We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for More!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Willow Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Willow Grove to your Saves list
The Inn at Willow Grove
14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway with a Giveaway!
Ranked #4 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back for More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

After our first visit a little over 3 months ago, my husband and I vowed to return every quarter to this amazing Inn! As business owners, we find it the perfect place to retreat from the stress and business of our lives and just completely unwind.

We couldn't have been more pleased with this second visit. The service we received from the staff was impeccable and the accommodations were to die for! We stayed in the Butlers Cottage which has two very private patio's facing away from the compound. Enjoying our french pressed coffee and beignets in the morning while listening to the birds was quite the experience.

We left this time with the firm commitment to not only return again soon ourselves, but to surprise our employees with a stay at the Inn in the near future. Thanks again to everyone at Willow Grove for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the cottages - very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
What a pleasure to have you back! We agree that there is nothing better than a quiet morning on the porch sipping hot French pressed coffee, eating warm beignets and listening to the singing birds. You feel as if you're in a completely different world. We're thrilled that you returned, and we look forward to seeing you (and your employees!) again soon. Third time's a charm! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
164
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I spend a weekend here to celebrate his 41st B-day. We were not disappointed! Stayed in the Butler's Cottage -- just fabulous accommodations. We loved the butler service in the a.m. (fresh coffee and warm beignets!) Also, a special treat was left for us in the evenings (tea and dessert). We visited local wineries and ate in Vintage each night. Great food, great service. We will definitely go back -- highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Butler's Cottage is our favorite. We liked being separate/more private from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. The Butler's
Cottage really is a special place. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Meandering down a Virginia scenic byway enroute to my college reunion at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville late last spring, I chanced upon a most welcoming sight. Set up on a high hill, the stately Inn at Willow Grove beckoned me. Although I hadn't been in author mindset, I was so mesmerized that I decided to pen a getaway/restaurant review for VivaTysons.com for whom I write a bimonthly column entitled allicucina. This past weekend, I decided to return for a visit to the bucolic countryside of Orange, Virginia to welcome the spring to Virginia. I was reminded why I fell in love with the inn in the first place. While retaining the historical feel of the Jeffersonian architecture for which I have great respect, the owners David and Charlene really put the 'in' in 'inn' by modernizing the interior, integrating fine art and whimsical touches, while preserving the original brick and stone and wooden beam ceilings, and infusing luxurious comfort and meticulously designed elegance throughout.

Gone is the grandma's attic antique shop must of yore; here to stay is fresh, unique, artistic flair and world-class cuisine and wine rivalling any city's finest address. All this with friendly smiles, no starchy-shirt attitude, many charming and secluded cottages to select from, amenities by l'Occitane, your own butler, daffodils poking up through the earth, and views of black cows dotting the surrounding rock-strewn hillsides reminiscent of the Scottish Highlands -- get ready to relax and enjoy. It's a secret almost too good to share -- but you will.

Room Tip: Can't really make a bad choice, but the School House is quite charming and set apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. During the renovation, we took great care to restore the dignity, beauty, and historic character of the property's 18th century architecture while updating it with our luxurious "urban meets plantation" flair. Thank you for appreciating all of the special touches that help to make this a truly unique destination inn. Spring is coming here at The Inn... Come back again soon to enjoy our beautiful gardens and walkways in full bloom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Ten years to date, me and my husband celebrated the unionship of our love. Completely unfilmiliar with the area, we stumbled upon your inn, via google, and needless to say, our time spent here was not only special to us, but was also heralded by the team at Vin-tage, the inns resturaunt. The service and attention to detail was carefuly met by our server, Cody, who delightfuly guided us through our spur of the moment aniversary. Though we chose a different local inn to stay at, our hearts will forever be at Willow Grove, and without a doubt, the future home to any special event that we will hold in the near distant future. Bravo to the entire staff and to all that made this the single most rememberable night since our wedding. It goes without saying that any future visit to the area will always be highlighted by a trip to the inn. An unexpected treat for anyone with a taste for food, or those just looking to be treated with that extra touch, that our server so clearly gave us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your 10th anniversary with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed a memorable night at Vintage and hope that you will join us at The Inn as well next time. We promise to make every experience as memorable as this one and look forward to your return. Happy anniversary to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend after Valentine’s Day this year at the Inn at Willow Grove. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts throughout the country and this is by far our favorite. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed; heated tile floors, soaking tubs, fine art, and very private. It is obvious the owners enjoy art and interior decorating by the paintings and sculpture- every piece is unique and memorable. We spent much of our time at the Inn just marveling at the décor. The rooms are incredibly well-appointed-- it was as if they'd thought of everything: a candle and a small lighter were already in our bathroom, bottles of water were in the room, and there was even a fizzy bath cube next to the soaking tub.

I could go on a long time about the great food, staff, and overall beauty of the Inn, but it was our butler who made this stay perfect. Stephen took complete care of us from the moment we made our reservation to the minute we checked out. He helped us with dinner and massage reservations several weeks in advance, brought us breakfast in the morning at the exact time we asked, let us know about all of the activities and events going on that day at the Inn and around town, and made us feel as if we had stayed there many times before. It was obvious the he had many responsibilities around the Inn, but somehow he managed to materialize at the perfect times, making sure our dinner reservation could be moved up when we realized we were hungry early, finding us the perfect seat in the pub, and delivering delicious treats to our room after dinner.

From the receptionist to our waiters at the Pub and at Vintage, to the maintenance staff, we were impressed with how friendly and helpful every person we met was. When we had Sunday Brunch, Andrew, our waiter, remembered us mentioning that we don’t eat meat during dinner the night before, and had the chef prepare two special Amuse dishes just for us. Luckily, we do eat seafood, and we were in for a treat! Everything we ate at the Inn was spectacular: the cheese tray, the halibut tacos (recommended by Stephen, and to die for!), the seared diver scallops, the beignets…needless to say, it was not an easy place to leave, and we’ve already decided we’ll be back.



