We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway from Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Manor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Manor House to your Saves list
Peppers Manor House
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kater Road, Sutton Forest, New South Wales 2577, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Food & wine lovers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Forest
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway from Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided to get away from Sydney and head to the southern Highlands to escape the busy Sydney life. That is exactly what we got. We had booked the most basic room the Hillside which was in walking distance of the main building. The room was very comfortable with everything you would expect in a standard hotel room.

I will start with the good.
Very comfortable bed, great tasting room service, Amazing restaurant, beautiful sitting rooms, beautiful grounds, excellent heating in the room and fires in main house.
Katers Restaurant is amazing the food is unbelievable i would come back just to eat!

The bad. Shower was hopeless you couldn't wash your hair under that pressure and you were basically freezing because the water was trickles, only good thing was there was a bath you could use instead. Room service incurred at $5 fee to get delivered i think this was crazy for them to charge delivery as it was 20m from the restaurant.
Also i would suggest bringing your own pillow they were quite uncomfortable and didnt have a pillow menu.

if you want a complete escape from Sydney this is it, there is no reception here and wifi is so expensive it wouldnt be worth purchasing. There was no free wifi in the main house either.

All in all we got what we wanted a weekend getaway from Sydney, in a stunning location.

Room Tip: Ask for a hillside corner room. You will get a slightly bigger room and only share one wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    99
    55
    29
    17
See reviews for
40
183
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

When presented with the opportunity to spend our first wedding anniversary in the beautiful surroundings of Peppers Manor House, and to re-live memories from our wedding, we jumped at the opportunity.

As usual, the surroundings were second to none. The house has been re-painted and the gardens were well manicured. The interior was also stunning! The whole main house was just AMAZING!

Our room was comfortable, clean and inviting. We were in the garden wing, which provided stunning views across the entrance of the manor.

We were excited to then dine at Kater's Restaurant one more time! The food was DELICIOUS! It was just a shame that the service within the restaurant was not to the same standard. The waiter's seemed stressed, and unfortunately our drink orders were forgotten. Despite requesting them numerous times, we finally received our first drinks after finishing our entrees! Dessert was delicious! The table unfortunately was too large for our group and created an awkward situation- we felt as though we were all shouting, when having a simple discussion. Our dinner would have been far more enjoyable, had the staff been more attentive to our requirements, and paid greater attention to detail... Leaning across a customer to remove a wine glass from another customer, whilst the first is trying to eat her meal is not considered great service!

Breakfast was fantastic, with a great selection available! I loved the warm bread pudding option and the jams and preserves were to die for!

Overall, our stay was very enjoyable. I look forward to heading back there, however I may reconsider dining at Kater's for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went away for a country escape but I would not stay at Peppers again. The main part of the house is lovely but we stayed mid week and the fires were not put on unless one went to find a staff member and asked them to put the fires on. It is obviously a cost cutting measure but the place is quite cold and a bit bleak without them. The grounds were lovely but we did not visit the restaurant at night having been put off by the breakfasts. (Just little things such as the plates being cold if you went late and a bain marie full of tepid congealed eggs). There are some very good restaurants in Berrima (about four) so next time we go we will stay in Berrima and be able to walk everywhere and have a choice of good places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Peppers for a work function. The staff were well organised with rooms, meals and conference setup. The manor house was beautiful and some of the rooms were big enough for a dozen of us to do some "bonding" late at night.
The meals were all generous, we split up and sat in front of three fire places taking in the atmosphere and comfortable lounges.
There were a number of other family groups and couples, but there were enough spaces in the common areas for them and us to have our own space.
We may find ourselves there next year. . .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. The grounds are nice to walk around. Service was sometimes a little lacking but very friendly nonetheless.

The rooms could do with a bit of remodelling and the room service staff need a reminder to fill the fridge with basics (such as milk).

Very surprised to find our room contained a double bed. I expect a nicer bed than home when I come away. Aside from the above, beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Peppers Manor House was a wonderful escape to the tranquil surrounds of the Southern Highlands. The hotel facilities and grounds were beautifully kept. The room was neat and well furnished with all that we needed. During our stay we enjoyed a cooing dip in the pool, played tennis and golf.
The restaurant was the highlight of our stay. We had some special dietary requirements and were still told to order whatever we wanted and the chef would adjust the meal to suit. We had the degustation menu and on another occasion selected just 2 courses from the menu. The food was amazing and presented beautifully.
We will definitely be returning but next time staying in one of the Manor House rooms and all the delights of winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My sister and I booked High Tea here and we were VERY impressed with the service from Liz! She looked after us like we were VIP's and ensured we had a relaxing morning with no kids! The food was beautiful and the room had such a beautiful feel to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Manor House

Address: Kater Road, Sutton Forest, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Manor House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful Southern Highlands estate, just an hour from Sydney, Peppers Manor House provides deluxe accommodation and an experience of life and leisure at a grand country house. In keeping with the heritage of this charming historic family home originally built in 1926, all accommodation rooms at Peppers Manor house reflect the ambience and character of an intimate country retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Manor House Hotel Sutton Forest
Peppers Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.