We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dinghy Dock

Dinghy Dock
Calle Fulladoza, Dewey | 00075, 00075, Puerto Rico
787 742 0233
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Ok food. Great view. See huge tarpons. People refuel and get water for their boats here. Cool to watch in and of itself.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    211
    56
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The location is amazing and the happy colors island decor fits, its a Caribbean bar on the water, perfect for people watching, as boaties float in and out on their dinghies and everybody knows everyone. It is, however, full of ageing resident/visiting Americans, so hardly a local scene, and the day bartender, who was a good-looking but non-smiley Puerto Rican girl, was standoffish and ignored us for quite a while serving the people she knew first. The beer which was Old Harbor on tap was not fresh. The Medalla took a long time coming after the frozen drinks. She almost poured rum into our margarita, but then double checked with us. She was not very busy. The night bartender who replaced her was a fun jovial fellow, who made us feel welcome. Beware there is no smoking at the bar, we got reprimanded. We did not eat, but this place had two tables for dinner, while Mamacitas was packed.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“73 dollars for cold lobster!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Where do I start...
We arrived and started with the salad bar, it had beans, including canned green beans, corn, and mushrooms, dressing out of bulk containers and soup that was suppose to be warm (as we found out later when it was boiling) that had fish bones from the head of a fish in it. (We fed our soup to the tarpins that were swimming by the dock)... We ordered the shrimp, which to their credit was ok and the lobster, which got fed to the trapins also. It was a waste of a wonderful food, When we ordered grilled lobster we thought that we would get warm, fresh grilled lobster, instead we got twice cooked and re-warmed (not all the way through, it was cold in the middle) lobster.
We realized what the problem was part of the way through "dinner".... The serving staff and the cooking staff were sitting down at a table together sharing gossip and eat food while we, the customers were suppose to have been served. My husband's comment about this was, "I would dine and dash but you wouldn't let me so I paid for it".
Anyway, we did eat there then talked a group of six at the bar, two on the way into the restaurant, and two others that were already seated to go to Mamacitias to eat dinner. We met them over there and they all had a great time and good food.
Please don't make a 73 dollar mistake with this restaurant too, we loved Culebra, this was just a black eye. I didn't fully understand why it was so bad until later when I realized that the whole restaurant and bar are up for sale... They just don't care anymore, go somewhere that does.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for a drink but not dinner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

On our travels, we always eat at small inexpensive local places and have had some great meals. That was not the case here. The waitress was very nice but very busy. There was only one waitress for most of the night so service was slow. The food was expensive for the quality. None of our meals were great. The french fries tasted like fish. For a better meal for the price, go to Mamacita's, Susie's or El Eden. Part of our group, however, returned to have a drink one night and enjoyed the bar.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eh, go for a drink and the atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

As mentioned in other reviews there is definitely a great view, lovely atmosphere, and lively bar scene. Service was bad, really bad, even for island time. Food was overwhelmingly mediocore and overpriced. I would not eat here again. Drinks only.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinghy Dock also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Dinghy Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinghy Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.