We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Boheme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Boheme
Save
You added Villa Boheme to your Saves list
368 Calle Fulladosa, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Culebra B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fantastic place on a quiet island. Good place for relaxing and getting away from the rat race. You can self-cater in the shared kitchen if you want. You can sit outside on along the water using wi-fi. Very comfortable. Short 5 minute walk to the ferry. 15 minute walk to the airport. 45 minute walk to Flamenco Beach. I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early December in room 7 on the third floor. The room has a great view of the water but only through a tiny window with shades that were inconvenient to use. The dock and patio was great place to hang out. For some reason, the hot water was not working in our bathroom. I notified the manager on the second day and she tried other rooms to see if they had hot water and offered to move us to one that did, but since it was our last night, we just opted to shower in the room with hot water. The place is in town and walkable to restaurants, ferry, and even from the airport (a manageable 20 min walk with carry-on luggage). However we made the mistake of staying on a Monday night without realizing that everything closes on Mon. night and went without dinner. Maybe I paid too much for what I got in a room, but if I could do it again, I'd stay in San Juan or a larger city with better hotel selections, more things to do at night, and make Culebra a day trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were there at the end of October. The Dinghy Dock next door was pretty much the only restaurant (except for pizza and chinese) and its likely closed down until around christmas time when the new owners are slated to open. I say this as a warning that you'll likely need to get stuff to grill etc if you go. Its right on the water and about 1 block from a store. so you can hang on the patio which is right on the water and enjoy yourself in the evening. Its close to the ferry landing/cab stand. We went to Playa Flamenco and the cab cost $3 per person ech way. One of the best things about this place was that after we checked out, they allowed us to keep our luggage there while we went to the beach. After we came back from the beach and were getting ready to go to the ferry, they allowed us to use the showers there near the patio. This was a huge benefit. We never met the onwers but the manager and housekeeper were both very sweet.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Villa Boheme was the perfect spot for me and my honey on a quiet island off season (October 2012). It's located downtown (a very small town) on the water. There is no beach there, but they rent kyaks and bicycles next door that will get you to the beach. It's located on the water with a very spacious deck and lots of patio furniture. There's no restaraunt buttThe Dinghy Dock is next door. They have a bar and restaurant. It's a landing spot for all of the anchored pleasure boats in the bay. The food and service is good there. Most of the units have a full kitchen.The grocery store was 2 blocks away, so it was easy to find food and coffee. Ours room 11 on the second floor had new appliances (except for the airconditioner which was a little noisy). We had a small balcony overlooking the water and a king size bed. A big room with a modern bathroom. It was great! Not having seen any of the other rooms, I'd still recommend room 11. Kate was managing when we were there. Her service was timely and friendly. Her recommendations were perfect, including her choice of dive master's, Taz.

Room Tip: no elevators, but our 2nd floor room 11 was very private and had a view of the water. The noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Villa boheme is a short hike from the ferry landing, but it's worth it. Pristine views of the bay, very quiet relaxed environment and great location. Walking distance to every part of town. The hammocks throughout the property are fantastic, and the communal BBQ pit is a great touch. The service was absent, our rooms we're cleaned once over the 3 nights we stayed. But we didn't ask for them to be, so we weren't in any way bothered by this. All in all it was a great stay. The AC was wonderfully cold! =)
The bathrooms were a little sparing, but for pete's sake...if you're spending much time in your room on this island, you're there for the wrong reasons. This is a wonderful place to lay on some aloe-vera after a day at flamenco beach =)
We used the communal kitchen a few times, there's refrigerator space plenty for a booked house and enough room to spread out and enjoy some privacy.

Room Tip: save some $$$ by shopping at the store around the block and cook your own meals in the kitchen or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I and 2 other couples stayed here for 1 night while visiting Culebra and we wish we had stayed longer! The villa has great service, it is clean and has great views! There are tons of hammocks and seating on a back deck area over-looking the water. It is also a quick cab ride to Flamenco Beach and walking distance to a bakery, market and restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Villa Boheme at least twice and we've enjoyed it thoroughly both times. Don't be expecting the Ritz...we are talking about island living here but the place is very clean and convenient for food and entertainment activities! I forget which room number we stayed in but it had a cute little balcony on the corner with a lovely breeze and as we watched the boats. We are planning another trip to PR in December 2012 with a overnight in Culebra, we will definitely stay in Villa Boheme!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boheme

Address: 368 Calle Fulladosa, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boheme is a charming guest house located in Culebra, a small secluded island located 17 miles east of Puerto Rico and 13 miles west of St. Thomas. Enjoy some of the most pristine beaches in the Caribbean as well as many fine native restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our hammocks on the patio and enjoy the view of Ensenada Honda Bay and explore the beauty of the island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Boheme Hotel Culebra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.