We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, 2 *” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco
Save
You added Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jardines del Rey | Cayo Coco, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old hotel, 2 *”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited this hotel in December 13-21. This is very old hotel with many issues such as plumbing, electricity , broken paths, open holes and lack of services. Half of the resort is under construction including main lobby and pools. Food at the resort is very bad even for Cuba , it is enough to visit one time next door Tryp hotel to understand low quality of the Colonial resort.
I would suggest to avoid this resort at any cost unless you are willing to experience vacation with no water in your room , occasional disappearance of electricity, dirty bathrooms and smelly rooms. The only positive thing is clear ocean water and gorgeous beach but be prepared to tip for beach chair every day.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    306
    140
    91
    54
See reviews for
173
229
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I only gave this a 3 out of 5, its actually a 3.5 out of 5.

Major renovations going on here. we stayed in block 21, was newly updated and refreshed. Room was great except A/C did not work the whole time we were there. We asked 3 or 4 times, was not fixed, they did offer to move us to another room, we decided to stick it out, at nite it actually got cool without the A/C.
Tons of workers all around the site, fixing 3 or 4 blocks at a time. The noise was not bothersome at all. It was a little diufficult getting around the main lobby as they were renovating the outside hall as well.

Food: Its cuba, and a 3 star, no need to say more. This time however there were no id bracelets for our resort or the Tryp next door, we ventured there and ate at their buffet 5 or 6 times break, lunch and dinner, and were floored at the difference in food quality. It was way better at the Tryp every meal we had.
A la Carte restaurants: the italian is excellent and the cuban was good to pretty good, we did not do the international and didnt hear very good things about it.

Beach: excellent sand for swimmers, with a nice grading to deep water. However the waves were rough when we were there, by the 5th and 6th day we were able to go and do a bit of snorkelling. Were not allowed to take the pedal boats out due to rough sea, however they will take u on a little trip on the catmaran if you pay them, apparently the ocean wasnt rough if you were paying.

Grounds: kept very well, usual gardeners trying to sell you hats, things they made.

Bars : the ones we used were good, almost every server was very pleasant, there was one or two that made a face when you asked for something.

Ive included a map of the resort to help you pick a block that suits your needs, just so you are ready with a number when you get there.

The resort seemed thrown together to me, there was a good walk to get from one end to the other. lots of pool areas, no one was really using, deepest part was 1.45 meters in all of them.

Kids club seemed busy and they seemed to take good care of the kids, no issues there.

Our favorite parts were the italian restaurant, the churros (donuts), omellete lady in the morning, there was 2 pool tables (with only 1 cue and 1 set of balls), tennis courts. Also bikes to borrow. Very queit resort, nice architecture, nice grounds, lots of places to explore on foot and on bikes. Pizza place at pool (not open very long). And of course going to the Tryp next door for food! Massage at beach was $20 for an hour (some sort of special).

Our least favorite parts were : the mosquitos (i was bit everywhere all the time), the spray they used to kill the mosquitos, long wait times for things where only 1 other was in front of you, the rough ocean. Not many buffet choices at dinner. Prices at the market and on site were very high, conversion rate at Colonial was .81 for canadian, was better at the Tryp next door. I suggest you bring American $ with you, especially 1$ bills, they will accept american now no problem, the fee that used to be levied on american seems to have disappeared. now with the new US Cuba relations in motion american money is what i will be bringing next time.

We never watched a show but watched the dancers practising while we played pool in the bar.

The animation staff was only visible at around 3-4pm at the main pool for some games, they dont bother you which is what i like.

Keep an eye out for the wild horses, wild cows around cayo coco, they are pretty cool.

We paid $638 per person for Dec 13-20th, we flew on Cubana airlines which allows more luggage to be brought. No movies on flight, bagel and lunch meat as a meal. Very basic flight, but it seemed like we got there faster and went home faster than with other flights we have taken.

Tip: take a cab from airport to resort for $20 canadian, we saved over an hour of waiting and dropping people off at other hotels on the bus.

Tons if buildings on this site not being used, maybe being renovated, but lots of wasted opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Qc. Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Cayo Coco last March and couldn't wait to return. We tried the Colonial Hotel this time, December 7 to 14. True, it's 23 years old, but workmen were everywhere to spruce it up for the coming high season. Many "habitations" were being painted, guard rails and stairs were being changed, bridges were being painted also, the reception bar is under major renovation. Some walkways are being redone; at the beach, new pallapas were added this week. All this work never bothered us at all and we think the hotel will look super in the following months. Only one buffet was opened when we got there, but the other one opened on our last night there. Two restaurants were open, one of which changed menus two nights (Italian on Monday and International on Tuesday.) Wednesday we tried the Cuban restaurant. All locations had delicious food. The buffet is a bit small but there are also grilling stations for meat, fish, hot dogs, pizza. No one went hungry. The staff are really friendly. Leosvel at the buffet is a really good waiter, and the lady who does the omelets in the morning, sings and dances while frying the eggs. She really loves her job. Even the gardeners always said hi in the morning when we went for breakfast. We stayed in block 18 and we had a renovated room facing the sea. Wow! The cleaning staff also do a very good job. This was my 10th time in Cuba, and I found the staff the most smiling and friendly ever. The beach was cleaner than other hotels I spotted while taking walks. Seaweed was picked up. The only thing I didn't like was the plastic pieces and small plastic bags on the beach. I have no idea where they come from. All in all, a good week even if the weather wasn't as hot as I like. Lots of wind and cool nights.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on the second floor to limit unwelcome bugs from coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there 2 years ago. Once we arrived we were told that once of the pools would be down. whih was fine Im a beach bum anyway. On day 2 we were told we were being sent to another resort due to mantinance issues. was a bit of a bummer, as this hotel was full of friendly staff and great character. Fow both days I was there is was wonderful. cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 3 days here with my wife to relax after going around cuba.
This resort is one of the all inclusive present on the cayo coco island reachable from the mainland via a 50km road.
To have assess to the island with your car you need to pay a 2 CUC toll fee.

