We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to choose from” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Batey

El Batey
Puerto Rico
787 742 3828
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Culebra
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Madison
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not much to choose from”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

When we visited, they were out of hamburgers, chicken, and rice and beans, so there wasn't much left to choose from, though I understand we were on an island and that can happen. Had a side salad for a couple bucks that was tasty (just had to request to have dressing after it was served), and our friends said their fish was pretty great, too. Also, it appears to be a bar, but they don't serve beer or liquor.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic PR food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hubby and I came here after going to the Dingy Dock only to find that we had missed lunch by 30 minutes and they weren't opening for dinner for another 2.5 hrs. In addition, the menu looked very touristy.
We came upon El Batey on the way back to our room. We noticed the prices were cheaper and the menu looked pretty good. I order the chuleta kan kan with tostones and my hubby ordered the chillo frito with arroz con habichuelas. Everything was DELISH and totally authentic. I would compare their food to that of my cuña (and she cooks for us with the best ingredients and love). We went back the next day for lunch and shared the bistec encebollado with tostones and an order of the rice and beans again. We loved it. We were so impressed with the food that we even took pics with the cook, Judith, and out bartender/server, Danny. We ordered one of the homemade rum cakes (made with caña) and it was also very good and moist. In our 2 days here, we must have recommended this place to 5 other groups of tourist. If you are looking for authentic, reasonably priced PR food then this is the place. We will most certainly be back the next time we visit Culebra.

BTW--service is slow so don't expect your food to come out quickly. Even their menu states that the restaurant does not serve fast food. Sit back, have a drink and enjoy the atmosphere. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place may look a little "iffy" on the outside, but the food is great and the people there are helpful and friendly. My burger was delicious and we were there later in the evening once everything else was shut down and business has slowed, so we got the opportunity to chat with the bartender for a while. Somewhat slow, but even the menu reminds you they are not fast food, they are "island time" food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great burgers and Coco frios -- watch for the mosquitos on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great lunch spot, very good burgers and refreshing coco frios.

I don't recommend eating on the patio as you will get encounter the mosquitos.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extremely Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went there to have a few beers with friends and it ended up been more than a few. It was a good experience and hopefully ill come back not to drunk though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Batey also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Batey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Batey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.