We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Penrith to your Saves list
Mercure Penrith
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Mulgoa and Jamison Rds, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adequate stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a wedding party.

Check-in was quick but did not find the staff to be particularly friendly. Did not have a warmth welcome sort of feel to it. Standard small Reception area which is adjacent to the hotel lobby bar.

First impression was not great as there were a lot of laundry or linen bags outside rooms in the hallway towards our room on 3rd floor. Found 2 bags sitting outside our room upon check in. See the photo i attached.

Room size was ok with a queen size bed and a single bed on the side. Peter Morrisey's bathroom amenities was a surprise and pleased with this. The furniture in the room looks a bit tired old but the bedding setting was modernised.

Unfortunately I found coffee stain on the side of the bedside table, which was clearly visible from where you laying on the bed. Also, there was a dust ball found on top of the toilet near the flusher which should not have been missed by the Room Attendant.

No issues in the room, all appliances worked fine, tea and coffee with biscuits were provided. Mini Bar items were very reasonably priced.

We had a late check out at 12pm with additional cost of $10 ($5 for each hour) so we took our time and relaxed.

Check out was quick with no hassle but again, no warmth in the voice and did not even ask how our stay was etc...

In my opinion, I wouldn't say this is a 4* hotel - I would give it more like a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we make it our goal to provide every guest with a memorable experience.

Whilst I am glad to hear that you found your oom to be comforatble, I am very disappointed to hear about the service that you received both arriving at and departing from the hotel. This is by no means the standard of service that our guests should expect, and I will be following this issue up with the team.

We do hope we can welcome you back through our doors in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    150
    131
    47
    18
See reviews for
98
115
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked Saturday night for a quick getaway but the staff really don't care here we were made to feel like a nuisance and it really lets this place down because otherwise our room was great and the location perfect to enjoy the blue mountains and panthers. The girl who checked us in wasn't very pleasant at all and later on we came past reception and I was going to mention this to somebody else in reception but I was flabbergasted to see both girls on their phones with one laying on the desk and the other one sitting on the desk socialising!! Despite the good location I wouldn't return because the standard of service is offensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we prie ourselves on making every guest's experience with us a memorable one.

I am terribly disappointed to hear about the experience you had when you arrived at the hotel. This level of service is in no way acceptable, and for you to have to experience this I am deeply sorry. I can assure you that this matter will be followed up with the staff members in question.

I would also like to discuss this matter with you further. Can you please contact me at manager.penrith@chifleyhotels.com at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Facilities are mediocre at best, with elevators that are in serious need of maintenance, bordering on dangerous with the jolting. Towels are thin to the point of being translucent (not even close to 4 star standard) and cleanliness at a barest minimum standard. No spare power points in the room. Every single one was in use. My wife accidentally ordered a movie while trying to find out how much they were. She stopped it within 10 seconds of it starting and called reception straight away to get it cancelled and get our $18.95 recredited. 10 minutes on hold, reception couldn't help and put the weekend supervisor on who said they didn't have the authority to put a credit back on our credit card and that no one works on the weekend that can do it. Had no interest in helping and was too busy pointing out that my wife was wrong and was extremely smug about the fact that we had already paid for the room up front so it was bad luck. What ever happened to customer service? It's definitely not at the Chifley. Extremely disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel it is our aim to ensure that every guest's stay is a memorable one.

I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay with us. I am particularly disappointed to hear about the nature of the issues that you faced during your stay, and I would love to talk to you in more depth about this. Please contact me at manager.penrith@chifleyhotels.com so that we may continue this discussion.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had tickets to a show in Sydney and had vowed after staying in the city last time we would never stay there again, so expensive and soo noisy with guests running up and down the hallway knocking on doors at $300.00 per night with a minimum 2 night stay. We were concerned about our trip up the mountains late at night, I decided to book us into Chifley at Panthers. I chose a room with balcony, the hotel tariffs are very reasonable. We arrived at Penrith at 12.45am very tired, to be greeted by freindly helpful staff, we ordered breakfast to the room which arrived right on the time we requested. We had a great nights sleep, very quiet in a very clean room.
We will be making this our half way stop whenever returning to the top of the Blue Mountains.

Room Tip: if your like me and need that fresh air instead of windows that don't open, book a rooom with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we strive to make every guest's stay a memorable experience.

It gives me great delight to read that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one, and we hope that we will be able to welcome you through our doors again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Well it's a hotel that's about the best thing I can say really
Bit run down reception dull infancy all dull position stuck between fast food outlets a small pool bit of a walk away
If your stuck stay there but drive on

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us here at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotelw e aim to make every guest's stay with us a memorable one.

I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay. We do try our best to ensure the hotel is kept vibrant at all times, however in light of your feedback we will again take a look and identify any areas where we can improve this around the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hoel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting family. My husband wanted to stay at a nearby hotel but I wanted something more upmarket. Well its the pub for me next time!
This place is run down and needs a serious overhaul. A lot can be overlooked if the service is good and the price is right. The staff here need to be retrained or sacked and new people hired. It began from the time we started our booking with them messing it up and we could not find one friendly, helpful or professional person to deal with. The rooms are old and run down. The manager assures me that the rooms are being updated but they need much more than bed runners and drapes. The price was a bit high fand we dont think the 4 star rating is valid. We can only hope in the future that Chifley can bring the standards up to the level that it advertises and charges for.

Room Tip: get a room away from lifts as they are noisy all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we aim to make every guest's stay with us a memorable one.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay withu us. We are in ongoing talks with the hotel owners about the final stage of the hotel refurbishment, which will see the rooms in question be given upgraded furnishings and fittings.

We do hope we can welcome you back through the doors of the hotel one day in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights in an Executive Courtyard Room. Gave us extra space, but a bit disappointed in view thru slats of fence onto roadway. Stay in apartments quite extensively, and find this very expensive accommodation for what is provided. Good points, played golf, very close to course, having the Panthers club is another plus for dinner and drinks, and even were able to walk to Penrith Mall to movies. But my main complaint, is what justifies the hotel to charge those fees for what is supplied.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to make very guest's stay with us a memorable one.

I am pleased ot hear there were a number of enjoyable aspects to your stay. I am sorry if the room did not quite meet your expectations. Whilst our courtyard rooms are nice and new, their position on the ground floor does hamper the views out towards the mountains.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Address: Cnr Mulgoa and Jamison Rds, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and high-speed WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Penrith, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.