We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamenco Beach 2013 Amazing Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamenco Beach Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamenco Beach Campground
Save
You added Flamenco Beach Campground to your Saves list
Flamenco Beach | Apartado 217, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Keosauqua, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Flamenco Beach 2013 Amazing Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm looking forward to my April 2014 camp trip to Culebra.

2013, I spent two weeks, end of January to first of February, on Flamenco Beach, Camping. I can barely wait to get back. I met so many amazing people, from all over the world: Poland, Germany, Italy, and US. The weather was perfect and the beaches fantastic.

If anyone is interested in camping on the island, drop me a line and I'll be happy to send you my "packing list". I carry a back-pack and keep pack weight under 50 lbs. Every year I update my list to exclude things I don't need (or can buy on island) and add other things I haven't been able to find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We camped right on the beach! We camp a lot, but none was like this one. You get up in the morning to wonderful sunshine, and Azure water! its fantastic! There is a taxi service from the ferry too, making traveling very easy and convenient.

They also have a little eating/ stall area for food. Dont miss the Pina Coladas and the Bushwalkers. Bushwalker might make you tipsy, but its yummy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I don't know if there is another place like this in the Caribbean. I love camping and me and my girlfriend were trying to save money on our trip to PR so we decided to spend two nights here. It was well worth the $20 per night and I would have paid double that. It was busy when we were there (Saturday and Sunday night in March). Saturday was especially busy. We walked for a while trying to find a great spot. The sandy, and therefore, softer sites were mostly taken. The dirt-ish sites were easier to come by. These are farther away from the path and thus a bit quieter and private. We got a site about in the middle. We cleared away some seeds and stones and set down. There were large groups around with children and these people were drinking and playing music, but happily everyone quieted down by 10 or so, save for one jerk and his girlfriend who started blasting techno at 10 while setting up their tent. I think someone asked them to turn it off and they obliged. Sunday night was a lot quieter and more peaceful. There are roosters there that crow early but there aren't that many and they are spread out, so depending on where they're ranging, they may or may not wake you at 4:45. Bring ear plugs to be safe. Pretty much, people were respectful and kept to themselves. I was worried about theft from my tent because I had an ipad in there but I shouldn't have been. I tried to say hello to everyone who I could say hello to. There were many Puerto Ricans there and they were cool so it was nice. The beach was beautiful. A bit choppy when we were there because of winds. Sand was soft and white. Some stretches were stony. The food kiosks were a great addition. You could get a good variety of decent food. I'm a vegetarian and I could always eat there. Taxis are always around during the day. I'd suggest getting some numbers because at night they might not come by. All the locals have a cousin or friend who has a taxi, so just ask around and you can find a number. They'll get up from whatever they're doing in their house and come pick you up. Don't forget to tip for this! Some of the taxi drivers openly drink and drive at night but I wasn't worried about it. I get the feeling they know what they're doing. Try to find Carlos Rosario beach. There is a trail off the parking lot behind a locked gate (sneak through). There is a sign warning people of unexploded ammunition. That's the place! It's well trodden so just stay on the trail, say a prayer, and go. The beach is quiet. You can skinny dip I guess. There are apparently good snorkeling opportunities on these beaches and I found a nice spot myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

You couldn't ask for more to be so close to the most beautiful beach in the world! I mean it was very different camping than usual, there wasn't any showers and the bathrooms never had toilet paper. I guess you paid for the location and not the accomodations! Would go again for sure!
We stayed March 2007.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I think my title sums it up. There is nobody hassling you on the beach to buy something. (I'M VERY THANKFUL FOR THAT) Everybody minds their own business and they just take care of you when you ask. The snorkeling is really nice too in Tamarindo Beach (or bay). It's cheaper if you bring your own equipment and you buy your food at a grocery in Fajardo and bring it with you. Otherwise food prices on Culebra are reasonable.

Room Tip: If someone in your group is older than 60 they only pay $10 US for the rental of the campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently got back from a trip to Puerto Rico. Much of that time (about a week) was spent at Flamenco Beach Campground. Although I found the water at the beach to be somewhat chilly in January, I was impressed by the beauty of the beach and the campground. I slept in area E, which was probably the most busy area. I met a lot of great people and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area. Since I did not rent a car I had to get by with taxis which were plentiful. I also used the website campingculebra.com to find out information, which was useful. I can not wait to return again. Now that I am back in NY I feel that I want to go back to Puerto Rico more than ever.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keosauqua, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

January, 2013 will be my seventh stay at Flamenco Beach Campground. Although I'll be traveling solo, most campers I've met there are warm and friendly, and I've spent many evenings around a camp fire, sharing drinks and talking with my new friends about the days activities, and tomorrows plans. The campgrounds are clean and well maintained. Facilities provided include, restrooms, potable water, showers, and BBQ pits. I typically stay for two weeks at a time, and have camped there during the months of October, December, January, March, April and May. The following beaches are within easy walking distance, Flamenco (of course), Tamarindo and Luis Pena. Although I am a certified scuba diver, I prefer to snorkel the reefs off of Tamarindo and Luis Pena and in addition to many fish, I frequently see Turtles and rays. Somedays I rent a jeep or scooter and ride out to beaches further away. Rasaca and Brava beaches require some hiking but the experience of spending a few hours, or sometimes and entire day on a beautiful beach with no other people around is amazing!!! As a note to campers, if you happen to forget some equipment, or run out of something while on the island, there are markets in town where you can buy most things you need. In fact, right off the parking lot of Flamenco beach is a Kiosko (Tent City) that rents tents, sleeping bags, etc. In addition to Tent City, there are 4 or 5 other Kioskos that sell great food and drinks. As an added benefit of camping at Flamenco Beach, as beautiful as the beach is during the day; at night, under a full moon a walk on the beach or a fun dip in the water to cool off before going to bed is absolutely amazing. For me, Culebra is a fantastic vacation and I highly recommend camping on Flamenco Beach.

Room Tip: I try to choose a tent site in Zona E at the very end of the camp ground. It is about a 1/4 mile wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamenco Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamenco Beach Campground

Address: Flamenco Beach | Apartado 217, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Also Known As:
Flamenco Beach Campground Hotel Culebra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamenco Beach Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.