We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tryp Cayo Coco
Save
You added Tryp Cayo Coco to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent an amazing week at Tryp hotel, Cayo Coco. July 27-August 3. We had read the usual bad reviews prior to going away (which you will find anywhere you go) but decided to judge for ourselves. We could not have been happier in all aspects. The Staff were all friendly and courteous. No problems with our check in. It was fast and efficient and our room was ready upon arrival and located in the area our travel agent requested. (block 11, quiet pool area).We had no problems with our room. The room is stocked every day with a bottle of mineral water.As for all the bad reviews we read on the food, it could not have been more wrong. The food was in no way bland, and the variety offered was plentiful. The alacarte(s) we went to were great! Romantic ambiance in both the BBQ Grill and Seafood locations .Lots of activities throughout the day if you are looking for something to do in the resort.. We went on the Catarmaran excursion which we enjoyed, including the snorkelling and seafood lunch on board.
Night life at the resort was good. Evening entertainment provided (not forgetting the kids, they started off with fun stuff for them) then continued with a great troupe of dancers. There is also the disco if you so desire. There is an abundance of lounge chairs around the pool, but limited amount of shade umbrellas. There could be more of those, as the pool area is a very open area with limited shade. The grounds keepers were wonderful. Super friendly, always had a happy greeting every time you saw them. We actually had one run up to us and handed us both necklaces he had hand made as a gift!!
We would advise you to bring a bug spray, you do get quite a few bites but that can't be helped.
The only issues we had was the lack of clocks on the resort. We had to go to the reception area to find out the time. An alarm clock or clock in general would have been helpful in the room also.
A list of drinks posted at the bars would have been helpful too. (Cuban specialty drinks)
We will definitely return to Tryp in the future. It was a wonderful week, and we wished we had a few more days to stay there.

Room Tip: We were in block 11 room 1143, which had shade in the afternoon on the balcony. It is a very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear CrazycatLady58,

It has been very nice to read your comments here and to know that you had amazing time in our Hotel. Thank you for your time and the suggestions. Hope to meet you heer next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    1,797
    680
    361
    231
See reviews for
1,223
1,606
211
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,002)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

the beaches are truly amazing, a trip out in the paddle boat to explore under the ocean is well worth it and something you can do everyday. Paddle boats , kayaks, fishing, glass bottom boat lots to do on beach.The food.......the specialized restaurants are truly excellant, they allow you to book three ahead of time, the other nights you can just go and wait for a cancellation (nearly guaranteed you will get a table). The buffet is hit and miss, the egg station for breakfast is best bet, an omelet and a fresh smoothy and you are set. On the day you can book the sea food lunch for 10 dollars, DO IT! EXCELLANT, other days we just had lunch at buffet, kids grabbed buns, rice, veggies.The rest of the very large buffett was just okay. Now the rooms they are bad, very old, really need upgrading, beds had very thin mattress. Despite that, it was clean, just don't expect a Hampton style room. So overall, great time and great holiday for the money.PS bring your own insulated bubba mug for beer and cold drinks or you just get 4 oz cups

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you for your comments. We consider them very helpful. We hope you can visit us once again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First time going to Cuba but I would definitely go back. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and well air conditioned. Also cleaned every day to a high standard and clean towels given every day. The Buffett food is good although quite repetitive. The other restaurants available were great. The international restaurant is amazing. Would highly recommend it. I found all staff to be very friendly and accommodating. They really went out their way for you and were so pleasant! The entertainment is also very good, both throughout the day and in the evenings. The beach is beautiful and would recommend going snorkelling on the glass boat. Was so much fun. Overall I loved this holiday and can't wait to go back. I really didn't want to come home! And Definitely bring lots of mosquito repellent you'll need it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ashley A,

