We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience ,, beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mamacitas Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Mamacitas Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mamacitas Guesthouse
Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Experience ,, beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I choose this place because its website boasts it has a restrauant and bar , after I checked in at 530 pm they told me that both the bar and restrauant were closed because it rained , this is insane because it rains here 2-3 times a day
They could not find the key to our room , gave us a master key ,the a/c remote did not work
Which is the only way to control the a/c unit
That's about it , there are few decent places to dine on this island , do not stay here if you think it has a restrauant / bar

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    8
    7
    13
See reviews for
7
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for several nights and absolutely loved the service, location, and the rooms..I would recommend it to anyone and would certainly go back. We took a taxi to the near-by UN-commercialized beaches, ate at the cafe, met new folks at the bar, felt welcome, and enjoyed wandering around the island. We felt safe and enjoyed island life! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of the restaurant is lovely on the water. The servers were terrible - surly and not nice. Food was average and way too expensive. We had a very bad experience and would not recommend this.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place has new owners who are more concerned about their bar business than the guesthouse or restaurant. The environment is no longer family friendly and staff is not friendly. Rooms are not optimally clean and it is impossible to sleep at night with loud music blaring from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We considered several locations for a long weekend in PR and found that Mamacita was a good value. Its just steps from the downtown area, which gives you easy access to local restaurants and shops. You never get stuck in the hotel compound.

The rooms are basic but clean and there is plenty of room. The atmosphesre is festive but the noise level is fine and didn't present a problem.

The restaurant and bar are good too but we were there for the beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I had the best vacation in my life with my girlfriend, clean rooms, nice facilities to relax yourself, the restaurant? WOW!!! you have to try it, I have to give a 5 star to the food, nice taste... Im planning a next visit soon... thanks to all at the Mamacitas Guesthouse, see you soon...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place wasn't my first choice but I'm real glad i stay here. It has a nice restaurant nothing fancy but good food. Nice bar and music and a tv with sports. The place is near the town Sonia easy to buy things. Culebra is a great island to visit and flamenco beach is spectacular ! Love the place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mamacitas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guesthouse

Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mamacitas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamacitas Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.