We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear, Please finish the garden.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foxglove Spires Open Garden

Foxglove Spires Open Garden
Corkhill Drive, Tilba Tilba, New South Wales 2546, Australia
02 44762 468
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oh Dear, Please finish the garden.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

what looked like a lovely "Hidden Garden" when peeping through the barrier from the nursery we decided to pay the $9 per person to have a look around. The evidence of what was once a lovely garden was only just there. Basically the garden is a bit of a construction site and very disappointing apart from the over charge for viewing. we could see that the owners are trying to resurrect the once grand garden but maybe they should do a section at a time. Apparently they advertise rooms for rent and "garden " weddings. Maybe in the future this would be very pleasant, if all the working equipment was moved away from the house area. i suppose I wouldn't be so harsh if I didn't feel that it is probably just a money grabbing exercise at the moment. Charges for an Open Garden is usually about $7 and then one views a completed garden not a half finished one. apart from that I' hope that this garden will once again be a beautiful one. Please don't charge until it is.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    7
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambewarra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No cheer here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived mid morning, my mother had been before and told us how wonderful it was ,several years ago, whilst in the nursery area wandering around the owner, glared and rolled his eyes as people wandered around apparently not where he wanted them to walk!!, definitely not a warm welcome, the price of the gardens was too expensive for 8 of us at $9.00 each, we were looking forward to having a coffee but the coffee shop and gift shop have closed down :-(, such a shame.
We looked around the nursery then went on our way.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Waste of money. Staff were short. Garden's a mess, and whilst the flowers were going over the overall tidiness left a lot to be desired. A real shame because it could be SO amazing...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Tragedy of Decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have been visiting foxglove spires for over 10 years, and popped in recently after a two year gap. What a tragedy of decline. The once beautiful gardens are now poorly kept, and the wonderful atmosphere of passionate gardening has disappeared. We left after a short walk-through wondering how such a great garden could be let go as it has been.
New owners also seem very abrupt and unwelcoming. I do not feel inspired to pop in again after a long history of visiting this once magnificent garden. A tragedy.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great garden dying.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

tried foxglove spires a second time after a awful experience in 2012. Arrived at 10 and it was shut......waited 5 minutes and the owners showed up and were actually indignant about our waiting! Very sad to see a great garden ruined by new owners

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxglove Spires Open Garden also viewed

 
Narooma, New South Wales
Tilba Tilba, New South Wales
 

Been to Foxglove Spires Open Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxglove Spires Open Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.