the numerous walks on the beautiful trails around the property, the cookie jar :-), relaxing while fishing in the pond, sitting on the porch, reading in the hammock, star gazing while de-stressing in the hot tub, and playing pool and Wii in the game room. Therefore, I would highly recommend The Inn on Poplar Hill to anyone looking for a special and memorable bed and breakfast experience. Thanks again, Victoria and Marty! We will definitely come back soon!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Poplar Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Poplar Hill

Address: 278 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 acres in the historic town of Orange, Virginia. The 6 guest rooms are decorated with comfort in mind, amenities include: firm luxury bedding, private baths, whirlpool tubs, steam shower, hot tub, billiards, fire pit, and over 2 miles of walking trails through old growth and wild flower meadows. A bountiful breakfast is included with your stay. A short country drive to wineries, and James Madison’s Presidential Home, Montpelier. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Poplar Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.