We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great beach - try excursions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tryp Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Cayo Coco
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great staff, great beach - try excursions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was there from Feb 12 to 19, 2013. It was my first trip down south and I was not disappointed.

We had a oceanview room in block 14. Now, the resort is get renovated and we had the misfortune of being in one of the buildings that have not been renovated yet. Yes, the shower was old, the bathroom needed to updated and re-tiled, but in all honesty we did not spend much time in our hotel room whatsoever so it did not really bother us. Even though the bathroom was slightly run down... the house keeping ensured we had a very clean room. I don't think I would have accepted a run down AND dirty bathroom. Our building was located far from the entertainment, so no noise to keep us up at night. It was a bit of a walk to the main buildings but my boyfriend and I enjoyed the walk (it helped us stay slightly active during the vacation).

The staff is great! No complaints whatsoever. The most of the staff is fluent french and english and will try to help you to the best of their abilities.

The pool is cleaned every morning and the beaches are also raked so no seaweed :)
We lounged on the beach near our hotel room which was away from the high traffic areas. It was quiet and peaceful. The water was nice to swim in.

I know a lot of people complain about the food and the variety. Now, if you take a little bit of everything every single meal at the buffets, of course you'll get sick of it. We paced ourselves through the types of food. Pasta one night, vegetables and grilled fish another, trying not to overlap any foods. For breakfast.... loved loved loved the omelet and egg station.
For the a la cartes we did the Italian, International and Cubana. Italian was the best of the 3 by far. International was nothing too special, and Cubana was interesting because you ate in a house that has been converted into a restaurant. The food was ok..... i think it was just a personal thing. My boyfriend loved it.

Lastly... while you are there, it is worth doing at least one excursion based on your interests. Since there are no Cubans living in the Cayos...you don't get the authentic feeling. We did two excursions: Ciego de Avila tour and the Jeep On tour. Both were full day activities. We got to see the 2 closest villages, Moron and Ciego de avilia. I honestly preferred the Jeep On tour as we got to drive ourselves and the tour was combined with the speed boat/snorkelling.

Would I go back... for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Monica P,

It is nice to know that it was your first trip down south and that you are willing to come back again for sure. It means that you liked your experience here. Thank you for your comments on this site and hope to meet you here again very soon.

Best regards,


General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,356
    1,524
    560
    312
    198
See reviews for
1009
1355
163
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

this hotel wants to be condemed the food was that same everyday always cold. we went down with the sickness and craps for 3 days there was 3 of use in our party. round the pool want to be redone also as you cant walk without shoe it sharp, my wife went in the pool from the walk in siad and thepool was so slippy she fell on her back also when you walked to your room the paths were very bad as well they had to fill in hole round the children pool because it was so bad. well done to the gareners the gardens are well looked after, but the rooms are so out dated, the smell from the down stair 24 hrs eat with the river under it was disgusting the stanch waqs so bad at time it turn your stomach. will not be oingback and have complained to thomas cook about this also but not heard anything back from them eather. my advice is dot go there stay clear the some of the staff are great will look after you but the hotel is so out ,date and wants a good face lift.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Harry o,

We offer you apologies for not been able to satisfy your expectations. We will take advantage of your comments to keep working on improvements.

Sincerely,


General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Upon arrival I was modestly concerned about quality due to apparent deterioration of the facility. However friendly staff and general attentiveness to my requests and the pleasant natural environment quickly made up for the apparent wear on the facilities. In this way the resort mirrors Cuba in general. The trip to and return via AC from Halifax was untroubled. Check in was quick and simple, price by AC vacations quite reasonable, food in general good with highlights being the international,and italian restaurants. The buffet main restaurant was variable but the wine flowed freely and the service was good.

