We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food Lovely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margan Restaurant

Margan Restaurant
1238 Milbrodale Road, Broke, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Broke
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Part of the Margan Vineyard, Broke, NSW, Australia
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Beautifully striking entrance. Lovely reception/bar area with picture windows to the cellar door area and stacks of oak casks. Warm welcome - we were offered to relax at the bar, but when we preferred not to, we were promptly and efficiently seated.

Two waitresses were on duty, both charming and efficient, but not overly familiar. Service "comme il faut", attentive but not crawling or hovering, but there if needed. Menu is tapas style (for lack of a better word) and a good selection of entree size servings. The flavours are good, possibly a bit too salty at times and some combinations didn't quite come off, for instance the marinated anchovies were overpowering the delicate seared scallops. In general the chef seems to like a bit of an acidic tang. And then there were bits which were magical: the small serving of (complimentary) Orange sorbet on passionfruit jelly. A flavour explosion with every mouthful.

Our meal was accompanied by wines from the Margan Vineyard which were very enjoyable.

We would certainly return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not really good this time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a family lunch there on Saturday 21 April, 12.30 booking. Sure there was a big group of us, maybe 15, but to wait until 3.30pm for main course (entre was served at 1.30pm) is unforgivable. Apart from that the service was good, but I had the fish which was really quite overcooked and dry and almost, but not quite, inedible (I was quite hungry by that stage!). Very disappoining because when I ate here a few years back, I thought it was really great. So be warned! The views from the terrace are lovely and the gardens great for young children to play (while waiting for their food).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simple and Satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We went to Margan for lunch and sat outside. The service was excellent and we both enjoyed the food. Overlooking the mountains added to the overall experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Beautiful food in a relaxed atmosphere. Great service. Entree portion sizes but you get to choose 3,4 or 5 course options at a set price. It seems expensive at first but well worth it for the quality of food. I would definitely love to go back and try new things on the menu as the seasons change.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter valley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I went to Margan's Restaurant with my partner and another couple, after reading a story in the local paper about this restaurant being very successful in winning some awards recently (which awards exactly has slipped my mind at this present time...)

So we drove out to Broke and found this beautiful winery ... from the moment we stepped out of the car we were gazing around at the well-kept buildings (it's a shame their driveway wasn't given the same attention!). Upon entering we were shown to a table and given a short run-down on the restaurant and the menu. It was quiet, only about six or seven tables taken...which I found strange for a Friday night (although there were two big events on in the local area that weekend, CMC Rocks The Hunter and Tuff Trucks at Milbrodale so that probably explains it). The atmosphere was nice, I thoroughly enjoyed the quiet of the room, and being about to see (mostly) into the kitchen. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even being designated driver couldn't spoil my night!!

The food, while not exactly mind-blowing in my opinion as still very nice and well presented. Don't be fooled by the small servings though, I was considering five mains and then a dessert, but 'settled' for four mains and a dessert- and I was undoing my button by the time dessert came around. Oh, the dessert....whoa! I had the (strawberry?) panna cotta with homemade fairy floss...now THAT was mindblowing! :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margan Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Margan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.