For all those considering, the Inn is expertly decorated and appointed and if you ask for Stephen you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We believe that the key to providing five-star service is in anticipating our guests' needs and attending to even the slightest details. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Inn at Willow Grove is a beautiful hotel set in the heart of Virginia wine country - accessible to James Madison's Montpelier and a host of wineries. The service was immaculate and rivals Michelin starred establishments or luxury hotel chains such as the Ritz-Carlton. In particular, our "butler" Steven and the bartender Jaime were indispensable, consummately professional, and genuinely interested in our experience. We were also fortunate to meet the owners, who clearly work hard every day to provide the highest level of service experience possible to their guests

Our room - The Loft, in the main house, was incredibly appointed and spacious. Peeks into the other rooms and cottages appeared that a similar level of amazingly appointed and spacious accommodations existed. Other public areas on the property including the reading room and the lounge were stunning. Make sure to take part in the daily 5pm chefs tasting in the lounge - a great way to relax and meet other guests.

My only reservation with this property is in the restaurant and the kitchen. The dining room is incredibly beautiful, in line with the rest of the Inn. However, there are some systemic issues which need ironing out:

We elected to eat in the "chefs table" area. Typically, a "chefs table" will include some or all of the following: vantage or participation with the kitchen; a special "chefs menu"; the opportunity to meet with and interact with the chef themselves; and the highest level of waiting service available. None of these, unfortunately, were in existence. There were, I concede, small darkened windows which looked out into the kitchen, but certainly as a diner you were not "part of the kitchen." The menu was in no way different to the main dining room. The chef never introduced themselves or made the "chefs table" part of the experience. Finally, the waitstaff were incredibly kind and friendly, but made several errors such as forgetting the wine list, not knowing which diner was getting which dish, and not communicating with the kitchen the pace of dining - meaning the time between the starter and main course was too fast and we were too full to enjoy the main course.

As to the food - there are wild variances in quality, quantity, and execution. Chef Daniels is clearly a gifted cook, and has moments of inspired brilliance. The scallops with garlic grits made for a masterful and innovative dish. However, both tables next to us complained that theirs were burnt. Our food in the bar was excellent - a perfectly cooked burger, elegant shrimps, and lip-smackingly crunchy onion strings. But in the main dining room some dishes fail. The quail with rice was confused on many levels. The quail was over cooked and the glaze over powered the delicacy of the meat. In addition, sophisticated butchering technique could have been employed to scrape or "french" the meat off the main bone. The cabbage was an unnecessary component and there was far too much of the bland fried rice on the plate.

The main course of stuffed chicken with risotto sounded vivacious, gutsy, and complex. Again, technique failed the kitchen - there was way too much food on the plate, the seasoning was totally off, and there was no discernible mushroom taste in the dish. The food was filling and - to be frank - reminiscent of a first semester at cooking school: bland, stodgy, and depressed. By the time dessert came around, the sight of food was making us feel queasy. Sadly, the dessert didn't pull the kitchen back - and this is probably one of the kitchen's weakest links. They need to invest in a full time pastry chef to move away from the pre made over baked dishes which are turned out. To be fair, other diners loved their filet of beef and their dessert, which was different from ours.

My suggestion to the management is three fold: send Chef Daniels on a cooking sabbatical to at least ten fine dining establishments in line with the Inn's vision. I think this will help focus the Chef's palate and inspire some creativity on the menu of the kind displayed by the scallop starter. Secondly, hire a pastry chef with flair and vision. Finally, bring the front of house in line with the beauty and awe which this stunning dining room affords. Slow the pace of dining, tighten up the loose ends, and try and evoke a little more of the thrill, panache, and luxury of the rest of the Inn to the dining experience.

Overall, this was an incredible stay and we will certainly be back again. Though our dining experience was solid, it's with sadness and not criticism that we saw it could have been magisterial. I sincerely hope a few of these relatively small and systemic issues can be ironed out - making the Inn at Willow Grove one of the finest hotels not only in the region, but in the nation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an incredibly detailed review. Your thoughts and comments are very much appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your surroundings, and we couldn’t be happier that you were pleased with the service!

As we sincerely value constructive criticism, we have taken the time to share your thoughts about how to iron out some of the systemic issues you mentioned with our kitchen and restaurant staff. While we are still a young establishment, in the year that we’ve been open we have come a long way. This meal may not have been magisterial, but we assure you we are working hard to get there! We look forward to your return and promise that your next visit will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Inn was a complete surprise. The level of service, the interior decor, and the grounds were all impeccable. Yes, it is a pricey stay for a rural setting but well worth the cost. The Inn also has a restaurant, on site, that serves well prepared and presented dishes for all tastes, including a nice wine list.

I've all ready recommended to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Old Schoolhouse. A great stay; however, the bedroom is on 2nd floor while bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowGroveVA, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for recommending us to friends. Our goal is to provide our guests with the kind of memorable stay that they can’t wait to tell friends and family about when they return home! Unfortunately yes, the Schoolhouse has a fairly steep staircase - it is one of the many original historic structures on our property that dates back to the 18th century. In fact, it is the oldest schoolhouse in Orange County! We were careful during renovation to preserve the schoolhouse’s historic character and charm while upgrading the space with the luxurious modern amenities to make it comfortable for our guests. Hopefully the stairs were not too much of an inconvenience! Maybe next time try the Butler’s Cottage, which offers the same privacy, intimacy and luxury - but with fewer stairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Willow Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.