We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Ambiance Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinghy Dock

Dinghy Dock
Calle Fulladoza, Dewey | 00075, 00075, Puerto Rico
787 742 0233
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Ambiance Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We enjoyed the place and the food. The view at sunset was fantastic. The food was tasty and affordable. The service was a little slow, but it was expected due to the number of people that came in right after we got there. I would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    210
    56
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT food, worth the extra money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

They are higher priced than other places, but worth the money. Their menu is creative and the presentation is awesome. The food is delicious and so are the drinks. The view is beautiful also, right by the water. Much better than Mamacita's!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Definitely the happening place for ex-pats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great food - especially at dinner. Lunch is pleasant. Great location right on the water. Everyone is welcome and the bar fills up at happy hour with the local sailboat crowd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A solid experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

After being told last year to avoid this restaurant like the plague, we were surprised to return this year and hear this place recommended repeatedly. So we went. Atmosphere is great. Our salmon and snook entrees were very good and the artichoke fritters excellent. The only unpleasant thing about the meal was the woman sitting behind us that had decided to be unhappy the moment she got there. We remarked that she was the kind of person that wrote reviews and sure enough we found a negative review from the night we ate there....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Top Resturant in Culebra for food and meeting locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Recently my husband, daughter, and myself visited Culebra from a Sunday afternoon till Wednesday. We were staying in town and on Sunday realized a lot of the local restaurants were closed. We were able to walk to the Dinghy after 6pm and found the place already bustling with patrons. We had some great cocktails, rum punch and mojitos, then ordered dinner. We were so surprised that the food was outstanding. The next day after a day at Flamingo we thought we would go back to the Dinghy because it was so convenient and it was so good the night before. Again we had various fish dishes that were actually caught that same day. By the second day we recognized various patrons and felt right at home. The owner was nice enough to give us recommendations for a trip to Culebeita that turned out to be an incredible experience.

Well the third night, and our last night in Culebra, you guessed it, we returned to the Dinghy. This night my husband had a fresh lobster that he spent a long long, time eating. He relished in this jewel from the sea. This night we met a coral biologist who lived on the island and it was a pleasure learning about her environmental organization called Coralations. Amazing work.

So all in all, we highly recommend the Dinghy Dock for their unbelievable assortment of food delicacies and tropical drinks that are way too good, and of course the ambiance of locals and tourist. Don't miss this establishment if your visiting Culebra. We will return next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinghy Dock also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Dinghy Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinghy Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.