We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh. Spoiled by Bonorong. Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Featherdale Wildlife Park

Featherdale Wildlife Park
217 - 229 Kildare Rd | Doonside, Blacktown, New South Wales 2767, Australia
612 9622 1644
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Featherdale Wildlife Park like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$23*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Blacktown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All day FREE Koala encounters.Located just 45 minutes from Sydney and enroute to the heritage listed Blue Mountains National Park, Featherdale Wildlife Park offers the ultimate hands-on wildlife experience. Cuddle up to a Koala at any time of the day at no additional charge. Hand feed a variety of Kangaroos and Wallabies. Meet reptiles, Dingoes, Wombats, a giant Saltwater Croc, Tasmanian Devils and a variety of bird species that would astound the keenest bird enthusiast. Bring a BBQ lunch and spend the day or, if you're on a tight itinerary, grab a quick bite at the newly renovated cafe.Featherdale provides free coach and car parking. Disabled parking and amenities are available. The Park is wheelchair friendly with level gravel pathways throughout. A souvenir centre offers a range of Aussie souvenirs.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Eh. Spoiled by Bonorong. Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Featherdale was ruined by Bonorong wildlife park. This simply wasn't as clean and it wasn't nearly as welcoming either. We did get some quality Koala time but there were few kangaroos and everything else felt like a cheap zoo. It was a $100+ AUD cab ride each was from downtown Sydney which also put more sting into it.

If you're in Sydney and this is your only chance to see kangaroos and Tasmanian devils, go here. If you will be in Port Douglas or Hobart, skip it entirely.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    182
    43
    8
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“I wish I could have stayed here all day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Featherdale was the first stop on our EcoAdventure Tour. It began as a hospital for injured animals and then was converted into a wildlife park to help pay for the care of the animals. It was great to be able to get pictures with koalas and feed the kangaroos. I love birds and there were so many that I had never seen in my life. We could only spend an hour here but if I lived anywhere near this place, I would have a lifetime membership.

Food for the kangaroos are only $1 a cone. Watch the Emu as she will try to steal the food and when feeding the kangaroos and wallabies, break the cone in pieces as you give the food to the animals. If you give them the cone, your feeding experience is over.

THIS IS A MUST IF YOU ARE IN THE AREA!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome! Better than Taronga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This wildlife park was great! I went with a group of friends, all in our mid-20s and we have a great time! We went to Taronga the next day and it definitely was better! Doesn't beat Lonepine Koala Sanctuary in Brisbane though!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“interactual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place is better and cheaper than going to the zoo and you get to have more interaction with bringing kids along and getting to pet and feed animals which is exciting and fun for everyone :-)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pat a koala and a kangaroo (gently of course)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I seriously love this zoo park even more than Taronga. When I first came to Sydney I really wanted to see a kangaroo and a koala - it was on my list of things to do. When I came here I was so elated. You just walk around and see kangaroos, baby emus, peacocks, chucks, wallabies all just walking about leisurely, not confined. You can pay to feed them and they animals happily come up to you if you've got food in your hand, or you can slowly walk up to them and take amazing photos. I had such a nice time here, they have bats and dingoes, a whole array of birds, and a really cute old tazzie devil. Great place to go with a date or with your family.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherdale Wildlife Park also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Featherdale Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Featherdale Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.