We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" THE CLEANEST AND NICEST IN VA "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Willow Grove

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Willow Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Willow Grove
14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer SIZZLER!
Ranked #3 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Charlottesville
1 review
“" THE CLEANEST AND NICEST IN VA "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is very well kept and extremely clean ,,, I would recommend it to any one lookng for the friendliest, cleaniest,nicest facility in the state of VA , I have to say that the food is out of this world ...I would recommend it to anyone if you want the experience to die for,,,,,,,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
148
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Inn at Willow Grove is luxurious yet cozy -- elegant yet easy. The Scibal family are incredible hosts, and guests are made to feel that they are staying at an ancestral family home (we should all be so lucky!). The property is lovely and peaceful. The rooms and cottages have every amenity imaginable, and the attention to detail is incredible. We most recently stayed over the weekend of the Montpelier races, and were hosted at the race by the Inn - it was festive and quite a feast!
At each of our visits, we have been impressed by the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff. They are 'spot-on' without being intrusive. The Inn is truly our favorite getaway spot!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We're thrilled to be your getaway spot! Thank you so much for joining us for the Montpelier Races - what a fun day! We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place was as nice as everyone says. The staff could not be more friendly - but not overbearing. They are around when you want them, invisible when you want privacy. The bar is very cool, and the resteraunt was everything we could have asked for - from great food to a wonderful server who had so much information about the history of the property.

Met the owner and it's clear they have a passion for this place. It's in immaculate condition, and every single detail was considered, probably twice, and done with great care. I've been to B&B's that are more like a farm - this is more like a non-pretentious Four Seasons.

It's expensive, but I felt we got our moneys worth. You could probably pay more for a B&B, but I doubt you could find one nicer in the Commonwealth

Room Tip: The Butler Cabin was excellent, with heated floors and towl racks, a bathroom big enough to run arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My sixth visit to the Inn at Willow Grove with my husband, was just as special as our first. In fact, it seems to get better with each visit. With a drive that is just slightly more than an hour from Norther Virginia, we are transported to the most perfect property that we have ever stayed at, with a staff that makes certain, anything you need is at your beck and call.

To say that the rooms are luxurious and welcoming is inadequate. The instant you open the door to your accommodations, you feel relaxed and at ease. We have had some of our best night's sleep in the sumptuous beds, often in front of a wonderful fireplace. Pampering myself in a beautifully luxurious warm tub, under a picture window with light snow falling and my warm gluten free donuts, sipping french pressed coffee, delivered each morning by one of the trained butlers on staff, is one of my most cherished memories.

Chef Jason is very talented and yet very humble at the same time. We have dined in many fine restaurants around the world and Jason's creations are at the top of our list. He pulled off a 10 course tasting with wine pairings for us and five other couples that blew all of us away. His creative twists on comfort food make everyone that we have ever brought to the inn very happy. The portions are generous but not ridiculous and priced very reasonably. I have a gluten intolerance and have never had to worry about any dish that I am served which is more than I can say for a five star restaurant that we recently visited.

It's hard to imagine anyone would regret any part of a stay at the most romantic spot in the rolling foothills of Virginia, or maybe anywhere! We love it so much that we are headed back in December, to celebrate the holidays with friends that have been listening to us sing the praises of the inn over the past two years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Six visits and still counting - now that is testament to our truly incredible guests! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, and thank you... and we can't wait to thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As expected, our second visit to the Inn was just as wonderful as the first! We first visited in July 2011 to relax and unwind in "The Suite". The Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind property with fantastic service, wonderful views, and some of the most luxurious accommodations we have ever seen. Our dinner at the restaurant was perhaps the best we've had anywhere (including restaurants that charge three times the price in DC).

This time, we visited on the first night of our honeymoon on October 21. We stayed in the School House (super bathroom and jetted tub!) and enjoyed a special meal prepared by the chef (which, as expected, was out of this world). We enjoyed a couples massage in the Smoke House Spa and really enjoyed our time wandering the grounds. We met the gardener (who does a masterful job of keeping the grounds looking beautiful) and she was more than gracious in taking our photo at a few spots on the grounds.

The Inn at Willow Grove has become a very special "go to" getaway for us and we will certainly be back. Our goal is to stay in a different room each time we come as they are all so different.
Thanks for making our visits special and for treating us with kindness and providing excellent service well beyond expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms and cottages are spectacular - you can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are honored that you chose to celebrate the first night of your honeymoon with us, and we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay. The Schoolhouse is one of our favorite spots. We just love the beautiful, cozy sitting room and that incredible bathroom! A multi-course Chef's Tasting and a couple's massage in the Smokehouse Spa are the perfect way to make any stay special. We're delighted to be considered you "go to" getaway destination, and we invite you to enjoy every one of our beautiful and luxurious accommodations! Thank YOU for becoming part of The Inn at Willow Grove family - we can't wait to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently made my second trip to the Inn at Willow Grove and loved it as much as the first time. The property is absolutely beautiful, the staff very attentive, the restaurant is superb and it is located in the perfect spot. There is a lot to do within driving distance, shopping, wineries, horseback riding, historical site seeing, etc. I have already booked my third trip for over the holiday. I can't wait to see the Inn decorated for Christmas. The Inn at Willow Grove has become my go-to destination when I need to unwind from my busy schedule. It is the perfect oasis to relax and unwind....it is truly a wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We're so happy to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays at The Inn at Willow Grove. We invite every guest to "escape, unwind and indulge" during their stay, and we're so delighted to hear that our guests enjoy us for that exact reason. You are in for a special treat during your third visit! The Inn is magnificent during the holidays, and we have wonderful events planned for this festive season - including carolers, High Tea with harp music in The Hall, live bluegrass in The Pub, and other special events that will make your holiday visit even more special. We look forward to seeing you back soon for visit number three!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This past weekend was my first time at the Inn and let me tell you, this place is fabulous! A group of my girlfriends and I had planned the day to visit some wineries in the area and it was a perfect stopping point to have an amazing lunch, take in the beautiful views and scope out which guest cottage I would like to stay at when I come back for an extended visit! While our time was short, the attentive service, the tasty dishes and the excellent wine list make me wish I had planned for a longer stay. I will be looking forward to my return visit with my man! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing! With so many award-winning wineries right down the road, we really are the perfect place to stay while enjoying the best of Virginia wine country. Wine Enthusiast Magazine voted Central Virginia one of the top ten wine travel destinations in the world, and not without reason! We're delighted that you enjoyed exploring our grounds and we invite you, your man, and your girlfriends (and their men too!) to return for an extended stay any time. Our Butlers can plan a special itinerary for touring amazing wineries nearby, including private tours, special tastings and complementary passes just for inn guests. Add a gourmet picnic basket from Chef Daniels, chauffeur service, and a Multi-Course Tasting at the Chef's Table in Vintage Restaurant upon your return, and you will enjoy a truly spectacular experience. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Willow Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.