We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst camp ever .... Definitely NOT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelligen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park
Save
You added BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park to your Saves list
Kings Highway, Nelligen, New South Wales 2536, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worst camp ever .... Definitely NOT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We were a bit tentative about staying here after reading previous reviews but it is one of the nicest we have ever stayed at. We were met by the nicest young staff member who told us everything we needed to know, including taking 20 cent coins over for showers. Considering they have to truck their water in, it is not unreasonable to expect people to lay for their water. The cost of the site was $72 for 2 nights and well worth it. There is a terrific camp kitchen, games area for children, immaculately clean and modern amenities, children's swimming pool and separate adults pool.
There is a huge grassy area for children to kick a footy and play on.

Dogs are welcome but are restricted to one area of the park which us a great idea. You may love your dog, but not everyone wants to holiday with them. As the photos show, our powered site is right on the river which includes a beautiful sandy beach area. We are so sorry we can only stay 2 nights this time, but we will definitely come back for a longer stay.

Please come and give it a try yourself, don't take any notice of the lies and spiteful reviews that have been put on trip adviser. People should not be permitted to put such lies on this site. The parks are regularly checked to see if they are up to their usually high rating.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Firstly sorry for not responding earlier, we printed your review and showed it to all our staff. You gave us such a glowing review we just felt great when we read it. It was so refreshing to read your encouraging words of support for our staff, they all work very hard to please all guests.Thank you for choosing our park for your couple of days break. Looking forward to seeing you next tine, when we hope you can stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have stayed a few times here over the last couple of years - in cabin accommodation.

The positives: staff are friendly - never been rude to us. Easy check-in procedure. Cabins have enough car park room for 4m boat plus car. Views of the river are really nice (make sure you get a river front cabin). BBQs on cabin verandahs are very simple to operate, but make sure you watch for the light going out - need to keep it lit. Park is directly opposite a good pub and just down the road from the Nelligen general store that sells some general supplies, take away food, bait etc. Fishing on the river is excellent. Great boat ramp for park customers.

The negatives: Firstly, the most significant drawback is lack of mobile telephone reception. With Batemans bay just 5km down the road and better reception available at the top of Browns Mountain (where nobody lives!) this is a real setback when you need to keep in touch with people. Yes, the park offers wifi - but it is extremely overpriced, hard to use (the webpage keeps you logged in and chews up all of your time!), the wifi reception drops in and out of range and free wifi really should be included in the price with a lack of mobile reception! Secondly, at the time we stayed (early Feb 2014), our cabin had a cockroach problem - which extended from the BBQ to the bedroom. Thirdly, the pool and games room were very tired and outdated - they need a update. The pool was small - and on a hot summer day quickly filled up so there was standing room only. Fourthly, the tables in our room were constantly 'sticky' - cleaning staff seem to be using an incorrect cleaning solution on the wood that was dissolving the lacquer.

In summary - it was ok, the views and location are the saving point for this place. The park really does need an upgrade if it wants to keep winning awards (it won an award in 2008-9 and still keeps a link to it on its website - that was 5 years ago). The park seems to have become a bit complacent - and is now starting to show its age.

Room Tip: Cabins by the river offer the best views and seem to be a bit quieter than cabins on stilts back fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here back in 2009 and we loved it a lot and we recently just got back from a 7 day stay here at big4 Nelligen Holiday park and I didn't enjoy it much.

The kids waterpark gives you a wow factor the first time but then you realise how "outdated" it is. Most parks these days have Wet n Wild type water parks at their resorts. 2 of the features do not work either.

Reception ladies were lovely so that's great I guess but we were angry that there was NO phone reception or internet at all unless you buy internet. It's also a HUGE rip off because for 1 hour it's a little over 7 dollars but you can only use 300mb per day... What of I brought 20 hours for 70 dollars... Total scam. We started to feel cut off from the outside world. Most parks have free wifi.

The main pool is way to small. Yeah back in the 90s it would of being considered "huge" but you can barely dive in, it could use an update.

The cabin had ants in it. We tried to get rid of them but next day ants would appear on the kitchen benches again. The cabin was really clean though which is good. The park is a bit boring to be honest and we won't be coming back here for a while if we ever do come back..

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A lovely park with hidden extra's and issues.
Lovely - on the river with firepit's and lovely creek and mountain views
Hidden extra's - for the high cost of non powered camping (above $80) we were surprised that almost everything in the park had an additional cost! Showers, ALL the games in the games room, Tennis and game activities. The only thing included in your camp fees are the pool and the river!
Issues - the park has no telephone reception (zero), and only limited television reception, the septic tanks often smell and have noisy pumps. While the location is indicative of these issues the price does not reflect the services available. (Frustrating... considering it is only 9km's from the Highway and Bateman's Bay)
Overall, over priced!!! You don't get what you paid for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Camped here early Jan and rang to book in advance. We were advised all cars booked would fit on our two campsites.
1. Campsites are $120 plus $20 per person for any more than 2 people. As we are paying for a piece of grass this seems a little overpriced and was by far the most expensive patch of grass on our trip. Not to mention the extra money per head is completely unreasonable as the campsite is not powered so additional people is hardly a problem.
2. After spending half an hour checking in with the rude lady at service we were pointed in the direction of our camp. We all set up and settled in. We were then asked to move campsites as someone had arrived and wanted to camp in our site. We had a few drinks then were told to move two vehicles because only two vehicles were allowed per campsite. We were not told this. After we said sorry but we have been drinking, the man replied 'who cares, you can move your car there's no police here'. We were camping with an off duty police officer. Not happening.
3. Showers should be included with the expensive patch of grass. Even though it's only 40c for 3 minutes, it's quite the inconvenience as the machine only takes 20c pieces.
4. I'm not staying here again. And I will ensure none of my family and friends do either.
Pleasure doing business with you rude people.
But a great night was had at the Nelligen pub.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great park with good facilities. Great sites with fire pits and creek frontage. Overall a very nice park.
It is such a pity that Pamela at the front desk is just down right rude. She lacks any sort of customer service skills and is miserable and rude. A smile wouldn't hurt when greeting guests. She would prefer to argue and try to blame the guests for the parks computer issues.
The rest of the staff were great.
Pamela's poor customer service and rude attitude will ensure that I don't come back in the future. By the way there are three other big 4's in the area to check out as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great park for the family. Massive oval in the centre of the park and situated on the river. Camping from the river side is a bit of a trek to the amenities but the cabins are in a great position. 2 jumping pillows a pool and a little splash zone so none of the family misses out. Has a pub directly across the road. Wood fire pizzas and a kids play area out the back. Only downside is the coin operated showers. Apart from that great place to stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park

Address: Kings Highway, Nelligen, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nelligen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nelligen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.