If you want luxury accommodations you won't find them at this price anywhere in the islands, so look to your budget adjust your expectations, take a musical instrument and in no time you will be dancing playing enjoying. If happiness requires pampering, double or triple your budget and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: the farther from the "show stage" the better, closer to the beach always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tom h,

Thank you for your comments and evaluation of the Hotel and its services. Hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed at Tryp Cayo CO CO before about 5 years ago had a fab time then and an even better time this year hotel in need of a refurb but don't let it put you off as your never in the room anyway, hotel staff all friendly animation team keep you entertained all day & night lots going on for children around the pool beautiful pool always cleaned Marieelise was fab with the children try's to get them all involved Julio was fab could not do enough to help, lots of choices to eat at the buffet lovely deserts fresh meat & fish, Italian restaurant nice,BBQ Grill & International lovely piña coladas at the beach bar fab . We went for our close friends wedding which was absolutely amazing hotel staff did them really proud staff at the international we're outstanding service excellent food lovely, great entertainment by staff salsa dancing couldn't fault it would definately return again don't believe everything you read go try it yourself I'm sure you will enjoy it .

Room Tip: When checking in ask staff for a refurbished room they will try their best to accommodate the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Rubytuby,

It has been excelente to read your comments and konow that you had a fabulous stay in our Hotel and would comebcak. Hope it will be very soon. Thank you for your opinion here.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were in this resort from Feb 2 - 9 , 2013....
Whomever reads this review should first remember IT IS Cuba we are talking about. So everybody should decide what is the reason they go to Cuba at the first place...

BEACH:
I can assure you that if you are going to spend time on the beach and endlessly walk / run bare feet through crystal clear, worm water, from one end to another and never worry about steping on something sharp or dirty then Cayo Coco and Hotel Tryp is the place to go. I told my travel agent : " I want a white beach and clear blue water....." That is what I got!!!!
The beauty of the beaches on Cayo Coco is undiscrapable ...but, make sure you go to visit Pilar beach on Cayo Gulliermo in the morning with a low tide, then sit and wait for tide to come!!!! Wow!!!
POOL:
Was beautiful to look at however, we did not spend a minute in it. With the beautiful beach just few steps away, we thought it would be a waste of time to be at a very busy activity pool. Pool was always busy and loud with some activity going on especially around swim up bar. Mind you , there was a quiet pool within the resort if one would desire to spend time there.
STAFF:
Making sure that guests felt welcome in a hotel. Everybody ,literally everybody , was smiling and making sure we had everything we needed REGARDLESS of the tip! Nobody ever asked or expected tip ( major difference to experience we had in Varadero and Mayan Riviera) . Staff was working hard, from restaurants to the beach, from room maids to gardeners and beach keepers never failing to say OLA and smile...they were grateful for anything you give them should you choose to do it .
It would not be fare to name specific people as everybody worked equally hard...
ROOMS:
Dated but CLEAN!!! As long as I am concerned, that is more important then marble floors and plasma TV .
Bed was huge and comfortable , slept well and did not have issues with pillows. ( I have a chronic neck problem and I was very worried about it).
Bathroom was very old and could use good makeover, but all worked and there was plenty of hot water at any time.
FOOD:
There was lot of variety to choose from. Breakfast was very good. We mostly eate lunch at the beach restaurant that had great squid and fresh fish. For dinner there a was stir fry / pasta station that was very good along with fresh fish/ meat grill that would prepare meat at your liking.
Again keep in mind that there are no imported items. everything is locally grown and probably not filled with fillers, steroids, and hormones ....therefore, TASTE was different and probably what it used to be long time ago before all" improvements" in growing fruits, veggies, and animals.
ENTERTIMENT:
Tryp Cayo Coco is apparently a party hotel! There was something to do until 1:00 or 2:00 am ( disco with good music) if you wanted to . Quality of entertainment is questionable and in my opinion could use some improvement ...but I did not go there for entertainment .....a good book is always solution.
INTERNET:
There is dial up Internet in the lobby...3 pesos for half an hour ....we did not use it except to try and get our returning boarding passes....that was not possible to do so do not waste time.
If you decide to go to Hotel Tryp Cayo Coco, be prepared for poor, proud people that will do everything they can to make you feel welcome and comfortable . Be prepared for old rooms but apsolutely stuning beach that you will never forget and would like to be back at as soon as you leave it. So please do not compare Cuba to Mayan Riviera and/ or Hawaii but go with open mind and in anticipation of WHITEST and CLEANEST NATURAL BEACH that you can imagine. (do not take me wrong beaches in Varadero and in Mayan Riviera are beautiful but this one is WOW)
Just wanted to add: in this time of year or it was our luck I do not know, but there was no bug, mosquito, or any crawling creature that we have seen. And There was no gelly fish or anything that could spoil the time spent in a beautiful, worm, clear ocean either....
.....

