We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the sunset, pizza, and live music!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hula Grill Kaanapali

Hula Grill Kaanapali
2435 Kaanapali Pkwy, Bldg P1, (on Kaanapali Beach at Whalers Village), Ka'anapali, Maui, HI 96761-1980
+1 808-667-6636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We loved the sunset, pizza, and live music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a happy hour here during our honeymoon. The drinks were very well crafted, the pizza we ordered was cooked to crispy thin crust perfection, and the live entertainment was much better than most places in the area. The atmosphere was relaxing, calm, and beautiful. The food is always good here at Hula's and the service has always been dependable as well. We will continue to come back and enjoy this great restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,450
    1,025
    367
    109
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our group of 4 was seated as soon as we arrived, 5 minutes before our reservation time. The place was packed, but our drink order was taken immediately. All 4 of us really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Dessert (the HG Ice Cream Sandwich) was wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch, tired after snorkeling at black rock up the beach. Lava drink was good, waitress was spot on by recommending an extra shot of rum to stiffen it up. Fish and chips came with an excellent sweet and sour sauce, better than typical tartar would have been in the heat. Live music and seating in the sand fit the bill for a nice afternoon in Kaanapali.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good lunch with a view in Barefoot Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped into Hula Grill for a late lunch, and were seated downstairs in the Barefoot Bar. What a view of the Pacific! The service was just okay, but the food was solid. My wife had the grilled fish sandwich, and I had the Hula cheeseburger. Both were quite good.

For dessert, she ordered the pineapple upside down cake and I had the homemade ice cream sandwich. Both were highlights of the meal. I subbed out the chocolate sauce in place of their homemade caramel rum sauce, and I'm glad I did. Both desserts were big enough to share and they were both great.

Validated parking in Whaler's Village is available. Not sure we'd come back for dinner necessarily, but we're glad we stopped in for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon and evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came across Hula Grill while exploring Whaler's Village and the beach. We heard the live music and decided to head in for some drinks and a few nibbles. The staff were very attentive and we were seated quickly at an excellent table in the sand (barefoot bar) close to the music. The atmosphere was fantastic, we watched the sunset and listened to the band while digging our toes into the sand - perfect. Drink specials were great and they didn't skimp on the alcohol content! We ordered a few starters to share as we weren't really that hungry - the ribs were delicious! The salad was good and the coconut calamari was yum. Just what you want for a few casual bites. We decided to stay and have some dessert as we were having such a lovely time - the ice cream sandwich was enormous and so indulgent (yum)! My husband had the coconut creme brûlée served in a pineapple which he didn't share! So it must've been pretty good :) everything ordered arrived at our table quickly and prices were reasonable. We would definitely dine here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula Grill Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.