We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayaking Puerto Rico (Aquafari)

Kayaking Puerto Rico (Aquafari)
HC-4 PO Box 12672 | Tamarindo Beach, Puerto Rico
787-245-4545
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking Puerto Rico is proud to offer the finest KAYAKING & SNORKELING excursions on the island! Winner of the Puerto Rico Tourism Company QUALITY AWARD, KPR specializes in professionally guided eco oriented trips across Puerto Rico’s Eastern Coast and Culebra Island.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Absolutely amazing trip. Totally worth it. The guide was wonderful, very laid back and friendly and willing to answer any and all questions. It was wonderful; it is amazing to swim around the coral and see all the different types of sea life. We saw lots of fish, barracudas, a conch, sting rays, and sea turtles! It was brilliant. If I ever go back to the area, I will definitely do this again. I don't think it could EVER get dull! But definitely wear tons of sunscreen and bring it with you. We also got to spend an hour or so at Playa Flamenco. The guides also offer to store any items you don't want to get wet in their truck. Pretty much everybody did this and of course it was kept very safe. After the trip we stopped briefly to rinse off in some outdoor showers so we didn't have to ride the ferry back all salty :). My only regret is that I didn't have a waterproof camera!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    27
    2
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“a wonderful land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

excellent trip, very helpful coach. The sea scene is unbelievable, we had a great time there! If I have chance I'll go there again, or for the honey moon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Full day of water fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our day started off less than perfectly - trade winds were blowing strong all week and the seas were rough. The incoming ferry for our ride over to Culebra was late. We were met at the ferry terminal by a KPR guide with our tickets. When they found out the ferry would be late, we received a text message (wish my wife had taken her phone with her, LOL). The ferry ride was extremely rough (think extended roller coaster with barf bags), but we all survived. We arrived in Culebra and were met by another KPR guide - no problem finding them as they all wear the same shirts. We boarded a large van to Flamenco Beach where we could enjoy the beautiful sand at one of the nicest beaches I've ever seen while our stomachs had time to readjust to solid ground. There are food stands (CASH ONLY) near the beach where you can get a good / inexpensive local lunch. Because of the lateness of the ferry, we did not have enough time at the beach (no fault to KPR). We met in the parking lot at the pre-arranged time...and waited...and waited...and our van driver never showed up (he was running on "Island time"). After a very annoying / long wait, our driver arranged for alternate transportation by flagging down and hiring another van. We squeezed in with one more person than possible in each row (including 2 in the single front passenger seat) for the short drive to where we would be kayaking. We did get a good laugh when our van driver finally pulled in as we were pulling out. Wow, was he pissed off that he lost his group (not half as pissed off as all of us were for having to wait). We took some photos / kayaked out (took more photos) to the first dive site...Jumped in the water (more photos) and snorkeled in the coral. Did I say they like taking photos? They'll all be posted on facebook which is pretty cool since they'll definitely get closer to the wildlife than an unskilled snorkeler will (especially one wearing a life jacket). Due to our bus driver's lateness, we missed the 2nd section of the trip (where they lost their 5th star for me), brought or kayaks back in and walked a short distance to the last snorkel area - walking in from the beach and snorkeling over the sea grass with the green turtles. Very cool experience. When we were done, we hopped back in to our (original) van, made a 2 minute stop at KPRs building where we took a 30 second outdoor shower to get off the salt, headed back to the van to the ferry station. We arrived 5 minutes before we were told the ferry would close the gate / took 3 minutes to use the bathroom and get into dry clothes...and the ferry shuts their door (2 minutes ahead of schedule) - only thing in all of Puerto Rico that runs on time and they end up closing early....We ended up waiting another hour for the slow / car ferry which goes half speed.

Overall, a great experience, but the timing of events (ferry late - not their fault, van driver no show - definitely their fault, missing 2nd stop on trip - also their fault due to van driver, arriving late to ferry - still the van driver's fault) knocked it down a star.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family really enjoyed the Culebra Adventure and the guides were absolutely incredible! I have recommended this experience to all my friends and would do this again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a tour!!! ********”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was by far our highlight of the trip. From the ferry ride there to the ferry ride home what a fantastic day! The ferry terminal is a bit of a drive from San Juan and it does cost 5.35 to park for the day, pay before you get in your car. The guides were very informative and attentive to everyone. They made sure everyone was comfortable and safe. We had one gal very scared of the water and not a swimmer and they got her in the water and she had a fabulous time. The found sea life for us to touch. The hour and half or so at Flamenco beach was time well spent. Beautiful white sand beach, reef for snorkling, food for sale. We even had the pleasure of seeing a whale on the way back to Fjardo on the ferry. Fantastic day!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayaking Puerto Rico (Aquafari) also viewed

 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Kayaking Puerto Rico (Aquafari)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayaking Puerto Rico (Aquafari), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.