We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service great food great sunset view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke's Beach House

Duke's Beach House
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Unit # 19, Ka'anapali, Maui, HI 96761
808 662-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Beach House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Honoapiilani Hwy
Description: Located just steps from the sand, our striking open-air restaurant offers sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean along Kaanapali North Beach at the Honua Kai Resort and Spa. Fresh, locally sourced ingredients are featured throughout the breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. In keeping with the tradition of the Duke’s restaurants in Hawaii and California, Duke’s Beach House boasts a casual, nostalgic ambiance honoring the great Duke Kahanamoku.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service great food great sunset view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I went here on a Sunday night while on vacation in Maui and had a great meal. The order took a long but then the waiter brought the Mgr. John over to apologize for the delay. He apologized for the long wait explaining that they had done 276 dinners and only lost one ticket--- ours. He then asked us to come back another night, and gave us $50 toward our next meal there. We came back a couple nights later where he greeted us right away, seated us at a great table withe a great view, and we had the best dinner ever.I would definitely recommend this fine restaurant for the great food and super attentive service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    662
    284
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Limited menu, over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we thought it was worth trying. We were disappointed. The waiter was attentive, but the food was a huge let down. The menu was very limited and the portions didn't match the prices. We tried a variety of meals, but no seafood which seems to be their specialty. Not sure it's worth a second try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Poor service let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We ate hear twice on our holiday in Maui. Our impression was that the food was reliably good but the service unreliable and occasionally unprofessional.

Food: I started with the panko-crusted calamari which was crisp, flavoursome and not at all chewy. It was served with a lovely sauce. My main course was the fish special which was two different types of Hawaiian fish served with vegetables. This was also very well executed.

Service: A notable point was that we had just begun eating our starters when a waiter arrived attempting to deliver our main courses. He was a bit confused about what to do and wanted to just leave our main courses on the table while we finished off our starters. Of course we asked that he return with the main courses when we had finished our starters, which did happen but my fish main course was dry and not piping hot indicating that it had been sitting around in view of the restaurant’s mistake in timing. We politely made our waitress aware of this mistake but she did nothing to apologise or reassure that the issue had been rectified.

Overall we found the service in Duke’s to be insincere and unprofessional. However if you can see through that, or service is not something you care too much about you should enjoy the food and the beach-front location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great food, sunset, service, etc. Everything was outstanding, this is the place to either start or end your Hawaiian vacation. They have a sampler menu, where the price is $25. Great deal, get appetizer, entree and desert. Great way to save a bit and still have the great food. Local fish dishes were outstanding. Location on Kaanapali was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a great place on the ocean. The food is great but a little pricey, but hey you are on vacation right? Seafood is delicious and so is their famous dessert!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Beach House also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.