We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Boheme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Boheme
Save
You added Villa Boheme to your Saves list
368 Calle Fulladosa, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Culebra B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“We had a great time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We loved to stay at Villa Boheme! The location is perfect to experience the charm of the village. The waterfront patio was very beautiful and we spent most of our time there, enjoying the view and getting to know interesting people. DiDi you are a heart warming person, stay as you are! Rico, thank you for a nice chat and the refreshing grapefruit juice :)
Except from enjoying the patio at Villa Boheme we recommend going to the conga night (on Saturdays, close to Villa Boheme) and try some food at the street grill of José (just ask for him, you will find him).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Rooms were simple and clean and the staff was kind. There is a fabulous terrace with tables, hammocks, lounging areas and it's right on the water. I would use the kitchen for breakfast and making sandwiches for lunch--eat out for dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking on visiting Culebra you have to stay at Villa Boheme. From day one to our last one our staying was amazing at this club house. DiDi picked us up from the airport and she is one of the funniest and nicest person you ever met. Lucy which is the front desk lady was amazing and super sweet all the days that we stayed. The bar next to it is call Dingy Dock super great and convenience. My friends and I will definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First of all the photos didn't do the room justice - they were way better than I expected. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms, furniture and layout. I was comfortable for sleep at night. I didn't spend any time in our room because there was so much to see on the island. Literally the room was a place to crash and burn. The showers were okay, water needed some time to warm up, but the location was so worth the poor water pressure. Due to the central kitchen this would be a perfect place for a large family to stay. Everyone could have their own rooms/privacy and meet back in the kitchen to cook & prepare meals. They have all necessary utensils for food preparation. We were in walking distance to the small town square and (2) grocery stores & next door to Dingy Bar. If you are lucky enough to be there on Saturday the entertainment(Bongo performer) was amazing. The locals(mostly transplants from US) were so accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I arrived at Villa Boheme on 3/31/143 after a short flight to Culebra from Isla Grande airport in San Juan. We caught a taxi from the aiport with another couple and the driver dropped us off first. The fair was $6. The front of the property actually faces the harbor. There are two arched gates on the street. If you pass through either gate you can make your way to the office by walking toward the water and going to the right. A nice lady named Lucy checked us in and we went up to your room which was room 11. This room is considered the honeymoon suite. It comes with its own private balcony overlooking the harbor, as well as a fairly well equipped kitchen. The kitchen included a small full sized refrigerator, two burner induction cooktop, toaster oven and microwave. The room was equipped with a king size bed, a futon, a bar height table with 3 stools and flat screen TV with satellite service.

The bathroom looked like it had recently been updated with beautiful gray tile and a basin sink. It was kind of funny though, how they had outfitted a round toilet with an oval toilet seat. We did not experience any hot water in the shower, but it was tolerable when we had a bunch of sand and sweat to wash off.

The air conditioner was pretty loud and the first night we didn’t run it, but we quickly figured out if we ran the AC we wouldn’t hear the roosters that seem to crow at all hours of the clock.

The location of the property was very convenient to town. It was only about a block from the drawbridge and an easy walk to the ferry dock. The Dinghy Dock is two doors down from Villa Boheme and always a hub of activity. We walked over to Colmado Milka the first night we were there and bought some drinks, coffee, and food to make breakfast. For such a small store, it was amazingly well stocked.

There was a lovely deck on the harbor side of the property where you could relax in a hammock or at any of the several chair scattered about. Ensenada Honda is a popular harbor for boaters and there was always boat traffic to watch in the harbor. There were also nice views of the other side of the harbor and all the hillside homes.

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Boheme. Don’t expect a 5 star resort because this is Culebra. It made a great launching point for our exploration of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We arrived on 3/7 to Culebra. We were picked up at the Airport by DiDi who is the sweetest! The accommodations at Villa Boheme were excellent. The atmosphere is relaxing! The deck that over looks the harbor has plenty of seating, quaint little tables, plenty of hammocks and so much more. It is within walking distance to the grocery store and plenty of restaurants. All of Didi's recommendations were perfect for us! Thank you so much for having us, we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a great little guest house on Culebra! We originally were set to stay in Mamacita's but they called to tell us they were renovating so I ended up choosing Boheme and boy am I glad I did. For $115 a night we stayed in room 5 which is a basic room with a bed, shower, sink and no TV. If you come to Culebra to watch TV, you are in the wrong island. The beauty of this guest house is their patio, which has a couple of hammock chairs (I am now obsessed with getting one) a hammock and several chairs and tables. You are on the water and the view is just amazing!! I would wake up in the morning and just sit on a hammock chair and watch the sunrise in the morning. At night after eating dinner we would go back and sit on the patio and just listen to the water before going to bed (around 10pm, there isn't much nightlife on the island, which is perfect). I got spoiled by sleeping to the sounds of the ocean.

It's in town so you don't need to rent a Jeep or a golf cart to get there, just walk to the bridge and it's right next to the restaurant called Dinghy Dock. Didi who was the manager when we were there, couldn't get any friendlier if she tried. They also have storage for your luggage for the day of checkout and you can use their shower as well. This is now my goto accomodation in Culebra.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a waterfront view so it's a matter of which is the right size for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boheme

Address: 368 Calle Fulladosa, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boheme is a charming guest house located in Culebra, a small secluded island located 17 miles east of Puerto Rico and 13 miles west of St. Thomas. Enjoy some of the most pristine beaches in the Caribbean as well as many fine native restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our hammocks on the patio and enjoy the view of Ensenada Honda Bay and explore the beauty of the island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Boheme Hotel Culebra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.