We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culebrita Island

Culebrita Island
Puerto Rico
877-937-4386
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Culebra
Attraction details
wildbird@aol.com
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Hire a good boat and spend the day. Try Captain Bill Plainfield with his little dog Gigi, what a kick. Great food and entertainment. Beautiful beaches and snorkling.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“See Culebrita with Willy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Got a boat ride from Willy, local taxi man, ice cream shop owner, and tour operator. He dropped us off for a few hours on the island, and came back with music & a bottle of wine for our wedding party & the bride and groom! :)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marque, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely island getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Culebrita was GORGEOUS! We arrived in Tortuga Bay via Captain Bill's catamaran and had an amazing time! We danced with the local turtle, relaxed on the white sand beach, and swam in the crystal clear blue water. We also went to "The baths", which is a little-known snorkeling spot about a 15 minute walk from Tortuga Bay. The baths border the ocean, so waves come right in and bring in many different fish, but the water was still calm enough to view the wildlife and many species of coral. If there was only a hotel on Culebrita, we'd definitely stay there!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip when vacationing on Isla Culebra, Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Culebrita is a small uninhabited island off the East coast of Culebra. It is part of a nature preserve of Culebra. We took a water taxi over to the island for very little money. Our captain Gilligan is a Culebra local and was referred by some friendly shop owners in town. It took about 15 minutes across beautiful waters to get there. The snorkling was great! There is one of the oldest light houses in the Carribean there and I highly recommend the hike to see the lighthouse! From where our water taxi dropped us off it was maybe a 20 minute hike. The lighthouse was amazing and the views from if were fabulous. After that we took a trail across a small section of the island leading to two beaches, Tortuga Beach which is a beautiful crescent beach ad trash beach, or lovers beach. Trash accumulates on that side of the island thus the name trash beach but it is also known for occasional nude sunbathing. We saw that beach from the lighthouse and only hiked to Tortuga Beach. It looked way more inviting! Gorgeous Beach! A few yachts were moored here with their families enjoying the pristine waters. We then hiked a short distance North to the tidal pools. They call this the Jacuzzis. Water comes in from both sides and the water that gets trapped in the pools gets very warm. It felt like a different world there. Almost forgot one thing. HUGE hermit crabs!!! The size of a baseball...everywhere!!! Walking through the jungle/forest to the beaches, watch your step! They are all over the trail and if you look off to the side the ground is literally moving with hundreds of hermit crabs!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Desert island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

A great place to get your kit off and run around naked with a beach completely to yourself!
Great for snorkling too!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culebrita Island also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Culebrita Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culebrita Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.