We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, mostly mediocre.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles y Chilangas

Frijoles y Chilangas
PR 110 | Km 8.6, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
787-692-3204
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 67 Restaurants in Aguadilla
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Casual and cozy ambiance serving the most authentic and fresh food. All Mexican goodies are available at affordable prices: Two persons eat for less than $20 everyday. Fried cheesecake and the mouthwatering Crepes made the perfect closing for your course! You wont find extreme things, but for sure is the place for quality time, good food, great prices and happy mood!
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Some good, mostly mediocre.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner for four people. One meal, the tacos were great two other meals where average in the fourth was below average. Service started out good but one order was incorrect. We sent it back and when they brought the correct order and it was a little cold. The final insult was when they
added the tip to the bill. This
place was recommended highly and we may have just caught a bad night. Would not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another poor attempt to Mexican cousine in Puerto Rico”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I found the service quite slow despite that there were only 5 customers. I saw a promising menu but it was very disappointing. One my first visit I ordered a mole dish that frankly tasted like they just opened a commercial mole jar an poor the sauce over it, the rice was not tasty nor were the beans. Since I believe I can not judge a place with just one visit. I gave the place the benefit of the doubt and went back, this time I was the only customer and still the service was very poor and slow. This time I ordered enchiladas and then AGAIN I was very disappointed with the enchilada sauce and the rice and the poor excuse to refried beans. So I scratched the name of the place from my list of places that I should go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Its was ok two years ago”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been to this place a few times over the past few years since I discovered it around 2011...it's was ok service was always slow though. Tonight we just had to drink two margaritas almost no alcohol; rice was old or reheated too many times. Chicken was definitely reheated and chips were soggy. Too bad since driving around we could see that all places around we're full and this one was empty or almost ...hopefully the owner will get back to the kitchen and practice some more with fresh ingredients.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I'm local and live just 30 minutes from the place. However, it is one of my favorite destinations. The place is clean, the prices are very fair and the food is quite good actually. This is Mexican food like you may expect to find it outside Mexico but which still tastes excellent. I'm not rating the restaurant because how the menu looks like because as long as I can read it, is fine with me. Think about good food, a courteous waiter/waitress and fair price. I'll keep eating here and I recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good service, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

In a strip mall on 110, we went to dinner here on a night when most things were closed and they were slammed. They handled the stress really well and the service stayed friendly and as fast as they could make it- these folks know how to hustle. The food was mostly really average, with some odd items on the menu (tacosagne?) Not an inspiring experience, but the wait staff deserve a lot of credit for handling tired, hungry crowds with aplomb.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles y Chilangas also viewed

 
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Frijoles y Chilangas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frijoles y Chilangas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.