We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 W Parade Ramey Base, Aguadilla 00603, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aguadilla
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Located near Aguadilla, PR airport this is a wonderful hotel,for a short family vacation or business trip. The facilities are clean, modern and well kept. The pool is the best attraction for the kids with water park ambiance. Restaurant has good food,and moderate prices. Slot machine lovers will enjoy the casino.
Good for family get away on the lovely north western par of Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Rooms in back building are quiet and near parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    76
    55
    31
    12
See reviews for
75
43
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As a Marriott Rewards member, we're pretty familiar with the standards to which Marriott holds its hotels. The lobby area is nice and clean. The pool area off the lobby is huge and is designed with kids in mind. Very very noisy - adult relaxation will not be something to find here.

We called the day of our stay and inquired as to what was available for our family of four - two parents and two college age children. They had a junior suite that would sleep four, so we took it for $200. Entering the suite, the bathroom is on the immediate right. It had a bowl sink and shower tub, all of which was nice enough. The non bedroom suite is just past the bathroom, with a small sofa; a chair and a television. The sofa was supposed to sleep the two daughters. It was barely wide enough to fit one of them, more less both of them. Worse is that the bed itself had virtually no mattress. You could actually feel the mattress coils digging into your back laying on it. It was without a doubt the worst excuse for a bed in any hotel ever - more less a Marriott.

My wife called the front desk, and their reaction was to question whether we were trying to sleep more than four in the room because of the complaint that the sofa bed wasn't big enough. They eventually agreed to bring a rollaway bed, which was a decent enough bed for one daughter to sleep, but one still had to sleep on the coils of the sofa bed.

As we settled in, we noticed how much warmer it was in the room with the coil bed than the main bedroom. Calling the front desk again, they explained that unfortunately the A/C unit in the suite wasn't functioning. Clearly they knew this was the case before selling us the room based on the fact they knew it was broken when we called about it. There were no offers to send someone to repair it or move us to another room. We were stuck with it for over $200 for the night.

There were no offers of anything to compensate for the issues we experienced. Not a breakfast or anything even so basic. Marriott has a problem child on their hands at this place. We suggest avoiding it unless it's the only choice around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Marriott was once the base hospital of what was once a sprawling B-52 Base, and it has retained much of that flavor. The room furnishings are Spartan and have that "institutional" feel.
The desk staff was consistently friendly and usually efficient. My room was in what was once the Psychiatric Wing of the hospital and was located across a large parking lot from the main building. It wasn't much fun walking to the room in a torrential rainstorm (a frequent occurrence in PR).
The restaurant was okay for breakfast, but in the evening was too brightly lit to enjoy dinner, in spite of the singer-guitar player's efforts. The hotel has a large swimming pool that is obviously designed with children in mind. The hotel is located minutes from the airport, which was convenient. Bear in mind that you must be an aggressive driver to survive in Puerto Rico. The casino has a "rundown" feel to it and the adjacent lounge is very small. The young female bartender was very new and not particularly good at her job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place, nice customer service, nice pool. Very clean, modern rooms. Have a good restaurant, perfect for everyone, family, business or couples. Love the beds!!! And the places arounds. Great for a retreat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed for only one Saturday night. This hotel hosts activities at the pool every weekend. I requested a quiet room, facing away from the pool. I was given a third floor pool in the main building, farther but still facing the pool. This time there was a loud childrens' sports team end of season party until 10:00 pm or so. I ended up going out.

The hotel needs to enforce the sound level limit when they rent the pool area. Most of the time music and speeches are so loud that you hear it inside your room with your windows closed. Not all guests that stay in this hotel wants to party, they need a good night sleep because they will work or travel the next day. The hotel needs to consider guests in this matter.

Be advised that parking spots in this hotel are very narrow, even for sub compact cars. There are also many elderly casino clients who take most of the available parking spots. If you carry luggage, be ready for a long roll-in and roll-out from the parking lot.

Otherwise, the room was very comfortable, very clean, the A/C system was now better and quieter, and the mattress was great. The Cable TV lineup needs to improve. There is no HD signal and there are many channels that have the "No reception" message.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a room facing the front of the hotel, or facing north, or if in the annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived at this hotel April24 and stayed until the 27. It was a very nice and well kept hotel with a large casino connected to it. Like most Marriotts there was a large pool for adults and a wonderful pool with slides and other for children. The rooms were large and service was good. Ramey AFB was closed many years ago but the airport is still in use for commercial traffic. Nearby is crashboat beach, the old Air Force rescue boat docks which has an outstanding clear water beach and accompaning park. The beach is safe for all, but it does not offer good diving, snorkelling. North of Aguadilla are many other beaches along the coast towards Isabella which are beautiful and awesome to see, but are basically for surfers.

Room Tip: In western Puerto Rico this was a good surprise hotel and area for beaches and sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I just read the reviews because I'm planning a trip to this area of PR next month. After reading the reviews I must write my experience although it occurred in May 2009. We live in NY and were enjoying our 2nd stay at the marriot resort & stellars in San Juan, but my husband and I rented a car & drove to Aguadilla for a friend's wedding. The bride & groom stayed at relatives homes before the wedding, and other relatives & friends stayed at hotels in the area of Rincon. According to the reviews there hasn't been a change for the better in 4yrs. Owner-I urge you to work with your staff to meet the needs of your guest. During our stay the restaurant service was very SLOW, including hotel check out. Perhaps you can send your staff to San Juan for training. I found out that the owners of this hotel are not the same owners of the marriot stellars resort in San Juan. Although it is also named marriot, the owners only have the franchised name. That is the problem with this hotel, but the owners can make it a lot better if they want. Please make it a better place to stay!!! Thank you

Room Tip: We had a suite which was very comfortable and large for us. We didn't have a problem with room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla

Address: 200 W Parade Ramey Base, Aguadilla 00603, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Aguadilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aguadilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott is located in the former Ramey Base in Aguadilla. We offer 150 spacious and modern guest rooms, 12 superior rooms and 7 suites. All of our rooms have flexible work desk, ergonomic chair, comfortable sitting area, individual climate control, AM/FM alarm clock radio, remote controlled satellite TV, HBO, WiFi, Telephone with message light and data port, laptop-sized safe box, in-room coffee maker, iron and iron board, cribs and roll-away beds available upon request. We offer over 4,000 sq. ft of meeting spaces where you can celebrate your most special events and business meeting. We have an outdoor pool with aquatic playground for kids and exercise room, golf and tennis nearby. Our RB restaurant offers an International Menu, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and onsite parking. We also have The Market, is a 24/7 self serve pantry and David's Cookies, our coffee corner. You can also Dance to the rhythm of the music at the B-52 Lobby Bar at Ocean Casino open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Aguadilla Hotel Aguadilla
Aguadilla Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Aguadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.