We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitcomb Summit Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitcomb Summit Retreat
Save
You added Whitcomb Summit Retreat to your Saves list
229 Mohawk Trail, Florida, MA 01247 (Formerly Whitcomb Summit Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Florida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights for excellent trail dirt biking in and around Florida. Fortunately, the hotel accommodated my Siberian Husky, Skye. For large party, request room #1. It has 2 king beds and a second room with 2 twin beds.

Cheers

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Whitcomb. It far exceeded my expectations. Our room was very clean and spacious with a spectacular view. I was also impressed by the comfort of our bed. There is a fire pit on the property with plenty of wood which we enjoyed immensely. The tavern served local brewed beer and had a nice bar menu. We met many great folks, everyone was very friendly. Our first night there, Friday, was prime rib night which was absolutely delicious and very reasonable at $10.95! There was a really great blues band on Saturday night. The host Jim and the rest of the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. They catered to our every need and were genuinely happy to do so. We will definately be back. My only regret is that we didn't bring a camera to catch the beautiful sunrise right outside our door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

For a mini vaca we decided to pack up the bike and stay for two nights at this motel to ride around the Berkshires. It was SO nice up there, we booked an extra 2 nights! As everyone else said, the hotel is old but the rooms are super clean: new paint, rugs and tiled bathrooms. Jim (the owner) is a great guy, wants to make sure your stay is pleasant and always has a smile. Everyone on the staff has the same attitude and make you feel "at home". Had great times in the pub and met some friendly "locals". If the hotel wasn't already booked for the weekend, we would have liked to stay longer. We were worried about the "no air-conditioning" because we came during mid summer heat wave. The hotel is high on a summit , so it was cool at night and we had no problems sleeping. It's right on rt 2, but it was set back from the road and the solid construction of the building kept it very quiet. If you are expecting the Ritz, try somewhere else. If you are looking for clean rooms at a motel run by real down to earth people at a very reasonable price, this is definitely the place. Oh by the way, the view from the rooms is pretty good too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Located at a top elevation of the Berkshires, the front window of every room at the Whitcomb Summit offers an incredible panoramic view. Went skiing at Berkshire East while there, just a 12-mile drive away through gorgeous park scenery. The tavern on site offers local drinking company and good hot food accessed by snowmobilers owing to the proximity of the property to groomed trails. A unique and intimate rural setting for those seek refuge in the mountains. Good solid construction of the hotel stood up well to raging cold New England winds for a warm, cozy, terrific winter experence. Will have to return to check it out in other seasons too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter,ri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I have a gluten allergy and was pleasantly surprised when the cook accomidated me by cooking me gluten free food.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We showed up to the Whitcomb Summit nearly 12:30 Halloween night after a 12-hour drive, only to be greeted by Jim the owner and welcomed to the party! Jim catered to our every need--the continental breakfast was sprawling! The rooms are clean and bright, and the morning sunrise and clouds-over-the valley view was spectacular. The cafe/bar area in the office is cozy and always has someone friendly to talk to. Great stay! We'd go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This bright, clean lodging and tavern on top of the summit offers spacious, renovated rooms of a 1970's motel that are clean and comfortable. You really are on top of the world as the sun rises above the mountains to the east. The new proprietors, a historically inclined father-daughter team from Attleboro invigorate the place with events like hayrides around the grounds and Hallloween parties in the formerly dull and drafty tavern. Breakfasts by the wood-burning stove are cheery with full wireless access for those checking e-mails or updating their blogs. A full bar is now available. But even more notable to my mind is the first tourist cabin in New England. It was moved from the hairpin turn a few miles down the road and now the ramshackle structure will be preserved as part of the hotel's future. Big plans to install a new swimming pool, cabins and a full-service restaurant are underway. I admire their energy, warmth and service. A must stay!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitcomb Summit Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitcomb Summit Retreat

Address: 229 Mohawk Trail, Florida, MA 01247 (Formerly Whitcomb Summit Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Florida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Florida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitcomb Summit Retreat is a 19 acre mountain top property consisting of a hotel, restaurant, and cabins. The hotel has recently re-opened under new ownership (June 2013) and was formerly known as the Whitcomb Summit Motel, Restaurant, and Cabins, and also known previously as the Whitcomb Summit Resort. The hotel has been famous for its spectacular 4 state mountain top views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Summit Hotel Florida
Summit Florida
Florida Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitcomb Summit Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.