We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmetto Guesthouse to your Saves list
Palmetto Guesthouse
128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrio Flamenco, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at Palmetto Guesthouse from April 8th-10th 2014. Susan was a wonderful host and very helpful in explaining all the ins/outs of Culebra and helping in anyway possible. The house itself is conveniently located within walking distance of the airport (she provides fre pickup and drop off for both the airport and ferry). As others have said the house itself is small as are the rooms, but they provide all you need for Culebra. The rooms were spotless as were the two communal kitchens. They provide you with bath towels, beach towels, beach coolers and chairs to take with you while you are there. Each room also comes with a refrigerator which is handy for late night drinks. I would definitely recommend renting either a golf cart or car (we rented a golf cart and it was an absolute blast) which you can park right out front of the house. This allows you to truly see all the parts of the island and not spend half your vacation walking around. Culebra is truly an amazing place and hard to put into words.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I can't thank Susan and Paul enough for literally saving our vacation. Our accommodations on main island of Puerto Rico did not pan out. I called Susan and she helped us find a single night accommodation on the mainland until we could advance our air transportation to Culebra. She was able to take us in two days early. That was just the begining of our wonderful stay at Palmetto Guesthouse. The Palmetto is darling. From the moment you walk through the gate you feel at home. The rooms are clean, well decorated, and you have access to two kitchens and the cutest relaxing garden space. Palmeto is just a few blocks from the airport, but Susan is there with the big red truck to pick you up. Culebra is so easy to get around with a golf cart. There are several companies that also have jeeps and scooters. Parking was easy outside the Palmetto gate. The location is great. You can easily walk to a store, and several dining choices. We went to El Batey twice. Barbara Rosa's is a unique dining experience, great food and an extremely casual calm atmosphere. Snorkling gear, coolers, beach chairs and towels are provided. Susan keeps ice for purchase. We had a very special request for some local sailing information and Susan hooked us up with several grand resources. I just cannot say enough good things about Palmetto Guesthouse and Susan and Paul Moran.

Room Tip: Bouglevillia Room was great in the back of the house. Definitely get motorized transportation to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Paul and Susan, the owners, have a fantastic place. We stayed four nights and loved it. They bring down coffee and hot fresh baked scones each morning. The rooms are small, but the communal kitchens (kept spotless) and sitting areas more than make up for it. They also have a computer with hi-speed internet for guests' use and free ferry dock/airport pick up.

The guesthouse is an easy 10 minute walk into town and there is a small market just three minutes away. The best beaches (Flamenco, Tamarindo, Melones) are 2 miles away and we found it easy to hitchhike to them each day. Dick and Cathie's Bikes will also deliver good quality mountain bikes to you for $20/day. Capt Sebastian will take you over to Culebrita Island (a great day trip!) for $50 round trip. He also provides free beach umbrellas, snorkel gear, and water guns for kids.

Paul and Susan also are a wealth of information for things to do and places to eat. I highly recommend a stay with them!

Room Tip: All the rooms can be a bit noisy due to the roosters all over the island. The rooms all have fans a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I read thru the recent reviews and not sure I have much to add but concur. Susan and Paul are accompanying, welcome, and fun. I too stayed in Frangipani and also found it pretty tight. They do have. Admitting room, and two small kitchens so it's not hard to cook your own food. They are wonderful hosts. Also enjoyed a day of sailing with Paul, catered by Michi. Very enjoyable. Walking distance to town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We loved our stay at Palmetto and we would not hesitate to come back.

Susan, the hostess picked us up, and dropped us off at the ferry. The room was very clean and comfortable (with good AC). We were able to cook our own meals in the kitchen shared by all guests. We had access to free snorkeling equipment, and were 2 minutes walking from the golf cart rental place. This meant that we were able to go snorkeling on our own without having to purchase a group tour. Really worth it!

Again - this is a great choice!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Spotless with Character. The building is keep up well. Nice shower and AC too. The kitchen is very clean and everyone can use it. Paul and his wife treat you like a guest. They will also give you a ride to the airport.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was in Palmetto with my husband on holidays. The guesthouse is very nice and cosy. Susan and Paul are great owners and managers who were very helpful during our 2 days stay. We also sailed with Paul in his yacht and had a terrific sailing day on board and in Playa Tortugas in Culebrita Island.
The only really bad thing was our room (Frangipani), too small, we could hardly move inside. No room to place our luggage. All our clothes, etc, were kept in the bag. Also the A/C of the room outside was just near our room and when it was working was making such a noise that we couldn't sleep.
We were there 2 nights and we really suffer being inside the room. This room must be given to youngsters, it is like a hostel, more than a guestroom.

Room Tip: Try not to choose Frangipani room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmetto Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Guesthouse

Address: 128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrio Flamenco, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palmetto is a small, six-room garden guesthouse located conveniently just up the road from the airport, about one mile from the ferry, town, beach, surf, and dive sites. Each room enjoys a private bathroom and in-room mini-refrigerator, fan and air-conditioning. Many other amenities are available. Owners Paul and Susan Moran look forward to making your stay in Culebra a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palmetto Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.