We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful - great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryn at Tilba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tilba Tilba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bryn at Tilba
Save
You added The Bryn at Tilba to your Saves list
91 Tilba-Punkalla Rd | Central Tilba, Tilba Tilba, New South Wales 2546, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tilba Tilba
NSW Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So peaceful - great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this lovely B & B and both loved the atmosphere, views and hospitality of the owners. We loved the fact that the B&B is a seperate building, and the owners pop down to cook breakfast (scrumptious and plenty of it), leaving guests to feel completely private. No one else stayed the night we were there, so it was like having a beautiful old house all to ourselves. Very welcoming and cosy atmosphere. Loved the small touches like binoculars to make the most of the sweeping coastal view, and the crystal decanter of port in the lounge. Would be a wonderful B&B to hire out for a group of friends, or family. Just around the corner from Central Tilba historic village, where you can spend all day pottering in the shops and cafes and soaking up the atmosphere. No criticisms or complaints at all.

Room Tip: .All rooms looked lovely. Different bedding configurations and sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My partner and I stumbled across this South Coast gem last year while we were exploring the area. As a B&B it is a fantastic concept being in a house that is seperate from the owners dwelling. We have stayed in B&B's before where we were too scared to come out of our rooms at night least we bump into our hosts in their pyjamas.
Lynda and Simon, our hosts could not have been more welcoming and were right up the driveway in case we needed anything. Simon was extremely knowledgable about the local area with some fantastic tips of things to see and do. He also cooks a gastronomic feast for your breakfast which had us skipping lunch. Fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, home grown rhubarb and a big cooked breakfast with toast left us very happy for a busy day.
In the afternoon we sat on the gorgeous verandah with the most beautiful view down the coast and admired the serenity while eating the local cheese. Simon very unobtrusively lit a fire for us to warm up with in the communal living area afterwards.
All in all our stay here could not have been more beautiful. The Bryn is modern but with old fashioned antique style furnishings which make it feel very homely and comfortable. We were so impressed that we have booked our parents in for a weekend for a Xmas present.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

If you don't mind your skimpy breakfast taking an hour to be served on odd plates collected at garage sales, you'll probably be OK. But take your glasses as the 14' TV (no DVD) is fixed high on the wall facing the bed.
It was a while since the floor rugs had been vaccuumed, but we spent so much time distracted by the 17 picutures on the walls of our room featuring mainly gumtrees, that iwe didn't look down often - maybe that was the purpose?
Then there was the old sofa on the verandah, which closely matched the second hand furniture in the main residents lounge , not a good look for a B&B charging $140 for a 'standard' room.
The host makes the breakfast right beside the living room table and appeared disorganised,and even though there was a dishwasher washed up as he went along while we waited patiently for our orange juice,cornflakes etc.,The weak filter coffee was not a good start to the day.
Tilba is a gorgeous National Trust Heritage Village and has few B&Bs so the owner is onto a good thing. What a pity the attention to detail, furnishings ,china, food and cleanliness doesn't encourage one to return.
The Bryn web site says 'Award Winning'....I wonder which award and in which year? iIt certainly wouldn't win any any now.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P, Owner at The Bryn at Tilba, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Since June 2012, The Bryn at Tilba has been under new ownership and management. Now fully renovated, we hope the high standards we've set in all aspects of updating and operating 'The Bryn' will address each of the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Very cosy, beautiful B&B. Gorgeous location with a stunning view over the local farms and all the way to Mystery Bay. Simon the host is very friendly and cooks a wonderful breakfast.

We stayed in the deluxe room which was absolutely enormous, with french doors that opened onto the deck. Excellent value for money.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I found this place by accident as the the person running the B&B where I was going to stay had to go away due to a medical emergency.

It got there after dark and it was a little difficult to find but worth the search. The rooms are excellent and there was a lovely wood burning stove roaring in the lounge area. Breakfast was good and the hospitality warm.

The weather was poor when I was there but the potential of the views and the location were obvious.

