We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Batey

El Batey
Puerto Rico
787 742 3828
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Culebra
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place may look a little "iffy" on the outside, but the food is great and the people there are helpful and friendly. My burger was delicious and we were there later in the evening once everything else was shut down and business has slowed, so we got the opportunity to chat with the bartender for a while. Somewhat slow, but even the menu reminds you they are not fast food, they are "island time" food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great burgers and Coco frios -- watch for the mosquitos on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great lunch spot, very good burgers and refreshing coco frios.

I don't recommend eating on the patio as you will get encounter the mosquitos.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extremely Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I went there to have a few beers with friends and it ended up been more than a few. It was a good experience and hopefully ill come back not to drunk though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Looks super sketchy, but very friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were very leery about walking into El Batey. It looks SUPER sketchy on the outside and we weren't sure what it was going to be like inside. But, we arrived on a Sunday when everything was closed, and needed some liquor to stock our vista for a couple of days. We were told we could buy some there. We walked in and there were only a few people at the bar, but they were all so friendly! They were telling us what to buy and what to try together-- we were pleasantly surprised. I can't say it's always like that, but we had a decent experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food at good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Most places were closed or closing when we went out for diner. Was not sure if the food would be up to par, but I was wrong. It turned out to be great and the price was very reasonable. Would eat there again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Batey also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Batey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Batey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.