We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of the True Caribbean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Robinson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Robinson to your Saves list
Casa Robinson
H-10 Bo La Romana | PO BOX 244, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Taste of the True Caribbean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a great stay at Casa Robinson (late April / early May). If you're looking for a plush mega resort, this isn't the place for you. If you want a taste of true Caribbean living, this is the place to go.

Casa Robinson is located at the top of a hill overlooking Ensenada Honda. The views from the entire property are fantastic - I had a room on the top floor, room 6, but I believe 7 and 8 also share the same space just around the corner (on the same balcony).

The location of the guest house was perfect - a two minute drive to the airport, five minutes to the center of town, about ten to fifteen minutes to Flamenco/Tamarindo beaches and maybe 25-30 minutes to Zoni on the other side of the island (this is all golf cart time).

The rooms were basic, but had everything you could possibly need - a bed, a small table, and a couple of chairs. The best thing about staying at Casa Robinson is the kitchenette which includes a fridge with enough room to store whatever you might pick up at one of the local grocery stores.

There is a great deal of care taken with the cleanliness of the rooms and the maintenance of the property (this was one of the first things I noticed right away) - it's obvious to see how passionate Mr. Robinson is about this place.

There is almost always a comfortable breeze blowing in off the bay if you want to keep the windows open, otherwise, the AC works so well that I had to turn it down or off on a few occasions. You can also expect to be woken up by the local roosters in the morning just as the sun is rising over the hillside - this was no problem as it was a great way to get an early start on the day to enjoy the island.

Mr. Robinson is a very friendly host, always willing to chat but never intrusive. He's more than willing to provide whatever room supplies might be needed - we changed our towels a few times during the week since we spent most of the day on the sandy beaches.

This was my second stay on Culebra (first at Casa Robinson). There's really no reason to stay anywhere else as Mr. Robinson has created a true gem with this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

It's hard to explain just how fabulous it was staying at Casa Robinson. The view is indescribable..the best on the island. Mr. Robinson is extremely kind and knowledgable about the island. We stayed in room 7 and the room was plenty big, the bed was very comfortable, and the mini kitchen had everything we needed. The bathroom was clean and had soaps and plenty of towels...we even had beach towels in our room. Room 7&8 are right next to each other and share an extremely large balcony with a gorgeous view of the bay. There was an outside table and chairs on the balcony as well. Mr. Robinson lives on the second floor, so any time we needed anything or had a question about the island we just went down stairs and he was always more than happy to help us. Everyone on the island was so kind and friendly. Casa Robinson is close to everything. Down the road is a small grocery store where we stocked up on water bottles before heading to Zoni or Brava beach. There was plenty of parking at Casa Robinson. There are roosters everywhere on the island so you do hear them in the morning, however, if you have the windows shut and the A/C on you'll sleep peacefully and won't hear a thing. The A/C was very quiet and cold. The first few nights it was a little windy and there was a great breeze that came in the 2 windows. The airport is about a mile away but the noise was not overwhelming at all. Every evening when we returned back to our room a white/black/brown cat was resting on the balcony...it was like having a friendly pet on vacation! Everyone that goes to Culebra falls in love with the island. We will definitely be back and always stay at Casa Robinson. If I could give it 100 stars I would!!!!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a nice size balcony and the best view on the island...hands down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Close to everything, is 2 minutes from the airport and 3 from Charlie's Car Rental. Spectacular view. Very clean and affordable price. The rooms are spacious. . He has 2 hammocks and a grill outdoors.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great place for an affordable price. We stayed there for a night and couldn't have asked for more. The location was great and the rooms were tidy and spacious. The host took great care of us and even gave us a ride to the flamenco beach a couple of times. We highly recommend this place to anyone going to Culebra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was really excited to stay at Casa Robinson given all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. So let me start by talking about the pros. The property itself is in a great spot - it sits on a hilltop and the views are incredible. There is always a breeze and a beautiful sunrise every morning. It's also close to town driving distance a few blocks away. Yes, it's in a neighborhood so there's roosters, cars, airplane noise...etc. but I think this comes with the territory and actually part of the charm of the place.

Unfortunately, there were quite a few things that didn't make our stay ideal. First of all, the property needs some serious updating. We couldn't keep our windows by the bed and bathroom open because the screens had (big) holes in them and when we did, we had a serious roach problem. Cleanliness was an issue - I understand there is no maid service at CR, but it would have been helpful to have supplies to clean our room since we were there for a longer stay (a broom? garbage bags?) When we asked the owner for a broom and some Raid, he acted like it was no big deal and really wasn't very helpful or concerned.

A little TLC at this place could go a long way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casarobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Robinson, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I am sorry to hear your stay with us at CasaRobinson was not what you expected. I have read your inputs and we will fix the issues you have pointed out. We hope you visit us next time and we will make sure your stay with will be a pleasant one.

Thank you

Aileen Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Casa Robinson offers spectacular views of Culebra Bay right from your front door. Mr. Robinson is a wonderful host and he lives right in the property. Casa Robinson is 2 minutes from the airport and 3 from Charlie's Car Rental. Mr Robinson drove us to Flamenco Beach after we checked in and gave us tips and pointers that made our stay in the Island better. Our room had a queen size futton and a queen side bed; it was very clean. The small refrigerator and the coffee maker are great, and there are utensils and dishes in the cabinets. The bathroom has simple amenities; you are better off bringing your own. He has 2 hammocks and a grill outdoors. Neighbors were quiet !

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are at the bottom, first floor, and both have a great view from the balcony without hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our stay at Casa Robinson was awesome. We felt so at home! The owner, Elias Robinson, went above and beyond to make our stay in Culebra the most pleasant. Very clean guesthouse, very friendly atmosphere, very courteous staff, and of course, the stunning view of Ensenada Bay. I watched the most beautiful sunrise laying on a hammock. If you visit Culebra, I strongly recommend Casa Robinson!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Robinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Robinson

Address: H-10 Bo La Romana | PO BOX 244, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Robinson is family owned. La Casa Robinson is situated on a hilltop overlooking Culebra Island. The view extends as far as the US Virgin Island of St. Croix and the 'other' Spanish Virgin, Isla de Vieques! Many terraces invite you to linger, enjoy the view, have a barbecue or take a nap in a hammock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Robinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Robinson Hotel Culebra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Robinson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.