We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your basics- very friendly and warm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilma's Patio

Wilma's Patio
203 Marine Ave, Newport Beach, Balboa Island, CA 92662-1203
949-675-5542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“your basics- very friendly and warm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I got a new server (3 days on the job) very sweet, but he certainly had a tough time with my order- though we had to work at it- the rest of the staff kicked in to high gear and in the end, I got just what I wanted. Food was standard sandwiches and burgers. Nothing amazing. The staff was great- the location and cute little home were also nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    42
    39
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newport beach, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Maybe you have to wait a few minutes, but the menu and the vibe are so worth it. Delicious food will have you feeling full! Our family loves Wilmas.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good place for families or picky eaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Two great things about Wilma's Patio: First the menu is very extensive. If you can't find something you like in their multi-page menu, you have issues. (You might have issues anyway, but that's beside the point.) Second, the servers are very honest and responsive. Just ask them what's good today and what to avoid and they will be very straight forward with you. Service is also quite fast. One item most tourists miss at Wilma's, is the historical significance of the building. This is the site of the original Jolly Roger and the timbers of the original Balboa Island bridge were used in it's construction. Ask a server to point them out to you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just had a great Brunch at Wilma's, though Balboa is a clear Tourist spot this days, the mix of people is local and tourist this creates a very nice atmosphere. All the staff is very friendly and the food is great with nice different own creations.
You will not be disappointed!!
Visited May 18, 2013.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not fussy but lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I took my group of seniors to Balboa Island for a day of fun on the ferry, lunch and shopping! We were going to first eat lunch at a cafe nar the ferry. Unfortunately, they were closed (at the last minute) for remodeling. Our next plan, ride the ferry first and then hit fun Marine Ave for food and shopping (tons of both). I called Wilma's to see if they could accommodate our group. No problem! Lunch turned out great. We were seated in back, enclosed patio. Two waiters (that were still working other tables) came in and quickly took over. Drinks right away, crackers to munch on, and then took all of the orders. Our group loved the cod fish & chips, 1/2 sandwich and soups and especially the salads. The crazy salad is full of meat, cheese and fresh greens. For the Island, the prices were very reasonable with generous portions. Many shared so that they would have room for a yummy Balboa tradition...a frozen banana! Thanks Wilma's for a fun outing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilma's Patio also viewed

Balboa Island, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Balboa Island, Newport Beach

Been to Wilma's Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilma's Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.