We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Lodge to your Saves list
Shore Lodge
25597 Coastal Boulevard, Onley, VA 23418 (Formerly Best Value Inn Onley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onley
Onancock, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If you like...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you like a room that smells heavily of beer vomit and old smoke, if you like the plumbing broken, if you like a rug that is larded with filth, if you like navy polyester knit bedsheets and plastic matress pads - you are going to love Shore Lodge. We had paid for a week, non returnable, and left after one night. And happy to be gone. For $11 more, you can go half mile north to the very normal and clean Quality Inn. Run!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have been to this hotel and I must say the people who work there are very friendly and very helpful..The rooms are very clean...I just saw the review from someone in 2007, new managers are running the place now, I would recommend this place to my friends and family, very reasonable rates too..The best thing is they accept pets, and I must say my pets are my family so where I go they go....Enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin,md
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I needed a room for 3 nights and found this place to be very nice,the owners explained that they had just recently took over the place and in the past it had some rumors about the place being not very nice,the room was very clean and had everything i needed and even though they were just about booked up its was very quite and clean and was always someone in the office,i locked myself out twice and there was always someone there to let me in and they didnt even charge me for it,i saw the review from 2007 and this is def not the same place i would recommend this place to anyone who doesnt want to over pay for a chain hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

We would have been better off to keep on driving.... We got caught in a storm during our drive down from NY to the Outer Banks and needed a place to stay, which also accepted dogs. Several other motels/hotels we stopped at would not accept the dog, so when this place said yes we were very happy. The room was not even fit for our dog though. It was incredibly filthy and run down. We slept in our clothes and put sweatshirts over the pillows because of the filth on the bedding. The lock on the door did not work and therefore I was very happy our dog was with us. The other guests were very loud and through the paper thin walls we had to hear cussing and screaming until about 3am in the morning. Upon check out the next morning I informed the manager on duty and he did not make any notion that he wanted to correct the situation - as if this was normal. For the price - $71.40 plus $10 for a dog - this was a horrible and expensive experience . Not reccommended.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Lodge

Address: 25597 Coastal Boulevard, Onley, VA 23418 (Formerly Best Value Inn Onley)
Location: United States > Virginia > Onley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onley
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Shore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Lodge Onley, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.