Positives:
- resort has a good price for what you get: 45 Euro/person/night for the all inclusive.
- beach is nice and fully equipped
- food is good and abundant, there are several choices in the buffet and the grill is really tasty and good.

Negatives:
- DIRTY!!!! the towels we found in the room were dirty with red and yellow spots on them!!
we asked to the receiption to change them, but after 3 hours we were still waiting for them, so we decided to start using ours
- POOR SERVICE!! we did not have hot water for the first day: the plumber never came to repair it. Same story for the bidet, it was stucked and water not going down.. It has not have been repaired neither.
- Air conditioner was losing water on the wall.. It was like raining in the corridor of the room.
- I partially understand the reason..but I came to an all inclusive resort to relax, I was bothered from kind of ''initiatives'' to get some more money out of you.. And you really feel the difference when giving tips or not!! It should not happen, I have already paid for the full service.

What a customer service!! thanks

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were back at Colonial the week of Oct 24.the fresh water pool side was open leaving the salt water pool to be worked on they were finishing the pool bar when we were there looked nice new mural on the wall fresh paint looking good.We stayed in block 15 lots of reno going on painting building,new rails things that everyone were concerned with ,fresh water pool was clean and warm,food was good never went hungry,only thing we didn't care for was the nights the buffet restaurant was closed but no biggie . drinks were tasty and the coffee was good ...As for the beach it was not maintained very well the week we were there aka seaweed and such but we worked around it ocean was rough most of our stay anyway,Our lady the cleaned our room was fantastic we were in room 1505 just out side our room was Yarney's bar good pizza there and out our back door was the beach bar.Entertainment staff friendly as always we hug around alot of them during our stay..Sol and the other lady that were at the cook station where you get your eggs in the morning can make your day dancing and singing while doing there job looked as though they are enjoying themselves and always put a smile on faces.Omar and the gang at the lobby bar always had time to chat with you and made it pleasant to go to the bar to get your drink.Check in was a breeze had 1 day no water due to a water main break but they stayed up through the night and by morning it was fixed and up and running again, will i go back to Colonial Yes and with the work that is being done it will return to it's former glory Colonial isn't for everyone but what place is it's a older place with alot of charm and character that puts you in a little Spanish village feel with a calm relaxing Ora about it,stores on site cigar,booze,clothes towels nic nac's ,dentist office dr office market is just down the road and for $2.00 return you can take the little train thingy ..Looking forward to our next visit and meeting the gang that make Colonial such a nice experience .Till then sunny days any questions and i will answer to what we saw from busy season to the slow we seen them both.we were there april and oct

Room Tip: i would always get 2nd or 3rd floor we were on 1st but if you like a balcony go 2-3 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

we were there 2 years ago and couldn't believe the work that has been done there since we were there. All pools were open and very clean, the staff was great, meals good and the rooms big and clean.We had a wonderful candle lit dinner by the pool while watching the entertainment staff doing a dance show in the pool.Talking about entertainment they were fantastic especially the show with music and dances from the 60s-70s-80s and 90s.Everywhere you looked you saw staff painting, fixing the railings etc. I think once all the renovations are finished, this is going to be a top notch resort.you could have played volleyball on the beach or in the pool,plus there were exercise classes and dancing lessons...there is a gym and bikes available to ride.Very good value for money, we really don't have anything to complain about.We hope to be back March or April 2015.To all the staff give yourself a pat on the back...you are doing a very good job. John and Maryann

Room Tip: buildings 14 and 15 are close to everything, building 16 has the big pool in front of it and the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Cayo Coco, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Hotel is located in the exclusive Cayo Coco to the east of Cuba. Our luxury hotel in Cuba has been completely renovated and reopened in 2011 as a four star hotel with new services and luxurious facilities. Colonial Hotel is the perfect place for a romantic get away or exciting family holiday. Enjoy some of the best beaches in Cuba while enjoying the excellent facilities of our colonial style Cayo Coco hotel.Discover our beach with its expanses of white sand and clear turquoise waters. Colonial Hotel offers a large variety of restaurants, mixed grills, bars and beer Gardenn. Our guarantee of top quality service makes us stand out.the hotel are invaitin to celebration the 20th aniversiti next year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Blau Colonial
Blau Colonial Cuba
Blau Colonial Hotel
Blau Colonial Cayo Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.