Worth seeking out.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turosshead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Our children sent us for a night at the Bryn in November 2007 and we enjoyed it so much ,that we decided to go back for our 42nd wedding anniversarry. The home is set on acreage on a hill overlooking the village of Tilba with magnificent views .It has been tastefully decorated throughout, and the rooms are large and oh so comfortable.I just love the homestead. Once we had booked in, we wandered through all the little village shops,admiring the crafts of the locals,had a drink in the Dromaderry hotel and walked to the "lookout" where we stood for some time,imagining how it must have been "in the old mining days"We wished we were a bit younger so we could have walked up mount dromedarry!! Instead we wandered through the gorgeous Fox Glove gardens.On our way back to the Bryn we stopped and purchased some local cheese and wine. We sat out on the veranda enjoying our wine ,cheese and biscuits listening to the birds and enjoying the magnificent scenery. Off our room was a large spa that too was enjoyable so much so that we have decided we will put one in our home. Linda and Simon are wonderful hosts and will do anything to make your stay as memorable as they can. In fact there was a lovely bottle of champagne set up for us to celebrate our anniversarry compliments of the host. NICE TOUCH!! Simon has a great sense of humour too. In the morning he cooked us a huge gourmet breakfast,there was also cereals fresh fruit,nuts and berries and yogurt set out for us as well. We looked forward to the breakfast, remembering how good it was on our last visit!! And it takes a good hour to get throughit MMMMMM so enjoyable. We would recommend spending time at the Bryn so relaxing. I have booked the whole house for my birthday in March and am looking forward to taking all my daughters there and having a great girls night.

  • Liked — magnificent huge rooms tastefully decorated and loved the spa
  • Disliked — cant think of anything at all
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed at 'The Bryn' for one night in March, on our journey between Melbourne & Sydney, and once more were very impressed with our travel agents choice!

The Bryn has gorgeous big rooms, beautifully furnished with large comfortable beds, but the best bit is probably the verandah! Accessible from french doors in all the rooms, the verandah enjoys the most spectacular views across the valley that houses the pretty heritage village of Central Tilba, or across the hills towards the sea. Well worth rising early to see the sunrise!

Simon, the marvellous host, comes down to the house in the morning to cook everyone a fantastic breakfast, served in the communal lounge.

A very enjoyable stay - I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — The verandah views
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryn at Tilba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryn at Tilba

Address: 91 Tilba-Punkalla Rd | Central Tilba, Tilba Tilba, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tilba Tilba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tilba Tilba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRIVACY..LUXURY..SPACE..VIEWS! Officially accredited 4.5 STAR B&B accommodation. Home away from home in a separate, elegant residence for guests. Eight acres of tranquil park-like grounds in a stunning rural-coastal setting. Choice of 3 luxurious guest rooms, each with french-door access to a sunny wrap-around verandah, views, and outdoor furniture. Snowy Moss River bedlinen, fluffy bathrobes, excellent heating, built in robes and free to air TVs. Spacious ensuites with large separate baths and heated towel rails. A giant-size deluxe spa room boasts a king size bed, plump lounge, a DVD player, an abundance of excellent movies and a spa bath for two. A stylish, comfortable living room (for all guests) features a toasty gas log fire, cosy lounge, bay window seat with magical views, well thumbed book and a Nespresso coffee machine. A microwave oven, BBQ facilities, cooking utensils and dining ware are available for guests who prefer to BYO supplies and dine in at night. A sumptuous continental and cooked breakfast at the French Farmhouse Table or on the verandah. Free access to WiFi. Spacious indoor and outdoor living areas enable guests to enjoy the company of friends, family or fellow travellers or revel in quiet time out. Two extra single beds allow for a maximum of eight guests. Note: The Bryn does not cater for children under 12 years of age. The Cottage - a separate, two bedroom, fully equipped, self-catering residence welcomes families with up to four children. Sugar, tea, coffee, bed and bath linen supplied. Note: Smoking is NOT permitted indoors in either residence. Note: A minimum 2 night stay applies at long weekends, public holidays and in peak periods for both The Bryn and The Cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn At Tilba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryn at Tilba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.