We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stink bug infestation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Willow Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Willow Grove to your Saves list
The Inn at Willow Grove
14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway with a Giveaway!
Ranked #4 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stink bug infestation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

When I checked in for my recent stay at the Inn, I was handed a paper explaining that they have a problem with stink bugs infesting the guest rooms. From insects buzzing me awake at night, to almost drinking a stink bug swimming in my Waterford water glass, this was the worst hotel stay I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
163
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a weekend at the Inn at Willow Grove and certainly echo the gist of the other reviews. The Inn at Willow Grove is charming, the service is impeccable, the food is wonderful, the rooms are beautifully appointed and tremendously comfortable and all of this holds up entirely. The things I did not expect, and that I rarely have seen in many years of travel were the little things that made for a truly exceptional weekend. Butler service delivers coffee, hot pastries and a newspaper each morning to the room. Porches just off the rooms offer rockers and views that overlook the property, Inn staff always seem to show up right when you need something and always with the warmest attitude as if they genuinely want to help and not that it was merely their job. The grounds are beautifully kept and the interior touches of the rooms and and the Inn itself are so thoughtfully done that it was hard to fault much at all. And finally, the restaurant is simply great. My wife and I ended up dining there both nights of our stay because there were too many things we regretted missing on the first night. The Inn at Willow Grove is a place I hope to get back to often and have my expectations exceeded again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The warm hospitality, superior service, and amazing atmosphere at the Inn at Willow Grove provided for an unforgettable wedding weekend. Dave and Charlene (the owners) were very enjoyable to work with and accommodating with all of our needs. The food was absolutely delicious (pulled pork bbq, artisan breads and cheeses, beef tenderloin, roasted chicken, potato salad, and Napa cole slaw). The butler service was superior; from the coffee and pastries delivered to our cabin each morning to the turn down service with hot tea and cookies in the evening.
We highly recommend the Inn at Willow Grove in Orange, VA for anyone planning a wedding or large event.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Butler's Cottage. The family room makes this room very accommodating for group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I made our first visit to the Inn in the middle of September. The Inn was highly recommended by my sister who had stayed there before and we were not disappointed. The Inn has been beautifully restored and furnished as are all the other buildings on the property. The Inn keepers have thought of everything to make your stay special from the comfortable bedding to heated floors and towel bars. The staff members are extremely friendly and provided top notch service. We had dinner one evening in the Inn and the meal was wonderful as was the service. We spent a day visiting the local sites. There is a lot to see and we should have spent more time. We will definitely be back to the Inn and will stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I were married at the Inn at Willow Grove 11 years ago. We had a beautiful and memorable outdoor wedding in an idyllic setting with wonderful food. But we both agreed we probably wouldn't return until a new owner bought the place and fixed it up, as well as put the love and attention into it that would match the exceedingly gorgeous grounds and buildings themselves.

Finally, someone has. With an absolutely stunning renovation of all of the grounds and room/cottages, this is the Inn that we've dreamed of staying at ever since our wedding. We loved our stay so much, we were trying to figure out how to get the entire family back together so everyone could see the changes and updates!

Dinner was excellent, and the breakfast was even better. But the real treat is the rooms. We stayed in the Butler's Cottage. Completely renovated with warmed marble floors in the bathroom, warmed towel holders, exposed brick, tall ceilings, comfortable and lavish decorating, this cottage will be our go-to location for each anniversary. And the thoughtful butler service was a great touch – cupcakes and tea in the evening and the most incredible beignets and excellent French press coffee in the morning!

Having been married there, we have a special attachment to the Inn at Willow Grove. But we also have very high expectations. Some would even call us "high maintenance"! And the new Inn has certainly made us believers. Our only hope is that they never stray from the exceptional service and upkeep of the surroundings that caused the steady decline with the previous owner. Good luck!

Room Tip: Butler's Cottage was quiet and private, but also the most expensive. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was my second trip to The Inn At Willow Grove in only a few short months, and I found myself once again captivated by the beauty and tranquility of this place from the moment we arrived. I first visited The Inn in June 2011 and had such an incredible time that we decided to book a family trip to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. We had such a wonderful time! My parents were so thrilled! We reserved 3 suites, the Tenant Upstairs, the Tenant House, and the School House. Each suite was so absolutely enchanting (I could just stay forever), exquisitely decorated with an attention to detail that compares to none I've seen before. We had our first meal in a private room in The Vintage Restaurant the evening we arrived. The food was absolutely incredible and the wine selection, superb. The service was flawless our entire stay. The butlers, wait staff, housekeeping, bartender, and sommelier went above and beyond to make sure our stay was incredible and my parents' anniversary one they wouldn't soon forget. Thank you! I know The Inn At Willow Grove will always be a favorite place for me! I will certainly be back again and again!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong! All of the rooms are FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I took our son Scott there to celebrate his new job. This was his first visit our 4th.
We had braged about the INN to him for some time. All he wants to know is when can we go back. Scott loved everything about the INN. By the way the service and food was excellent. This INN is the best thing that has happen in Orange County, VA in a long time. George and Betty Wathen/ Lake of the woods

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Willow Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.