We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Tropical
72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Molly was such an accommodating host. She picked us up from the airport and drove us around when we didn't have a golf cart for the first few days. She has snorkels, bikes, beach chairs, etc., all free of charge. We shared a kitchenette and this turned out to be such a cost saver. Molly was also kind enough to make us and her other guests a big dinner one night. Grilled fish, delicious salad, and ice cream! Couldn't ask for anything more. She has an adorable dog named Sophie that rides around with her. The A/C was helpful. On rainier afternoons, we relaxed and read in the hammock.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
98
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We loved our stay at Casita Topical! Molly is a very helpful host and super sweet:)
Comfy beds, nice rooms, and a quiet location. We would definatly stay here again!

Room Tip: A/C, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

When we arrived at Culebra, it was pouring, but Molly helped us make the best of the first night. Our room huge and clean and well ventilated. There was no need for A/C. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom had everything that you could possibly need. I will definitely stay at Molly’s Casita Tropical again, and recommend the same room to anyone traveling to the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just returned from my 3rd visit at Casita Tropical! And once again it was fantastic!

This was the first time we rented our own transportation and let me tell u what -- it was WELL WORTH IT!!! I had opted for the golf cart rental right across the street from the airport instead of a jeep. To me, the island is so laid back that a golf cart just seemed fitting and it truly was! I will never go back to culebra without having one!!! Being able to come and go as we pleased, running to the store for snacks and drinks, as well as hitting up great sunset & snorkeling locations was a huge bonus!! Plus Molly can be busy at times and it was just so much easier this way. We even made it to Zoni beach on our golf cart -- parking at the top of one of the steeper hills and walking the rest of the way. We had the best time yet and it's partially due to the golf cart rental.

Our rooms was clean as always and it's so nice having towels provided for both beach and bath! Plus having your own fridge is a god send considering how warm that carribean sun is!!

Also this time we made sure to book flights well in advance using Vieques Air Link and it was SO much better than the long ride to the ferry and not to mention the ferry ride ((can be crowded and feels like a waste of a whole day)).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Casita Tropical was really made great by Molly ,the owner, not only did she suggest where to go but frequently took us on her golf buggy or van. She had bikes, snorkels etc which one could just borrow for the day, free of charge and basically wanted to help everybody have a good time.
When i return to Culebra i will return.

thanks

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

First off staying here is a deal because she will will pick you up from the ferry or airport and drop you off at either as well even if its at 6 am and Molly didn't even wince at the early time. You don't have to rent snorkel gear or beach gear or bikes and there is a little kitchen area and fridge so you can get groceries and cook if you would like. She suggested great places to see what we wanted to see and drove us early so we could see sea turtles even though it was not Flamenco Beach (which is the one spot you get a ride to).

Our room was comfy, we had an air conditioner and a noise machine for the roosters in the morning which didn't matter because we woke up early to do activities anyways. Our shared community space was nice and we didn't feel uncomfortable and the hammock was great! We found the walk into town pretty short 15 minutes and asked to borrow a flashlight for the walk back, its a safe town and everyone seems to keep their doors unlocked and are very trusting. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Casita Tropical!

Molly is an amazing host, and extremely helpful as all the other reviews mentioned. She was always happy to give me a lift, whether to the beach, or in to town (taxi back is only $3/person). On a slow night, when most of the restaurants were closed, she went out of her way to cook a delicious dinner for all the guests - how awesome is that?! In addition, my room was spacious, and very clean.

I had an amazing time while in Culebra, and it wouldn't have been the same had i stayed somewhere else....thank you so much Molly!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casita Tropical to your Saves list