We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, beautiful property, great food, memorable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Willow Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Willow Grove to your Saves list
The Inn at Willow Grove
14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service, beautiful property, great food, memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Willow Grove on our wedding night and for one additional evening. It was such a memorable hotel experience, so much so that this is the first online review I've ever written!
When we got to the hotel, we received a free upgrade to their largest suite, which has an amazing king sized plush bed, separate sitting room, fireplace and huge bathroom with heated floors, soaking tub and separate shower.
Also, when we got to the hotel the night of our wedding, very late, after the reception, there was hot tea, coffee and pastries waiting for us, along with a roaring fire.
The hotel is very small- only four room in the main building and 10 additional suites sprinkled throughout the property. The service is excellent! Whatever you need, they will assist you with.
We also ate lunch and dinner there and were very impressive with the food and wine selection- very delicious!
If you are looking for an upscale, beautiful, relaxing and romantic spot in the heart of the rolling foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains and the historic center of Virginia, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
176
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
strasburg, va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We recently stayed at The Inn and have raved about our experience. It gives the feeling of visiting friends or family in their elegant home. Luxurious is an understatement plus it is immaculate and meticulous. Entire staff were exceptional, attentive and most courteous. The Dining experience exceeded our expections and we look foward to returning for Sunday Brunch. We highly recommend you add The Inn at Willow Grove for your next respite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed here recently and to our surprise the service,the food,the accommodations exceeded our expectations to ther degree that I felt I had to let others know. Our room was in the Carriage House and was fabulous! There are other great rooms too like the Weaver's Cottage and the Master Suite. Do not, I repeat do not miss having dinner in the restaurant Vintage, you will not be disappointed. It was one of the better meals we have enjoyed in the STATE! Once again, the service was flawless. Also, do not miss brunch on Sunday, it will make you wish they offered it every day!
We have stayed at lots of nice places in the state, it would be tough to find a nicer place with better service and better food!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Full disclosure, here. This is really a review of the Inn's restaurant, named "Vintage." The Inn, itself, is amazing, as I noted after our first visit in a previous review, but the Restaurant is also fantastic. Maybe one of the two or three best in Virginia. I'm not kidding. It starts with the decor. You won't find a more inviting interior anywhere. Soothing contemporary with subtle traditional cues that remind you that you're still in an historic space, albeit a highly refined one. Then, of course, there's the food. The menu changes monthly and the offerings include a pleasant mix of both favorites and new variations on favorites, often prepared with an innovative, memorable touch. At a recent lunch, my wife ordered a mushroom tart with apple and gruyere cheese, accompanied by fried escarole. I opted for halibut tacos that were simply perfect. Dinners feature an array of creatively prepared beef, pork and seafood options, including a knock-out jumbo shrimp tempura, served over melon salsa and accompanied by garlic chile sauce and black rice fritters. Hardly the usual "B&B" fare. That said, less adventurous diners are certain to find more conventional options to their liking. Service is cheerful and attentive, which for me are the two most important attributes of a professional wait staff. Lastly, pricing. In a word, reasonable, including the wines. Lots of good choices under $50. We'll keep going back for the Inn... but the restaurant could easily become a star attraction on its own...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The setting is wonderful. A great getaway from the hustle and bustle and in the middle of wine and horse country. Gorgeous rooms, decorated perfectly and well appointed. Several cottages are on the premises as well. I wanted to move in. The great thing is that all of the staff made us feel as if we were home. The owners themselves greeted everyone with warmth and helpful advice, as if they had personally invited us to stay there. Everything about their restaurant was superb. The service was incredible. Carlos went out of his way to make sure we had the best seating in the restaurant. Matt made sure we were taken care of even late at night. Gene brought us warm beignets with coffee and the paper every morning at the exact time we requested. He went out of his way to ensure we were having a good time. Lita was so much fun! She knew everything about the Inn and went out of her way to make sure any reservations were to our liking and take care of any changes, as if we were the only ones there. We really did feel at home. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from a one night's stay in Weaver's Cottage. The Inn came highly recommended by my sister so we thought we would celebrate my birthday. We frequently visit bed and breakfasts throughout Virginia and this takes it to another level. The executive chef, Jason Daniel, is out of this world. He has a true talent and we were happy to be the recipients of his tasty creations! We had the most delicious brunch when we arrived. We were taken to our room by the butler, Gene Johnson. Gene was so friendly and helpful. You can tell he really enjoys his job. We were at the inn on a Sunday so we thought we would eat in the pub before it closed at 7. Much to our surprise, the owner offered up Jason's services for a private dinner. We have eaten in many of the best restaurants in DC, including Citronelle, and this experience blew all of those meals out of the water. Jason said he would cook until we waived the flag. Eight plates later we waived the flag. It was delicious, crab cake, pizza, tuna, shrimp, halibut, veal, all prepared in unique, delicious ways and presented in a creative way. Thank you thank you for that experience. The room was outstanding and no cost was spared. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in, the bathroom floors and heated towel rack was amazon, and the gas fireplace was romantic. We met with Sarah the next morning to look into planning our wedding there sometime next year because we were so blown away. It feels like it was a dream. Simply the best!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the inn for two nights to celebrate our anniversary (a rare time away from our two toddlers). We wanted to be totally relaxed out in the country somewhere, but we didn't want to sacrifice any modern luxuries that you so often have to give up when staying at a B&B. This inn was perfect. The cottage was beautiful: large comfortable bed, fireplace, heated bathroom floors, clean and modern decor. We LOVED the coffee, pastries and newspaper delivered to the room in the morning and the tea and treats delivered to the room for turn down in the evening! Also, it seems trivial, but the supply of complementary water in the room was a nice surprise. We very much enjoyed the quiet calmness of the room and the grounds in general. We were also pleased that the main building and restaurant always had other guests and patrons around keeping a good energy about the place. All meals in the restaurant were very good. Not quite sure I'd give it 5 stars, but there was certainly no reason to leave the inn to get food anywhere else. The Sunday brunch was the highlight of our meals there - French Toast brick is amazing! We took advantage of a spring deal advertised on their webpage... two nights plus a dinner voucher for $450. We were upgraded to the cottage because of a mix up in the reservation but the other rooms looked very nice as well. The deal made the trip affordable, which made it even more enjoyable :)

Complaints... You can't rent movies on the tv!! For a couple who wanted to lounge around and be lazy for an entrire weekend, this was disappointing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Weaver's cottage. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Willow Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.