We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mayhurst Inn to your Saves list
Mayhurst Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12460 Mayhurst Lane, Orange, VA 22960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Gainesville, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Elegant and romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Mayhurst is a wonderful B&B that has excellent and consistent service and value. Jack and Pat are extremely attentive and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can possibly be and help you plan your activities, if you choose. Every touch, from the wonderful food on beautiful china and crystal to the soft towels, bathrobes and chocolates makes you feel spoiled,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
196
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford. NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My first time using Living Social and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a most enjoyable stay. It was everything I hoped for and more! I purchased the package as a surprise 65th birthday present for my husband. He likes history and this B&B is in the mist of so much history.

We loved everything about the 150 year inn. The outside was charming and the grounds were beautiful. It was way off the road so it was private. The inside as stunning. They thought of everything, We loved the wine and cheese social time to get to know the guests staying there and to ask questions about the area, placed to eat and the history of the inn. Our hosts were GREAT. They were there if you needed them but didn't make a pest of themself or talk your leg off. The breakfasts were incredible!!!!! And, if that wasn't sweet enough, there was chocolate sitting out too. Oh, and I forgot to mention the fantastic 5-course dinner and cooking demo at a nearby B&B. As I mentioned we CAN'T STOP TALKING ABOUT OUR WONDERFUL STAY. We hope to come back soon, and bring friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Mayhurst is absolutely the loveliest b&b we have ever visited. Our room was beautifully appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room had a lot of Civil War pictures which we (history buffs) loved.
The wine and cheese gathering was such a nice way to mingle with the other guests. Breakfast was so delicious--the goblet of fresh fruit was wonderful and the scones the best I have ever had. There was lots more to the wonderful meal as well.
Our hosts were so gentile and thought of our every need. I have absolutely no complaints, just praise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our first trip to a bed and breakfast and it was simply wonderful! Pat and Jack know just how to design the perfect getaway. We got engaged there this weekend and I couldn't have asked for a more charming and perfect setting! The grounds are beautiful, cooking and wine is superb, and Jack and Pat are gracious and welcoming hosts. Coffee is the best I've ever had, they were kind enough to let us bring some home! We can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We just returned from a 2 day stay at this property booked through a LiveSocial deal. Pat and Jack North make you feel very welcome and at home. The cheese and wine get together in the evenings is a very nice touch and helps break the ice with other people staying. The two breakfasts we had were amazing - best eggs benedict I have tasted anywhere! The Inn is well situated for day trips out to Montpelier, civil war sites, wine tasting, etc. so plenty to entertain everyone. We would definitely recommend the Mayhurst Inn for anyone wanting a central location to explore that part of Virginia and to have a welcoming place to come back to in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goochland, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The minute Mayhurst Inn came into view on my first visit, I knew it would be the perfect place for our daughter's wedding. After meeting Pat and Jack, we were sold. The Inn is beautiful and the hosts are terrific. Pat and Jack's efforts to make our event successful and relaxed was most appreciated. The grounds are immaculate. There was plenty of convenient parking for our guests and the layout accommodates people who have difficulty walking great distances. If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, your search is over.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time again. Jack and Pat are wonderful Inn Keepers. They are very accomidating and we always enjoy our stay. We look forward to our stay each year and start out discussing months before we arrive to plan our trip. Thanks for making our stay an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Come often and try them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Address: 12460 Mayhurst Lane, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayhurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.