We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run, do not walk away from this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Costa bonitaBeach Resort Carr. 250 Km. 1.8, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Run, do not walk away from this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Boring, employees who do not show up, some that do don't bother to work. Filthy floors in room, no towels, tv broken, restaurant rarely open. With the exception of Mundo, Giavoni, Simon & the sweet little girl bartender, the other employees are not there & do not work when they are. No beach, no activities, no fun. Ladies, beware of the Cuban man who tried to come to my villa with beer to entertain me!! Taxi drivers will rip you off to get a ride to town, it's not worth their time unless you have a group. It was a relief to get out of there! Disorganized & dull. Worst trip I've ever taken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    29
    39
    63
See reviews for
70
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

1. It's located on the other side of the island, you are isolated, and there are no places to eat, you basically have to get a jeep/golf cart to go anywhere, because nothing is of walking distance. Also, to drive from Sea Breeze to Flamenco Beach or down town takes about 15-20 minutes, even though this is a very small island, the roads are narrow and the speed limit reaches a max of 35 mph.

2. The 0.15 mile path to the hotel is full of pot holes, so you need to drive very very very slowly.

3. Food here sucks--by that i mean portions are small, prices are expensive and you have to wait a long time for your food and for your bill.

4. The rooms are full of mosquitoes, you need to either wear bug spray to bed, or make sure all the mosquitoes in your room are dead before you go to bed.

5. There are roosters outside of each building and they crow every morning starting at 7-9am, so you won't be getting any sleep at all. I don't understand why there are roosters all over the place at a resort, by anyway, you get the point.

6. The pool does not open until 2pm.

7. We booked our 4-day stay through an online deal, and receive a 15% discount off from dinner, but the waitress forgot to apply the discount, even thought we put the discount card on top of the credit card. She came back and told her we can use it at our next visit, but when we went to the bar for breakfast the next day, and tried to use discount, the bartender told us it was only applicable on the restaurant. We also got two free drinks from the online deal, so we ordered pina coladas with rum, the bartender asked if we prefer bacardi or don q which was nice of her, but when we got our drinks, they tasted like there was no rum in it.

I hope this helps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When we arrived at the Sea Breeze Hotel in Culebra PR we had to wait in line for a half hour until the only employee was available received us. I made my reservations 2 months before I arrived because I needed special arrangements because I'm handicapped. The employee searched but found not special arrangements. So he did what he could, he gave me a far away "Villa" but with no stairs. We had to wait in the swimming pool until the Villa was available, the guest didnt made the check out on time, so we opened the suit cases and went swimming. When we finally arrived at the room, there was no Kitchener, no coffeemaker, no telephone,no towels in the bath room. and no tv.Of course the only employee available (front desk) offered to no charge for the extra adult because we had no tv.
Later that night the same employee (front desk) arrived in a golf car(he was also doing the laudry) at my Villa with towels. He told me to go to the lobby to look for the air matress for the extra adult. The swimming pools at the hotel are big and they have a bar inside the pool, and a jacuzzi. One on the employees that was blowing the grass that other man was cutting started to insult in spanish one of the guests because she asked him to stop blowing the grass ultil she finished her cell phone call. I was embarased besause my girls were at the swiming pool with me. I had to tell the man to stop his bad language lessons
The facilities, rooms and location are amazing. Culebra is an Island of natural Beauty. Flamingo beach is awsome. The cleanigness of the water and the sand are out of this world and is very close to the Sea Breeze and the culebra airport.
The piñas coladas at the main bar are awesome, try them.
I have to say the only employee in the front desk is very kind and works very hard to please the clients.
The Sea Breeze has great potential. I want to visit again hope they have tvs and towels in the room...and of course not the hear any bad words from the employees

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good place with quality rooms if you can withstand Mosquitos that are common in Culebra. Besides the lack of hotel personnel to attend you all was good. Be prepared to eat at specific times because other times the kitchen is closed. You might end up eating somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The place is awesome, rooms are nice and clean and service is dedicated. Food is great quality and facilities are inviting. Altough they need more personnel, all employees are extremely welcoming and nice especially Darelys at the restaurant, Victoria in the front desk and the guys at the pool bar. Thanks for a great stay. Hope to be back...
As a tip, if you go bring your own car

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurabo, PR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Letter sent to their Management as we as a puertorican couple want to show our visitors and tourists that "Puerto Rico Does it Better":
Pros
1) The place is awesome and the ocean view of Ensenada Bay is spectacular. Besides, the beaches in Culebra (Flamenco and Zoni) are listed as the most beautiful in the world, and accessible in few minutes drive.
2) The staff; Supervisors, waiter, waitresses, Chef, housekeeping, Security, excellent! They have a great sense of Customer Service.
3) Jeeps can be rented at walking distance from the Airport. Two excellent Air Lines; Vieques Air Link and Air Flamenco.

Cons
1) The access road to the Hotel is quite deteriorated and there is no illumination during nights. The Goverment and the landlord should reach into an agreement to fix this.
2) The food is not "All inclusive". Some goodies are not included, like seafood, soup, desserts. We do not understand why living in an island having seafod on the menus is so difficult.
3) The bar and dining facilities are open to nature's beauty, however electric insectocutors are highly recommended in addition to the Citronella lamps.
4) Visitors need to bring insect repellent, in the afternoons the villas are full of regular mosquitoes from the little Bay, although not harmful.

Beda Ortiz and Ramon Cardona

Room Tip: Building 7 and the one besides it are the best! Super view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed from August 11 - 13. I bought the all inclusive offer which is all what the decided to offer you. According the confirmation rooms were equiprd with TV. Guess what? No TV were available. When i went to the front desk to address the issue the front desk supervisor told me that the TV was mention in the confirmation but that I really didnt needed. People we were during the final days of the Olimpics game and The guest is who decide what he likes or not to do .
Breakfast all inclusive was a lie. They served my wife breakfast and mine in one plate!!!!! The offer for all inclusive
breakfast included fruits and cereal but Any of those items were available.
When you ask the employees about the missing items they response that they ran out and never go back to your table ignoring you.
During the dinner they offer you 2 options but when i order they told me that they ran out of the second option.
The service is horrible because they dont have enough personnel to give a good service and when you ask them they dont have any answers. Its seems like they arent allowed to tell how bad is the hotel administration.
The only good thing is the hotel view and the pool.
The best day I had is when I rented a Jeep a got out of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: Costa bonitaBeach Resort Carr. 250 Km. 1.8, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful condo-hotel built in 2004 and opened as a hotel in October 2011 with ocean view suites from virtually every room. We are most commonly know for the best pool, ocean views and By far, the best Air conditioning. The suites managed by the hotel have the highest standards in cleanliness, maintenance and furnishing and offer amenities with a pool bar, A/C restaurant, ocean front dining, private dock, kayaking and paddle boarding.We also offer excelent convinence store and great grab and go local food. We are a green oriented hotel and due to the lack of resources in the island we offer bi-daily housekeeping, but our front desk will gladly replace towels or sheets or full housekeeping upon request. We also offer cable tv in all our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.