We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Cayo Coco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tryp Cayo Coco
Save
You added Tryp Cayo Coco to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cliffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just came back from a two week holiday. And had a brill time at the tryp. If anybody says there is no choice of food they need a guide dog. The rooms were kept spotless and the bars full of drink and flow easy and quick. Drop a tip or two. It was excellent value holiday and a excellent resort in Cuba. Beach. pool. restaurants. All good. So dont delay book today. Ps thanks for the bottle of Rum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Cliff w,

Thank you for your time to write your comments here. We are glad knowing that you had a brilliant time at the Hotel. Hope to see you again here.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    1,644
    613
    326
    208
See reviews for
1,121
1,459
192
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Don't be put of with negative comments its only for 2weeks but if you go with intentions of 5 star you need to pay 5 star prices ,The rooms are in process off being refurbished as are very dated consider its 16 yrs old & it is Cuba not Buckingham palace ,the rooms are very clean, fresh towels daily usually artistic of designs by the room maid ours Yousell amazing lady ,the service from staff through the whole complex was excellent ,the Buffet restaurant loads of varied excellent choices of food ,though if your a tea drinker bring your own ,as theirs are Herbal , earl grey, pg tips none 7al- carte restaurants to choose from with 3 a week allowed with no extra cost, magic just loved them all from Cuban ,Italian ,international etc all good food wine & service very large complex with beautiful gardens,pools beach is fantastic loads of beds ,lots of Canadians And French Canadians we met great atmosphere ,look forward to going back ,our rep Jeorge of Thomas Cook amazing nothing too much trouble ,room tip block 9 room 973 top floor is central but nice & quiet

Room Tip: Block 9 top floor room 973 central quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

It has been very nice to find your comments here. Thank you for your time, hope to see you here again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Tryp form the 11th to 25th Jan, after boarding the coach for the short transfer from the airport our rep introduced himself "Little Jorge" what a great guy and very helpful.
At check in we found the staff pleasant and very helpful too, prior to the holiday we requested a room in either block 11 or 12 which we got, top floor block 11 overlooking the "quiet" pool, The room was as described by others on here "Dated" but I have to say spotless clean, and at the end of the day I didn't spend 9 hrs on a plane to sit in my room for 2 weeks (tip the maid from the word go).At night the main bar area is good and lively although it could do with more tables & chairs, as soon as you see an empty one grab it. At the bar unless your a Loud, Drunk, Ignorant Canadian teenager and a heavy tipper your in for a bit of a wait, my tip is befriend the waiters & waitresses and tip them well they will look after you. We found the food and service to be good even the pickiest eater shouldn't go hungry and the fancy dress night in the restaurant was great. The a la carte's we had were top notch couldn't fault them, get them booked as soon as you can because there's limited seating and they fill up quick. I can't comment on the pool & day time entertainment although it looked ok, we spent 99% of the holiday on the beach soft white sand and crystal clear sea and we were always able to get a sun lounger in the same spot every day......lol,. "British night" Excellent is all I can say, good food, good staff, a nice touch.
Even on our departure the manager and entertainment staff were there singing & dancing to wave us off, again a nice touch.

Good points: Friendly staff, clean rooms, great location, beach, Spanish coffee.
Bad points: Loud Canadian students, having to drink out of vending machine cups not enough glasses to go round,

All in all we had an enjoyable stay at the Tryp, would we go again "YES" we will.
Special thanks to Andy, Cath, Tina, Tony and last but by no means least MARVIN the best waiter in Cuba he was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to read that you on the overall you enjoyed our service and hotel.
We pay attention to the issues you mention that help us to improve day by day.
We hope to see you back soon in the Tryp Hotel!
Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 week in block 9. Close to the buffet, pools and all daily activities. We were there with a 7 year old ans she had a great time as well.
The staff are friendly and corteous, there is entertainment for kids and adults, during the day and evening as week. Zummba classes, water aerobics, dance classes, Mini Disco for kids and shows each night.
This was our first time in Cuba... Just got home last night and we are planning another trip to the same resourt next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to read that you on the overall you enjoyed our service and hotel.
We hope to see you back soon in the Tryp Hotel!
Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

