We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how to rate, let pictures speak for themselves....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mamacitas Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mamacitas Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mamacitas Guesthouse
Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Culebra B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not sure how to rate, let pictures speak for themselves....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We got there, the receptionist is in a tiny office, but she was very nice and answered all our questions about the area.

The room was, well, uh, not sure how to explain. It had two rooms, one as soon as you walk into it, the next was behind that one. The beds were comfy, but I kept waking up because they cut the bedding and the fluff was getting in my face as I slept. The noise was loud from the Mamacita's bar outside the window, it lasted until after midnight.

We tried to find an outlet to charge our phones, we found an open outlet when we pushed the bed out of the way, a serious fire hazard! The other outlet we found was behind the fridge, also rusted out and open wires exposed. We charged our phones in the bathroom. The bathroom was huge, but no washcloths so bring your own. No hair dryer either.

Although Culebra is considered safe, I didn't like that the front door had no interior safety chain, and the door opened out so we could not even put a bed or dresser in front of it. The door is backwards, and the safety piece of metal so no one uses a screwdriver to open it is non-existent because the door is backwards. The door can easily be opened from the outside with an object.

We stayed in Room 7, no bed bugs! I think people complain of bed bugs because they get bitten by the no-see-ums at the beach. Those pests attack in the summer months and they can easily be blamed on the bedding, when meanwhile it is the beach that is the problem.

It is a small walk from the ferry, just up the street and make a right and then up the hill a bit. Close to everything!

We didn't eat at the restaurant because there is a mandatory 15% gratuity added, I like to tip on the service, which is usually higher than 15%, but I refuse to eat at places that force me to tip that amount up front.

We ate at the Dinghy Dock the first night and it was great, although they overcharged us and said "We will get the normal rate next time". So watch for overcharging!

They have two small grocery stores, so if you are staying long and you arrive in San Juan and take the ferry you should stock up on some groceries!

About the ferry....BRING SUNBLOCK!!! I saw a lot of red people on the hour trip that were not red upon entering!

Ok, back to the hotel....I am not sure how to rate it, because it was close to everything and it was a roof over our head, the beds were cozy and we slept good. We did go to the Seabourne Hotel for breakfast and the grounds were resort style, wonderful service and atmosphere, but they are almost double the money, so you get what you pay for! If you are going just to check Culebra out then Mamacita's is a good place to stay....but if you are going to spend time at the hotel and on the grounds of the hotel, then I would suggest the Seabourne!

Room Tip: Not on the street like we were, people walking up and down and hanging out in front of our door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    9
    7
    14
See reviews for
7
23
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were there March 11, 2010 ..While we were there Mamacitas was under construction, which was not cool and I did hear that the food was amazing..I wish we had gotten to try it..because the resturant was also under construction. The room was older but very clean. There was a man and his little dog who hung out around the hotel and he was quite entertaining and very friendly. Im sure with the renovations it has gotten better...I do hope we return again someday..Culebra is a must see while visiting Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: choose an upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Mamacitas is a great place to stay if you're looking for adventure and not luxury. Our room was nice and had all the basics - air conditioning, nice bed, wireless internet, and spotty hot water (as does most of Puerto Rico :). It is right above the restaurant/bar and can get loud at nights, but it never bothered us the 2 nights we were there. The restaurant is really great as well. The staff is not overly friendly, but they were helpful enough for us, helping us book some snorkeling trips and find our way around town. It's a great location in town, we walked everywhere we needed to, and you can pick up taxis at the ferry dock just a few minutes away. We had a great experience here. Don't come with high expectations, just let the laid-back island feel carry you away :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Although we make reservations based on our friend's recommendation, we are really disappointed with our stay here. The view is nice, but the bathroom and kitchen are gross, old and not clean. There is no radio, clock or "cable/satellite TV." You can borrow DVD's, but since the music below is SO loud you can't watch one anyway. We never really see any staff so I can't say whether they give good service. I think we would have dealt with these things a little bit less bitterly if the staff had informed us upon reservation or arrival that the connecting restaurant and bar were closed for renovation. A beach vacation to us is sun during the day, and yummy food and cocktails at night. The convenience of having it right there was the main reason we picked Mamacita's. Bad choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This place is just plain awful. I thought since I love the restaurant at Mamacita's, that the guest house would be great, but this is definitely not the case. We were charged for an extra night, and were treated horribly when we tried to rectify this. It was also extremely loud- between the bar downstairs and the noise form the street, this was not a relaxing experience. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San German, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We called Mamacita's to get a cuote for a weekend reservation and we told them we would call them back being polite about it, once we saw the terrible reviews about their service and frauds of charging people extra. Two days later we received a "confirmation of purchase" that we didn't authorized. Be careful w/this guesthouse, they have no respect to their tourist!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Near the port, you can go walking with no need of a taxi. They have a restaurant bar that is great, although they are remodeling so you could find it closed. Rooms are okay, staff were nice to us. One of the owners is very friendly. They are remodeling so you could get a better experience once is completed. Ask for a room that doesn't look to the street so you could have a view and a nice space. Mosquitoes are very common in the Main Island and Culebra, so you can't rate this place bad because of that, it's just common, if you dont like them keep doors and windows closed with the air conditioner that keeps room cold and keep them away..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamacitas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guesthouse

Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mamacitas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamacitas Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.