Room Tip: 845-the best view of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Marina T,

Thank you for your comments. It is very nice to know that you have enjoyed your time here. Your comments have been very nice. Hope to meet you here again.

Our best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tryp Cayo Coco was booked for us by a travel agent in Havana. It was substantially cheaper to book Tryp while in Cuba than it was to book the first two hotels we stayed at from Canada, so we assumed this was a difference in price due to ordering online and thought nothing of it.

When we arrived at Tryp Cayo Coco, we realized that this was not the case - it was of substantially lower quality than our first stay at Melia Cayo Coco located about 5km up the road. My first real gripe was with the mandatory security bracelets, which I refuse to wear. I'm on vacation, I don't want to feel like a criminal. Service was Cuban slow, but nothing too severe. However, when we reached our room, we had a few other guests waiting for us. Spilled alcohol attracted cockroaches into the room, so we went for dinner then asked to be moved to a new room.

Our front desk clerk made a fuss of this request before begrudgingly giving us a new room on the opposite side of the development. We walked our luggage across to our new room (not an easy feat) to find the next room had dried vomit all over the toilet. Needless to say I wasn't too excited to move all of our luggage again, so we elected to have the room cleaned the next day instead.

Food was carelessly stored, with raw fish and eggs kept at temperature for several hours during buffets. Staff were relatively friendly but food was poorly cooked. Sleep would have been better if not for the on-site roosters crowing at 0600. Considering it was only $20 CUC less than Melia Cayo Coco located up the road, the value was not very good. Super-perky activities staff made it feel like I was trapped in a summer camp with drunken frat boys.

Overall not a great experience.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms on the west of the complex. Buffet should be avoided as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tim M,

We sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy your expectations during your stay in our Hotel. Will take advantage of your comments to keep working on improvements. On your contrary we need to say that most of the guests that visit us are very pleased with the Hotel services. Regarging food stored at the Buffet we should clarify that it is not careless stored as you say since the food exposed there is used very fast and replaced very fast due to the demand because we have lost of guests using the buffet service. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

i stayed from 08/02 to 21/02. we came to tryp for a wedding so a party of 52. the buffet is was excellent, loads of variety and at breakfast time you can have omelettes, pancakes & french toast cooked in front of you & of an evening fresh seafood, meat, stir-fry & pasta dishes cooked in front of you. we tried all the a la cartes apart from the oriental, all also good food, and its nice to have a sit down meal instead of buffet style food. beach is lovely & theres always something going on at the pool. the drinks were fine, there obviously not what your used to as it is cuba, the local spirits are nice especially the havana rum! i stayed in block 12, room is a little dated and bathroom needs updating but overall room was fine. all the staff are friendly. 11 out of 10 for the entertainment staff, especially marie elise (mainly children entertainer) she was great with the kids and tried to get everyone involved with everything she did. also julio he was so friendly. overall the holiday was great and would love to come back again!

Room Tip: try and get one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Liam B,

It has been very nice to read your comments here and to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Thank you for your time and hope to meet you again here.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Cayo Coco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tryp Cayo Coco to your Saves list