We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Snorkeling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos Rosario Beach

Carlos Rosario Beach
Isla De Culebra, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Culebra
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We went snorkeling here at 8am and it was awesome! Nobody was out there yet for the day so it was undisturbed and the reef is awesome. Did not see any sea turtles but IMO it's really worth it to go there just for the reef. Best on the island.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beach hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

this is a great beach,its about a 22 min walk from the back of the parking lot at flamenco beach,you will see a gate with a chain on it,this is just to keep cars out not pedestrian traffic,great hike worth it when you get to the beach,good snokling too !

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“my favorite snorkeling on Culebra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've been snorkeling here since 1996, and never get tired of the coral formations. there is a nice sandy beach also, less crowded than nearby Flamenco Beach. Easily accessed by boat also. Thereare moorings if you are on a private boat, or take a day trip with the local dive shop or an excursion boat. Be careful of the current off the point. Bring your own food and beverage, or pick it up at Flamenco Beach before heading down the path from the parking lot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not a lot of people at this beach. Great snorkeling area, not a great beach for swimming. 30 minute walk in from Flamenco Beach, was not too bad.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hike was tough at the hottest part of the day (and lugging our snorkeling gear). You have to go through the locked metal gate where the sign warns "PELIGRO!" and then walk 25 minutes or so up a dirt path and down the other side of the hill. Keep going - it's worth it! The middle part of the lagoon is sandy and shallow. There is a coral "wall" circling the lagoon that is mostly too close to the surface to swim on top of. Our tipster suggested we swim around the edge. We saw lovely fish and a stingray. We have heard of turtles here, but did not see any. The beach has no bathrooms or amenities, but you can park at Flamenco beach.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Rosario Beach also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carlos Rosario Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos Rosario Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.