We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable view for an unbeatable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitcomb Summit Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whitcomb Summit Retreat to your Saves list
Whitcomb Summit Retreat
229 Mohawk Trail, Florida, MA 01247 (Formerly Whitcomb Summit Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Florida B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view for an unbeatable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The view from one's room at Whitcomb Summit Inn really IS as beautiful as the pictures make it. Sunrise is truly stunning.

It's definitely an older motel -- I wouldn't really call it a hotel -- and the gravel parking lot can get muddy when wet. Like the rest of the facilities, the rooms, their furnishings, TV, and towels are a bit worn and showing their age; however, the owners keep everything impeccably clean, so you can definitely sense pride of ownership.

This motel is a spectacular value for larger groups travelling through the Berkshires. Instead of renting 3 rooms in a B&B, rent Whitcomb's 6-person room, store breakfast fixings in your in-room fridge, and enjoy your in-room breakfast in front of the window. Lovely!

Lastly, my attempts to make a (high maintenance) last-minute reservation with Carol was met with promptness and friendliness. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSummit, Owner at Whitcomb Summit Retreat, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last fall and that you got to see our sunrise. We are never tired of seeing the spectacular shows that nature gives us every morning.

We are working on restoring our property and we want to thank you for noticing our efforts to have clean rooms and to sense our pride of ownership.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family next time you are in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

What a beautiful place. This was truly the largest room we had stayed in whilst in the US and the views from the room were truly magnificent. The owner was the perfect host ensuring that we were locating great local restaurants some with discounts for motel residents. We used the motel as a base for exploring the Berkshires each day returning back to see the sunset over a glass (or 2) of wine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a specific size bed. Upper level rooms probably have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I concur completely in the most recent reviews. As the owner put it, the place is "in transition," and portions of the exterior still need work. But don't be put off! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the appliances were in perfect order, the price was reasonable, the proprietor was friendly and helpful, and the views over the adjacent mountains (the motel occupies the highest point on Massachetts Route 2) were among the most spectacular I have ever seen. My wife and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

At first glance, this motel appears to be long past its prime, but the rooms are immaculate and for the price, it can't be beat. The pub unfortunately is closed due to a business dispute, but the owner and his staff, including a resident pooch, couldn't have been friendlier,and more helpful and had some good restaurant recommendations further west on the Mohawk Trail. If you're willing to slum it a bit, the motel is a great value particularly for families traveling on a budget,. Here's hoping the property is refurbished soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

On the outside the place looks a bit rough. HOWEVER, if you let that make your decision for you , you have missed something great. LIke all the other revies the view is outstanding.
The Rooms were VERY clean freshly painted and carpented. The driving force behind this review is the new owner. I have never had a inn keeper work as hard as he does to make things right and confortable. I am sure that my next trip to the area will ensure I stay there and wake up to that view from the front porch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dighton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had three couples on motorcycles traveling the Berkshires. We had planned on staying at the Summit one night. Do to a freak storm with wind, rain, and heavy fog we were stranded. There is currently no restaurant at the Summit so in the morning the owner brought us to town in his vehicle and bought us breakfast. Because of the storm we had to stay an extra night . The owner only charged us half the usual charge.
The Summit is old, but very clean. The rooms are large. The views spectacular. I cannot say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner and his staff in making our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Whatever this owner is doing, he should be applauded! The rooms are newly redone...nicer than the last time I stayed there years ago. Everything WORKS!! New windows..beautiful beds and linens...flat screen..Direct TV....very comfortable. The view from every room is great...as I informed him as we were leaving..we WILL be back..and SOON!!
Just a side note..he has made arrangements with a little Italian restaurant down in North Adams...show your room key, get 10% off your total bill!...Food was a nice surprise.
We plan to make this little gem our little getaway spot.
We wish them continued success...they deserve it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitcomb Summit Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitcomb Summit Retreat

Address: 229 Mohawk Trail, Florida, MA 01247 (Formerly Whitcomb Summit Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Florida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Florida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitcomb Summit Retreat is a 19 acre mountain top property consisting of a hotel, restaurant, and cabins. The hotel has recently re-opened under new ownership (June 2013) and was formerly known as the Whitcomb Summit Motel, Restaurant, and Cabins, and also known previously as the Whitcomb Summit Resort. The hotel has been famous for its spectacular 4 state mountain top views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Whitcomb Summit Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Summit Hotel Florida
Summit Florida
Florida Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitcomb Summit Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.