We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hula grill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hula Grill Kaanapali

Hula Grill Kaanapali
2435 Kaanapali Pkwy, Bldg P1, (on Kaanapali Beach at Whalers Village), Ka'anapali, Maui, HI 96761-1980
+1 808-667-6636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hula grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ate at the Hula Grill twice, once for lunch in the sand bar and once in the dining room. The food was delicious and the mai tais were awesome.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,450
    1,025
    367
    109
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hula is a great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

They accommodated a very large group (35) of us really well. Everyone loved their food which was largely a menu of fresh market available fish and local meat.

Our server Brenda was professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. Busser's and food runners equally great.

Great spot to visit, just make a reservation, it's busy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice position with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had played golf in the morning and were looking for a late lunch within walking distance. The clubhouse staff suggested Hula Grill and we were not disappointed. Service was very prompt and we were seated with a beach frontage table which was great. Our lunch orders of a caesar salad and pulled pork with slaw were tasty, good sized and quite filling. Drinks were good especially the house made lemonade. All up around $50 and well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love the Barefoot Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We love the Barefoot Bar at the Hula Grill. The menu is simple, grilled fish ALWAYS good.
Love the casual beach atmosphere, quick service and Hawaiian music.
The price is reasonable for a fish dinner in Hawaii. Love,love,love it!
Very popular so there may be a wait but usually not too long. You can grab a bar table and order from there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hula Grill Kaanapali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I wish I lived closer. I LOVED LOVED LOVED this place. We had no idea where we were going to eat and ended up saying lets try this. What a great surprise! When walking in everyone said hi and had smile's.The food was fresh and made very well. I don't even like coleslaw and it was delicious. It was a Macadamia coleslaw. I had it was a BLT Flat-bread. Very good. All of our food was wonderful.
We sat outside and it was on the sand. Very relaxing and the view was beautiful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula Grill Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.