It is very nice to know that you enjoyed your first time in Cuba, including our Hotel. Thank you for your comments, they are useful and hope to meet you here next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I agree with everything that Linda B from Southampton says about the bar staff they were very rude I was treated like a leper if you were Canadian you would be treated like royalty for the money we paid holiday it was a nightmare. I was treated really bad, I would go to 24 hour bar for a drink I would either be ignored or pointed at aggressively saying drink is for her I will never come to your resort ever again. The only good thing about the holiday was the service from waitresses serving in the buffet area in the mornings and the beach. The Canadians took over the whole resort they were loud, rude and very offensive swearing in front of children that were with myself and other family groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Catherine_d_63,

We sincerely apologies for the inconviniences that you found with the staff attitud. Actually, most of our guests are very pleased with the staff service. We will take into account your comments to continue working to achive our main gold, our guests´ satisfation. Thank you,

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Thank you to all the staff for another wonderful holiday. This was our families 8th time at Tryp Cayo Coco and once again we had a great time. We met some new people from London and Winnipeg as well as a family that we had vacationed with before. The highlight of our trip by far was a sunset glass bottom boat cruise with 13 of our new friends (which we arranged through the dive shop on the beach). We spoke to Freddie who was fantastic with all the details and we couldn't have had asked for a more perfect day with a wonderful crew. The captain jumped in the water and took us on a snorkeling adventure that allowed us to see coral, lots of fish, conk shells, starfish and even a sting ray! The sunset was one of the best ever seen by all.
I'm not going to go into detail about two ignorant 20 year olds who acted like the resort was their personnel amusement park, as obviously they have a lot of growing up to do. The staff handled them much better than I would have and they are lucky that they are literally still alive with the ridiculous reckless behaviour they exhibited.
Overall, the staff are what make this resort so great and I hope the managers recognize some of the outstanding people they have (Mary (kids club), Louisa (buffet), Al (bar between the Italian and Chinese), Ozzy (from the International), Guiarmo (lobby bar), Yunior (snack bar), Santiago (pool bar), Yuliet (lobby bar), Lorenzo (Italian), Julio (who carries equipment all over the resort) and so many more I apologize for not including everyone who makes our stay so wonderful. We'll look forward to seeing everyone again in April when we return to our second home.

Room Tip: Block 7 is great as it's right beside the pool area and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Joanne Q,

Thank you for your comments on this site. It has been very nice to find them and know that you and your family enjoyed once again our Hotel. Hope to meet you here again on April.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Bring mosquito repellent!! You will get bit a lot!! Don't exchange you're money at the airport. They will tell you that it's cheaper but they charge you more ($1.14) Canadian to CUC then the hotel which is ($1.09) CUC. Travelled with 8 people that stayed in 3 rooms. We arrived at 11:00pm and did not properly check in until 3:00pm. First room, toilet didn't flush. Second room, their butt washer (lol) pipe leaked and flooded the washroom. Rooms need serious renovations. All in all the food wasn't that bad, just bring you're own hot sauce for flavour. The MC, Danny was great and hilarious, Staff is very friendly, had a great time! BEAUTIFULLLL BEACH!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear NirroS S,

Thank you for your comments here. We offer you apologies for the inconviniences that you have mentioned. Hope that you can comeback.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We( family of 4) have been going for the last 15 years to Cuba and have stayed in this hotel 12 times in the pass ( and always enjoy our stay)
If it wasn;t for the beach and some of the staff I wouldn't ever go back
Its no more a 4 star hotel its barely a 3 star now . Need renovation in rooms ,and the area for the shows.( the 2 weeks we where there this year half the dancers were out) the shows were half done.
As for the new manager ( has a lot to learn) doesn't treat his staff with any repect. Always could take the hour of his days to come to the dinner for the repeat guess. ( didn't even have the air conditioning during the meals at the a la carte restureants

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear OGradys,

We thank you very much for your comments. We consider them very helpful for our job. Actually, we are conscious about the physical conditions of the Hotel and we are working very hard on investment plans with the hope that they will take place in a short period of time. Regarding your comments about our relationship with the staff we are always very busy checking the Hotel’s operation and from the far distance our conduct might be seen as a wrong perception of the reality but we always do our job according to our policy and we are very respectful since we are conscious that our staff is the most valuable resource we have. Thank once again.

Sincere regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.