wot can i say had a great holiday,we went on 24th aug 2012 we arrived on the fri and when we got there it was hot,but later that day rain set in and it rained all day sat and sunday and the wind got up but it was the tail end of hurrican isac then on the monday the wheather picked up and the rest of the 14 days was redhot,they cleaned the beaches up.you need to book your meals if you are eating in other restarents you book them in the room next door to the hairdresses which is next to the shop.we took lots of shampoo and shower gels but they are in your rooms you also get a iron and ironing board,we ate at a lo of the restrants and found the italian and chinise was the best .didnot think much to the grill and bq,and on the wed night before we came home they put a 4 course meal on at the beach restarant for all the english to thank us for flying so far, it was very nice meal,the staff cannot do enough for you and the night show r very good with very good dance,s,the garden staff make carved monkey's out of coconuts and sell them for a very cheap price,there is market stalls around the complex on most days,the food in the main restarnats is ok u can get a nice meal, we all went horse ridding that was very good we did a speed boating trip round the mangroves which is a coach ride away you get to drive the speed boats your self across the mangroves and come to a jetty where they give u snorkle gear and can go snorkling for a while u also see the tree rats and can feed them and with me being aanimal lover i enjoyed that the most lol,we also did the glass bottom boat and was took out to the reef and enjoyed a snorkle yet again fantastic sea lfe,we enjoyed it that much we have just booked to go back this year on 6th sept for my silver wedding anniversay,and are going back with my loving family, sister,brother in law and there family and we met agreat couple their and they have booked the same weeks as us so we can all be together again for another fantastic hoilday.can't wait,so dont think about it book it you will not be disapointed,:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to read that you on the overall you enjoyed our service and hotel.
We pay attention to the issues you mention that help us to improve day by day.
We hope to see you back soon in the Tryp Hotel!
Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in time. Small problem with our room. Staff changed it in a second. The staff here are so friendly from bar staff to the grounds keepers they were all top notch. We have already recommended the Tryp to several friends. We will be back. It was the best beach on the island. Crystal clear water and white sand.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Ricksuerick,

We thank you for your comments. We are glad to now that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that you have already reommended us to yor friends. Hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morinville, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was there January 12-19.

Room: We were in building 8 and the room was clean but dated. We always had hot water and AC worked well. Our mini fridge was restocked every day with water, beer and pop. (superior ocean view package)

Food: A la Carte’s were really good, we ate at the Loma Azul (lobster), BBQ and Grill, Cuban House, Oriental and Italian. Buffet was ok, fresh food stations have good items for breakfast, lunch and supper. La Barcaza (pizza restaurant) was awesome for lunch and La Picua also had some decent lunch food. They also have a grill setup that makes hotdogs and Hamburgers. Thursday was “Cuba Day” where a roasted pig was available for lunch. Service at the buffet was pretty good for getting beverages and clearing tables. We had red wine at 3 of the A la Carte’s and were surprised by how good it was.

Beach: Beach is awesome and water is crystal clear. Never had a problem finding beach chairs

Pool: Pool is nice, harder to find chairs then the beach. Not too loud as activities don’t really take place until around 3PM

Bar: Rum is awesome, most days they use Havana club 3 year. Bar service at all bars was good, never had to wait too long and never felt pressured to tip. During really busy times it could be hard to find a seat in the lobby bar or 24 hour bar.

Resort is big and beautiful, very well kept. Make sure to walk around and see the flamingos and peacocks. All the staff have a very good understanding of English so ordering food or drinks is easy. The entertainment shows at night were very well done and the crowds got bigger every night we were there. Disco is ok depending on how many people are in there. Every night there was Churro stand and cotton candy or popcorn, a delicious treat during the evening show. There was a little market set up some days and also some shops by the gym and tennis court.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at Tryp Cayo Coco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. They are very helpful and we are glad knowing that you had a very good vacation. Hope that you will be back soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Cayo Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.