We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant and good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Susie's restaurant

Susie's restaurant
State rd. 250 | Las Delicias, 00775, Puerto Rico
787 340-7058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Culebra
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice atmosphere and good food. They are at a new location (very open, no a/c) and may be looking to do this in the future but, installing some fans in the indoor dinning area would help with the hot summer temperatures as well as keep the many mosquitos away. Not pleasant dinning under those conditions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    46
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Susie's new location = Excellent food! Worth a little drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The new location is not "in town" (do not look for it in town... you will not find it ;) The Crema de Yuca (soup of the day) while being more of a puree was fabulous! (wish I would have taken a picture) Highly recommended!!!! I wasn't as thrilled with my entrée (chicken breast with prosciutto herb and goat cheese sauce) the chicken was well cooked but I probably won’t order it again. Island mash is fine - worth giving a chance but again not worth going out for...So why the positive review? Hubby was extremely thrilled about his entree (whole red snapper with lemon vinaigrette )!!! "Best whole fish" he has ever eaten was his declaration. He has eaten a lot of fish. If you are looking for great seafood or amazing soup this is the place! Also, a note of caution – menu specifies gratuity will be ordered to parties of 6 or more… it was added automatically to our party of 2 – while most of the island is going to automatic “tipping” the notice on the menu was a little confusing. (Yes, you can add to the auto tip.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had been past Susie's a few times before I stopped in and now I know what I was missing out on. This was an amazing meal with amazing people. The staff were quick and the food was to die for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great service, selection, and flavor! LOVE IT! This place is wonderful. The new site should even enhance the experience even more (better location).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Don't let the outside appearance keep you away as Susie's had an unexpected upscale menu. The main dishes were prepared with an artisic flare which matched the quality of the food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susie's restaurant also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Susie's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susie's restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.