We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Save Saved
You added Mayhurst Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12460 Mayhurst Lane, Orange, VA 22960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Managed to get a 3 night booking at very short notice and could not have been more delighted with our choice. From our moment of arrival Pat and Jack offered oodles of advice (supplemented by lashings of wine from local vinyards!) and continued as superb hosts throughout our stay. The house has been beautifully conserved with great attention to period detail. The bed and bedding proved particularly comfortable and luxurious and, after a great night's sleep, we were treated to a magnificent breakfast. It would be wonderful to find such a quality guesthouse closer to home as we would definitely be regular visitors!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
190
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived on the evening of our 26th Wedding Anniversary. We had been traveling and came in later in the evening. We were warmly greeted at the door by Jack, the innkeeper. We arrived just in time for the wine and cheese reception in the parlor. Jack was very helpful. He helped us select a place for dinner and even called to make the reservations as we enjoyed our glass of wine and conversation with other guests. We stayed in the General's Room on the main floor. It was comfortable and charming. The house is amazing! If you are into history, it is a must stay if you are in the Charlottesville area. Breakfast was wonderful. We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is THE place for a wedding! We had our wedding there in September. We loved everything about the venue and the owners. Pat and Jack were extremely helpful from showing us around the property even before we had chosen the venue to packing leftovers from the caterers so that we had a midnight snack after the wedding. Jack and Pat gave us tons of help with selecting the other aspects of our wedding. The suggestions made everything run smoothly. The house is one of a kind, full of history and elegance. The property is astounding as well. Jack does a wonderful job to keep the entire property pristine for the guests. Also Pat is a wonderful cook, the breakfast was to die for. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A beautiful house just as one imagines an old plantation house to look like. Lovely large bedroom with great bathroom. No need for lunch after a fantastic breakfast. Wine and cheese in the lounge in the evening. Lots of information from the owners about local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mayhurst for a short weekend away (two nights) in September. The inn is perfectly located for a hiking/wine tasting/weekend away - it took only 20 minutes to reach an area with 4 wineries located very close to each other. The innkeepers were knowledgeable about the area and even had tasting coupons that saved you a few bucks at the wineries. Cute little town within a very short drive (we liked not being right in town). Hiking within 40 minutes - we did White Oak Canyon.
Our room had a full bathroom in the room and a queen bedroom (king rooms were all booked). As with many old houses in the late summer, stink bugs were trying to creep in. But the owners did a good job of trying to keep them at bay.
And the breakfasts were the best we've ever had at a B&B. Coffee, mini scones to start each day, then a fruit parfait breakfast "appetizer" (I didn't know there were appetizers for breakfast), followed by blueberry pancakes. The next day was a baked apple "appetizer", followed by Eggs Benedict. Very well done. Just what we wanted in a B&B. I am sure we will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I wanted to make a special birthday weekend for my wife and this was definitely it. We went on their winery tour and had a great time. They sent us off with maps, coupons and a really nice lunch. The wine and cheese in the evening is a great touch. The breakfast in the morning was first rate. Only downsides for me is I prefer my coffee to be regular and not flavored. All they offer is flavored coffee. I guess that's what Sheetz is for, and the bed was VERY hard.. Great old house and would definitely stay again (still many wineries to hit...)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed two nights in September. Clean, comfortable, quiet with beautiful grounds. The full breakfasts were exceptionally well-prepared. The Inn owners/hosts were friendly and attentive, but not invasive. Everything I could ask for in a premium B and B experience. I will definitely stay here next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Address: 12460 Mayhurst Lane, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayhurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.